We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good pub fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Bay Ale House

Back Bay Ale House
Ranked #52 of 386 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Back Bay has been open in AC since 2003. We pride ourselves on great service, delicious food and fantastic atmosphere and views. In the warmer months we feature outside dining and bar. We are the home of the Basin Mason, a 32oz mason jar beverage. We have a large variety of craft beers. Nightly on our upstairs deck we do a sunset toast to say goodbye to the daylight :)
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Casual dining on the water. Standard pub fare -- nice variety of salads, baskets with fries, and sandwiches. Friendly staff. Cold beer and 32 oz mixed drinks served in mason jars. Try to sit upstairs for the best views.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    89
    24
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great little place in the Basin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We ate here while awaiting for our trip out on the Highroller Fishing boat. Our party of 5 enjoyed the food, which was a bit slowing coming out considering we were about the only ones there that weekday. The fish and chips were not greasy and I really enjoyed the crab cake sandwich. Pricing was really reasonable and the waitress was nice. We will be sure to come back the next fishing trip out on the back bay. Location is perfect for those visiting the aquarium or doing a fishing charter. Parking is plentiful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spotted this gem by accident trying to find our way out of Atlantic City. It was mid-afternoon and we were a bit hungry and thirsty. We decided to take a seat at the bar and were greeted by a bartender that could actually mix a good drink and carry on a conversation. The food arrived and we were both very satisfied with our meals. Don't miss this place if you are in Atlantic City. It has that great Key West feel with a very competent staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Key West Northern Branch Office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great food and drink nestled in a two-story house in Gardeners Basin. The food and atmosphere make me feel as though a piece of Key West was cut away and brought to Atlantic City. We will be back before this trip is over.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We decided to go to this restaurant to get away from typical boardwalk food. Several items on the menu which we reviewed on their website interested us. The restaurant is located in Gardiner's Basin, near the aquarium. If you have been to Atlantic City recently, you know that the area has not been well maintained. At this time of the year, it looks even more dreary, but we gave it a try and I am so glad we did. The restaurant is a converted house and not very large. The ground floor is a small bar area. The dining area is upstairs, so if you can not walk up and down stairs, this is not the place for you. The dining area is small, but there is a larger area that overlooks the water that opens in the summer.
We ordered "The Carmine" as an appetizer. Shrimp and lump crab sauteed in butter, garlic and other seasonings, served with garlic bread for dipping. Yes it was as good as it sounds, and we had to get more bread for additional dipping. I had the house specialty cream of crab soup. It may be the best soup I have ever had. It had plenty of real crab in it. I had to fight my son, who would have finished it himself. The rest of the menu is a combination of sandwiches, burgers and main courses. Among us, we ordered mini crab cakes (excellent as long as you like your crab cakes fried instead of baked), a ribeye steak (fabulous and reasonably priced) and Chicken Maryland (grilled chicken breast topped with lump crab and the most delicious creamy butter sauce). The portions were plent large, the prices were good and the food was outstanding. The service was also great, expecially considering the waitress had to keep running up and down the stairs.
This place is not at all fancy. Soft drinks are served in plastic cups, so if that will bother you, stay away. But frankly, the food is so good you won't even notice the plastic cup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Bay Ale House also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Back Bay Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing