We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EVER!!”
Review of Martinique Motel

Martinique Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martinique Motel
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed July 23, 2012

There was dead ants on the wall in the bathroom! The medicine cabinet did not shut making it very difficult for a woman to apply make up or do her hair since it had the mirror on it. The bedspreads looked like curtains from the 60's and where very very thin. Wi-fi did not work. The fridge in the room was broke, our soda froze! Bed was very uncomfortable. The couple above us asked if we had any xanax?????

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank martina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Martinique Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

We drove down with no reservation on sat. Dec. 31st to bring in the new year. It's located within eye sight of tropicana and was the cheapest out of all in the area. The staff showed me the room before I rented it and had a safe location to park my car. It was great we had the deck above facing pacific all to ourselves and people watched for a good portion of our trip. The bed was not the best but ok, the bathroom was small but suffitiont, and had a fridge, microwave, TV. If your going down and looking to save $ on hotel costs but still want to be near the night life of the casinos, stop by here and see if you like it. We did and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 200 gives you the upper deck facing Pacific Ave. It's huge.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vaughn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Me and my partner stayed overnight at Martinique Motel. We found it up to the mark, we needed just an accommodation that offered a good night sleep. We had leave the day in the morning only. So without wandering to and fro we selected Martinique. Our stay was comfortable. The bed was comfy and room too spacious. The location of the motel is very nice but unfortunately we did not have much time to explore it. The beach is very close to this motel that certainly becomes a plus point if you are planning to stay here for more than a day. We didn’t find any problem in staying here and would like choose it again. A nice and affordable motel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The man at the desk spoke a very bad english but it was okay.

The advantage of this hotel is that it is very close to the broadwalk and the casinos (a 3 min walk) for half or a third of the price you would pay inside the casinos.

The room was a bit dirty but it is ok if you do not have high expectations... TV was working, AC too, the room was big enough for two friends. Do not go as a couple if you want romance. The prostitutes right in front of the door might break the moment.

Not the safest neiborhood. I am used of living in the poor sides of every city I go too, but whilst I never was scared in Harlem or Bennings Washington, that place is really creepy by night. Do not go if you cannot handle that kind of place.

Also, you might get unlucky and have no parking slot. Nothing you can do about that, but prey.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baboon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
117
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Listen to this story:

On a summer, Friday night in the heart of Atlantic City, the nice normal hotels are close to $200 - way too much! But my husband and I found this little motel (Motel Martinique) that's actually right off the boardwalk & beach and right next to the nice hotels and Tropicana casino and unbelievably it's only $100 (plus tax) for the night. We go to our little room with 2 double beds and at first glance it looked nice. But then we started looking around the room and found a hole in the top of TV (covered by duct tape), small amount of graffitti on 1 of the walls, chipped/old furniture, missing TV remote control, etc. So we're thinking the place is kind of sleazy, but for $100 it'll be ok. THEN I find, right by the nightstand, a used condom laying on the carpet. DISGUSTING.

I was ready to call the motel a loss and go stay in another nicer place, but somehow or other we ended up staying there. We had a blanket from the car and we laid it down over the bed and slept on that. We used our duffle bags for pillows and my beach towel was my blanket. We were too disgusted to get into their beds. We refused to use their showers and when I had to go to the bathroom I laid toilet paper down over the seat. There was nothing inherently wrong with the bathroom other than being old, but after seeing the condom, I didn't feel like getting too close to anything.

To add to the atmosphere, the person at the front desk spoke little English, there were prostitutes outside the motel on the street, and you were given an actual key (not a card) to get into the room.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne choisir aucune chambre
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Antoine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_L972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
#26 of 49 in Atlantic City
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
1.2 mi away
Best Western Envoy Inn
Best Western Envoy Inn
#12 of 49 in Atlantic City
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#14 of 49 in Atlantic City
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.8 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#7 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique Motel

Address: 3029 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6207
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing