We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunset Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Bay Ale House

Back Bay Ale House
800 N New Hampshire Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
+1 609-449-0006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Back Bay has been open in AC since 2003. We pride ourselves on great service, delicious food and fantastic atmosphere and views. In the warmer months we feature outside dining and bar. We are the home of the Basin Mason, a 32oz mason jar beverage. We have a large variety of craft beers. Nightly on our upstairs deck we do a sunset toast to say goodbye to the daylight :)
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Reasonably priced fresh seafood sandwiches and nice sized salads! We enjoyed the Cajun Mahi Mahi sandwich and the Seafood Cobb Salad. Top deck provides the best views of the AC marina and its hotel casinos, especially at sunset. Good selection of draft beers and drinks! The service was excellent for a busy Saturday night crowd, and it was great not be rushed even though there was a wait for tables. Another plus is the free parking

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank superjfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Casual dining on the water. Standard pub fare -- nice variety of salads, baskets with fries, and sandwiches. Friendly staff. Cold beer and 32 oz mixed drinks served in mason jars. Try to sit upstairs for the best views.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great little place in the Basin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We ate here while awaiting for our trip out on the Highroller Fishing boat. Our party of 5 enjoyed the food, which was a bit slowing coming out considering we were about the only ones there that weekday. The fish and chips were not greasy and I really enjoyed the crab cake sandwich. Pricing was really reasonable and the waitress was nice. We will be sure to come back the next fishing trip out on the back bay. Location is perfect for those visiting the aquarium or doing a fishing charter. Parking is plentiful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spotted this gem by accident trying to find our way out of Atlantic City. It was mid-afternoon and we were a bit hungry and thirsty. We decided to take a seat at the bar and were greeted by a bartender that could actually mix a good drink and carry on a conversation. The food arrived and we were both very satisfied with our meals. Don't miss this place if you are in Atlantic City. It has that great Key West feel with a very competent staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Key West Northern Branch Office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great food and drink nestled in a two-story house in Gardeners Basin. The food and atmosphere make me feel as though a piece of Key West was cut away and brought to Atlantic City. We will be back before this trip is over.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Bay Ale House also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Back Bay Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing