We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed ourselves” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin

Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin
Attraction details
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We enjoyed ourselves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We only ended up going to the aquarium because we accidentally missed out on a dolphin-watching cruise. We were actually happy we stopped by. I had read reviews indicating it may be a waste of time, but our eleven and sixteen-year-olds had fun, as did the two adults. They had some different fish, such as lionfish, that we'd never seen before, and three areas with touch tanks where you could touch baby sharks (they don't have teeth), as well as some other cool things. This was the first time I'd ever seen starfish with red spots on them. We had a great time for an hour or two here. We used AAA to get a discount, so it only cost I believe $26 or $28.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cgbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    116
    115
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Simple and small, but just right for our family...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We read mixed reviews about the Atlantic City Aquarium but decided to give it a try with our extended family of three generations, including three girls, ages 5, 2, and 1. And for our family, this place was just right. Our kids don't have the endurance for an all-day excursion, so we didn't need it to be any bigger. It was two floors of exhibits, consisting of some regional aquatic life here in the Mid-Atlantic, some tropical aquatic life from other parts of the world, and a few random non-aquatic animals (some snakes, a chinchilla, a tarantula, some birds).

A highlight for our family was the main fish tank, which included a number of large fish, a few small sharks, and some huge sting-rays. A diver went into that tank for a feeding, with accompanying verbal explanation, but that was too tedious for our girls. The girls also enjoyed a few tanks where they could reach in and touch the fish and sting-rays. There was a station upstairs to do crayon rubbings, which the oldest girl really enjoyed and resulted in some free mementos to take with her. There were some gigantic eels that the adults especially enjoyed. And they even had $1 bags of freshly popped popcorn.

We spent about ninety minutes at the AC Aquarium, and I'm confident that we saw everything there was to see. Parking was free, and including a few bags of popcorn, the entire experience cost us less than $50 for six adults and three children. I'd say it was a very worthwhile experience, and we may come back if we're down here in Atlantic City again. If you've been to larger aquariums in Baltimore or Camden, this one is certainly much smaller and less fancy. But especially with young children, I think it offers plenty of excitement, for much less cost than those more established options. I'm glad we went!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank clo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Aquarium! Very Hands On!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Atlantic City aquarium is a really nice small aquarium. Lots of hands on touching of the sea creatures and close up viewing. We spent a lovely rainy afternoon there and we had a blast! We loved the touch tanks and getting up close and touching the sea creatures. The folks there were so helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this aquarium.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ily911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small Aquarium, but fun for an hour or two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were staying nearby on the Jersey shore and needed an activity with the kids (age 13, 12, and 10) out of the sun for a few hours. We found the Aquarium, which is located in an area with a few shops and restaurants. The Aquarium is small, but cute. Overall, after using a discount coupon, it was $27 for the 5 of us to enter. The touch tank had some species we've never seen in it before. There were some other nice displays as well. The stingray tank was fun, though they were all sleeping on the bottom when we were there. If you're looking for the big Aquarium experience like the one in our hometown of Boston, you'll be disappointed. But if you're looking for a low-key, air-conditioned, fairly inexpensive way to spend an hour or two, this is your place.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hopkinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and Fun!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Atlantic city for a mini vacation, and we did not want to gamble all our money away so we visit the Aquarium, which was like ten minutes away. We had so much fun at the aquarium. They have three levels and a touch tank where you can actually touch the fish. The price is reasonable and the kids would have a blast. Do not forget your camera cause you will have so much fun taking pictures. The staff was friendly and very helpful. You can go online to the atlantic city aquarium and print out the coupon. I highly recommend this place to visit while visiting AC.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelli40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing