We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing flavors!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 376 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arkansas & Boardwalk
Description: Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail. Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing flavors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We tend to go in the early afternoon, no reservations needed. The decor is very quiet, the service impeccable. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and answered all questions without hesitation. My husband, who very rarely eats beef, ordered the beef while I ordered chicken and cashew and a side of tempura veg. Everything was excellent and beautifully presented. We have learned to not order a lot of food here since the portions are a good size. The beef was cooked perfectly medium and melted in your mouth. The Chicken was delicious and had plenty of cashews. we also had an Ibchin beer and a glass of wine. to end we had an expresso each which was so smooth we didn't need to add anything to it. our bill was 80.00. Well worth the price for such an intimate early dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keki60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    138
    47
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not as good as it once was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Sadly the glow has fallen off of the glowing review. Atlantic City's Buddakan is not as good as a year ago. The edamame ravioli which was fabulous is now just okay. A little doughy & chewy. The chicken dishes that my wife & children had were pretty good. I had the kung pao monkfish entree. I thought it would be sauted & sauced. I never expected it to come out deep fried. I tasted it but could not eat it. I don't generally eat fried food & would never eat an entire fried entree. The menu should mention that but it doesn't. You would think the server would ask why you didn't eat your entire entree. Sadly though it appears that the goal is just to turn the tables as quickly as possible. It is very pricey for barely average food & service. This was my wife's birthday dinner. She wants a do over somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Came here with a friend, waited in the very small bar area until our table was ready. Didn't get drinks, but they did sound good, not outrageously priced for AC ($12.5 for a cocktail). Nice ambiance, server was friendly but SO S L O W. Ordered 2 apps (chick and ginger dumplings- very delicious, and kobe beef satay- SO disappointing for $18), which took about 10 mins to come out. The kobe beef was chewy, small and the sauce was COLD, not even room temp. Our 1 entree took at least another half hour to come out, while we waited the entire time with empty water glasses. When it finally arrived he refilled our water, the entree was tasty, nothing to write home about. We asked for the check, waited another 10 mins.... then he finally comes back to tell us he'll "get our check soon". While we waited, other tables ate and went... don't think he was busy as we counted he only had 4 other tables... not too much to handle for someone that most likely has a good deal of experience to work at a nice restaurant. Nice to say I tried it, but will definitely NOT be back. $69 for 2 people

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went there for lunch one day and we were so pleasantly surprised at how delicious everything was. A must for lunch or dinner! We had the lunch special - a 3 piece tray which included a salad, dumplings and chicken stir fry. We also tried their pad thai which was delightful! We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonsy_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Phenomenal happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a great deal! A selection of Buddakan's quality appetizers and cocktails for five dollars each! The bar was small, but service was great and we felt very welcome. The dining room is beautiful. This was the "find" of our recent trip to AC.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing