We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meal”

Dock's Oyster House
Ranked #4 of 327 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Georgia Avenue
Description: Owned and operated by the Dougherty family since 1897, Dock's Oyster House is an Atlantic City institution. Offering a full raw bar with as many as 10 different oysters per night along with clams, mussels, shrimp, crabmeat, chilled lobster, tuna sashimi and ceviche, Dock's is renowned for the freshest seafood in town along with great steaks and an award-winning wine list. Dock's is currently open daily for takeout and for outdoor dining!
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Went early for dinner during the week. Seated promptly. Had Dan as a server- he was excellent- very attentive and knowledgeable about the dishes. We had potato encrusted flounder (2), flounder francaise (special) and halibut as our entrees. Also had some appetizers (oysters, soup). Everything was delicious though it's not cheap. The banana creme pie was awesome. No complaints. Complimentary valet parking is a plus. Returning soon with friends.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aktlwer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 499 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2016

This place was a great find. The conceirge at Harrahs let us in on this gem. Locally owned. Seafood was fantastic. Service was spot on

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenniferv216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I had been to Dock's before and liked the food, but I found the dining room loud and too crowded. I just went to the new remodeled Dock's and was pleasantly surprised. There's room around the tables, the noise level is lower and overall it does not seem to be as crowded although it's still insanely popular. We had a wonderful dinner. It's a pretty relaxed place, but I truly think they have done a great job of remodeling the restaurant. It looks and feels so much better. The food was delicious, as always, and the service was very good. I never wanted to go back to Dock's because the old room was so crowded and loud. I find the new one a great improvement.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank corsicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016

The 2 specials of the evening were superb!!! The salad was a Romaine lettuce with apples, caramelized onions, feta cheese, cranberries (whole not dried), cucumbers and nuts... Best salad I have had.. The entrée was a scallop plate with risotto, spinach in a light tomato sauce. YUMMY.. The atmosphere was very cozy and the wait staff was very attentive.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 743gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Now I know why Atlantic City is dying. Dock's may have been great once, but the newly enlarged version has spent the money on hospitality they've apparently shorted in the kitchen. I can't fault the oysters, but all you need do is open them, like a can. The Maine chowder was kind of bland, the salmon special looked like and old shoe sole stepping on a pile of rice,and so it went through several other dishes. Nice room if you like the incessant piano music from the bar. We parked our car on the empty street out front. It was a rainy Thursday night in October at 9:30. When we returned there was a ticket on the window for $51. That is more than the beach casinos were charging for a room that night. No wonder this city is withering away.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobertitoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock's Oyster House also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Dock's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.