We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wheelchair accessibility at the AC Wyndham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Skyline Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Skyline Tower
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wheelchair accessibility at the AC Wyndham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Traveled to AC over Labor Day weekend with my boyfriend who's a quadriplegic. We stayed at the Wyndham Skyline Tower. Location is few blocks from the boardwalk. There are few places to eat near by. Pathmark, Target and Walmart is about 15 - 25 minutes away by car. Elevators weren't too bad except for the 10 minute wait the morning of our check out. Parking is right next to the hotel entrance and it's valet. We asked about accessible parking area since we had a ramp in our car. We were told that they were all taken at that time but that we can use two spaces to park. We were able to park it ourselves when we explained that we felt more comfortable since there were hand controls.

Our accessible room was on the 12th floor with a balcony. I've posted pictures for more details. Fully equipped kitchen, coffee maker, microwave, toaster, dishwasher.. there's even a blender! Dish washing detergents, garbage bags, dish washing soaps, scrub all provided in the cabinets. As for drinking cups, there are 4 sets of coffee mugs with a handle, rest are just glasses and tumblers. According to one of the pamphlet provided in the room, you have to call for garbage removal and/or cleaning services. We didn't use any of these services so can't really comment on that.

Kitchen sink and one of the bathroom sink has a slanted board underneath so wheelchair can't go all the way in. The balcony entrance has a step which is about 4" from the floor, and 7" wide.
The balcony door pushes out, has a handle. The lock is a small knob that you have to grab and twist.

Here are some additional measurements in the room for reference.
1.Bed height from floor to top of bed : 22"
Boyfriend uses a compact wheelchair. The height of the bed very close to the level of his chair cushion.
2.Roll in shower was small! : 34" in depth, 36 1/2" in width
We brought his shower chair so didn't ask if they had commodes that they can provide.
3.Kitchen sink floor to top : 27" in height, 33" wide on the bottom
4.Sliding doors for all room entrances : 32 1/2" wide
5.Kitchen phone from floor to bottom of phone : 41 1/2"

Overall we had a very nice time. Room was really clean, temperature was easy to control. And yes, they told us about the time share the first evening right after we checked in. You have to pass their area to get to the elevators. But after that first evening and one call in the morning, they were good about letting us be.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank thatsnufpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    259
    95
    42
    25
See reviews for
218
210
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This time share location is good, 1 1/2 blocks from the Boardwalk behind the Resorts Casino and Resort, and not far from Trump Taj. The two bedroom unit is spacious and clean, with a large balcony that faces either the city or the inlet. The kitchen has a full refrigerator, oven with cooktop, microwave and dishwasher, with full kitchen utensils, bowls, pots and pans. The coffee maker comes with coffee for a couple of pots (Cuisinart) with cone filters. The individual units have their own hot water heaters, and room air-conditioning units. The bathrooms are small yet adequate. If you are short, the shower level is perfect. There is virtually no counter space in either bathroom. The jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom is a waste of space unless you love taking a jacuzzi bath. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel, but Constantinos is a great breakfast place one block away on Pacific towards the Taj. There are two 24 hour mini market type places also on Pacific towards the Taj.

The staff at this resort is very nice. The valet parking is your only option (no self park) and is 10.00 per day per car. Very friendly. Don't expect to check in before 4pm unless you are a Wyndham owner in which case you are a VIP and get 2pm check in. There is a pool on the 6th floor which is adequate. The workout room on the first floor is tiny.

The real issue, and it is a HUGE problem as has been previously noted by other reviewers are the elevators. There are simply insufficient elevators for the size of the building and use. I am confident that there are sufficient elevators to comply with any code of Atlantic City. The building, however, chose to add more units rather than have sufficient elevators to accommodate the staff and guests The wait was often more than ten minutes, and most times you had to take the elevators up to go down. There is nothing management can say to make this situation right. In all candor, because of this issue, we will NOT come back to this hotel. Actually, it is NOT A HOTEL but a timeshare, and the staff will be quick to advise you of this difference.

You are required to wear a blue wristband for security purposes, which is just fine. The security presence is a good thing considering AC is kind of a dumpy/seedy destination.

If you are traveling off season where the Wyndham is half full I guess it would be an excellent place to stay. During high season, be prepared to wait and be frustrated as elevator after elevator opens on your floor crammed filled with both guests and staff fighting for space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdbgoldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was my first time on the east coast and we loved this place! We had a two bedroom that was very clean, spacious, and had a great view from the balcony. The jetted tub in our room was very nice after a long day of flying. It was close to the boardwalk (not even a 5 minute walk) and we took some day trips to New York and Philadelphia.

One good thing about Atlantic City is there are always places to eat almost 24/7 and with two teenage boys it was very convenient, especially since our flight came in at 9 pm and we checked in close to 10.

Some of the cons were the elevators are a little slow. They weren't too bad when we were there but I can't imagine what it be like during a busy week. The pool was a little small, but the sun deck was pretty awesome. They also claim to have a cafe but we didn't see one anywhere. The last thing is the sales pitch. My husband and I are already owners so I didn't see why they needed to harass us with a presentation. We politely said no but they constantly called us throughout our 5 day stay, we never did give in to it but they just weren't getting that no means no.

Overall it was a very nice vacation and we will definitely be back in a few years.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlslovesportstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked at the Wyndham in Atlantic City, thinking it was a hotel. When we arrived we were happy with the size of the room and the friendliness of the people. At no time were we told that this was not a hotel. That night, we asked the hotel to make the sofa bed for our children. They told us that no one was around to do so. The following day, we were surprised there was no cleaning. When I asked about it, I was told that there is no cleaning as it is a time share and not a hotel. This was news to us! It was neither in our booking or told to us at any point when we arrived. Also, we were told that if we wanted cleaning we would have to pay for it. I asked that our towels be changed and the old ones taken away. A bag of towels was dropped in my room but the old ones were left there.
The elevators are very slow and not sufficient for a hotel of this size. There is also no cafe or restaurant on site.
Then we were heavily pitched a time share presentation. We attended after being offered a $100 prepaid credit card, but were left with a gross feeling.
We will not be staying here ever again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RachNer i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family (3 adults) and I stayed in a 2 BR deluxe this past weekend and were very pleased with our stay here.
PROS
SIZE- it was wonderful to have more than just a hotel room to stay in. 2 BR/2 BA, wiith living room, kitchen and balcony. We stopped at the WalMart in Mays Landing prior to getting into AC and picked up some essentials (i.e. coffee, bagels, sandwich fixings) so we could relax a little in the AM and not eat out constantly. FYI- Regular coffee pot, no Keurig :).
LOCATION- 5 min (if that) walk to Boardwalk next to Resorts. Once on the Boardwalk, close to the amusement pier and 10 min walk to Revel. Opposite direction: Ballys, Bills (gyros), Irish Pub, Dunkin Donuts-all an easy walk. Rolling chairs always an option too. Non-Boardwalk: we kept to Pacific Ave, and primarily in the day. We did walk to the Outlets from here, though that may be a little far for some (15 mins?). There is a CVS close by for necessities. Used jitney (stop is outside front door) as well- $2.25 pp each way- to the Trop and walked the Boardwalk back. I had read that senior citizens tickets were available ahead of time for .75, however we were told they weren't available as they weren't printed (?). It was also a nice change of pace to remove ourselves from the casino atmosphere after making our daily donations to the slots!
CLEANLINESS- room was very clean upon our arrival. No housekeeping since this is primarily a timeshare, however if items are needed they will bring them.
COST- we booked through the Wyndham website (pro & con) and paid approx half of what 2 hotel rooms would have cost (for 4 adults). Never felt cramped, and everyone had their space.

Cons:
RESERVATION SYSTEM- we booked via the website far, far in advance and requested a higher floor. We were given the 8th floor, directly over the LOUD air conditioner compresor thing. Upon checkin, I was told that my request went unnoticed because I booked though the actual website (?), and next time to call a week in advance directly to the hotel and put in the special request. Ok, that didnt help me now... but, all in all it worked out; being on the lower floor proved helpful in taking the stairs when need be due to the....
ELEVATORS- OK... they were NOT as bad as I had imagined based on all of the reviews and we were there during the Air Show (VERY BUSY). I guess its all relative- if you want the perk of being on the top floors, you must have patience. If you dont mind being on the lower floors, stairs are an excellent option.

In summary- VERY pleased overall- excellent value for AC , especially during a summer (Air Show) weekend. We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed last weekend at the Skyline Tower and we will definetly be staying there again next time we are in AC. The staff was extremely helpful (both valet and in-house staff) and we found the wait for the elevators to not be that bad(4 min max). We stayed from Saturday to a Monday and had a great time at this location. We were given a choice of floors, and hearing about the elevators in advance, I was hesitant to pick a high floor. The staff advised me that there probably wouldn't be as good a view on the lower floors, and since we were only there for a couple days, I decided to pick the high floor(24th floor). It was the best choice I could have made. The view we had was of the inlet to the beach and it was spectacular. We woke up every morning to that view and enjoyed breakfast on the balcony everyday. We checked the room for bedbugs (we check no matter where we stay) and found it to be in immaculate shape. Everything was top of the line and we really enjoyed the Single bedroom Delux suite we had. The delux comes with a kitchen, so it was easy to make scramble eggs and bacon and then enjoy it outside. If we stayed for more than 3 days, I know that we would have used the kitchen much more.

In regards to service, we didn't have a hairdryer in the unit, and called up guest services and had one brought to us in a couple min. We also found the tub drain to be clogged, and we again called guest services and had a maintanence man in our room within five minutes. He unclogged the drain and was on his way. The service here was impecable. Also, water pressure was awesome in the shower.

The walk to the beach and boardwalk took about 5 minutes and was easily accessible. The only downside was that yes, this place doesn't have room service, but we were there for only 3 days and we didn't need it, and the pool is a little small. There is an outside hottub though.

In total, next time we are in AC, we will be making a reservation here at the skyline tower. It was an incredible experience and we loved every thing about the tower.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 24, AWAY FROM THE ELEVATORS, and enjoyed it very much. The view from the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EastcoastBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was a bit disappointed with this resort. The elevators were terrible and the gym was pathetic. We are a family of 5 and we do not travel light to the beach. One day we waited for over 15 minutes for an elevator with our beach gear in tow. By the time one came, we had to squish...it was annoying. We had to ride the elevator up just to get on one. I don't think they should call the gym a "gym." Three machines and some free weights doesn't not make it a gym. It definitely needs a upgrade! Finally, there is no restaurant or bar in this hotel. We have a teenager and I would have been fabulous to go downstairs (if we could get down) for a drink after the kids went to bed. I gave this resort 3 stars because the room was decent and having a kitchen is fabulous with kids. I almost forgot about the water pressure in the shower. It was the worst! The water dripped out...getting the sand off was quite difficult. If we venture to Atlantic City again, we will not be staying at the Wyndham. One more thing-if you aren't a time share owner there is no housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3128Valerie951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#8 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Skyline Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Skyline Tower

Property: Wyndham Skyline Tower
Address: 100 S North Carolina Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Skyline Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Skyline Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Skyline Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Wyndham Skyline Hotel
Wyndham Atlantic City
Atlantic City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing