We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open 24 Hours and Good Food”
Review of 24 Central Cafe - CLOSED

24 Central Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Akron, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Open 24 Hours and Good Food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We arrived at the Trump Plaza Hotel late Friday night without having eaten supper so we hit this restaurant right away. We were pleasantly surprised by the food and the decor was pretty and updated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    19
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
221 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Blah”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had late night dinner here on a Saturday evening. The service was good, but the food truly was average, which was an even greater disappointment after waiting at least 30-40 minutes to receive it and that was after waiting about 40 minutes in line to get seated (this was due to a concert just ending and everyone having the same idea I guess about grabbing a bite to eat close to the venue so I don't blame the restaurant for this). I don't know if they were short-staffed in the kitchen or what to explain the delay in getting the food because the restaurant did have some empty tables by the time we were seated so I don't think they were behind in the kitchen due to having a full house to cook for, but who knows?!

All in my party said the same about their food, average. Between us we had salad, chicken, and burgers and none of the meals were a home run unfortunately. We settled on this place because it was late and the only thing open in the Trump Plaza where you could get a meal so we went for the convenience factor (they were open 24 hours), but given a choice next time I won't return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LYNNIE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“upscale diner”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the food was average a little pricey for the quality of the food. Service was not what I expected. Wouldn't say it was the worst place I ate but it definitely not in my top 10

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SLOW Service, food okay”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Service was crazy slow and food served the purpose given the 4:00am timing...nothing to write home about...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank japii-phl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I received a voucher for $25 to be used in a restaurant within the casino. I thought, how bad could it be. Well the food wasn't bad at all. I had the salmon (it was a good sized piece that I didn't even finish) and my husband had the roast turkey platter (he said it was good)...the rolls that we got beforehand were hot on the outside and cold in the middle...the place is in serious need of a major cleaning. The lights were dusty (I was hoping that the dust wouldn't fall into my food), the carpet dirty, it makes you wonder what the kitchen looks like. Our waiter was very nice, he kept filling our iced tea and soda glasses (which was a good thing, because an iced tea is $3.00 and a soda is $3.50). We won't go back there since there are so many restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livelaughhavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 24 Central Cafe also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing