We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely done.”

Dock's Oyster House
Ranked #4 of 327 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Georgia Avenue
Description: Owned and operated by the Dougherty family since 1897, Dock's Oyster House is an Atlantic City institution. Offering a full raw bar with as many as 10 different oysters per night along with clams, mussels, shrimp, crabmeat, chilled lobster, tuna sashimi and ceviche, Dock's is renowned for the freshest seafood in town along with great steaks and an award-winning wine list. Dock's is currently open daily for takeout and for outdoor dining!
Reviewed October 1, 2016

I went here with my wife for our 28th Anniversary dinner. We had come here last year for the same occasion and found it so nice we thought we would try Docks again. I’m very happen we did. The restaurant has had a complete renovation since we were last there. The rooms if spacious and not crowed at all. Love the new place! The food was excellent as always and our Waitress Joanne was charming. Can’t say enough nice things about her. We both had the flounder franchaise toped with lump crab meat and It was prepared to perfection. Not swimming in butter. The Seasonal salad was delicious and the oysters the best we’ve ever had! You can’t go wrong at this restaurant. We’ll be back next time in Atlantic City. Thank you for a memorable anniversary dining experience

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobCMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 509 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2016

Came a little early for a six o'clock reservation, sat at the bar and ordered a beer and the bar special of lobster mac and cheese in a half of lobster(nice touch) and crab cakes for 7 dollars each. After the bar drink sat down to an excellent dinner of red snapper, the wife had scallops, both dishes were well cooked and presented. It's no wonder this place is still in business all these years, the food and service is great. Order the cheese pie for desert, it has a unique taste, lighter than cheese cake and does not disappoint. The whole bill was only $85.00 without alcohol. Would definitely go again, enjoyed.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wokeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

We had reservations for dinner at Dock's on a Wednesday evening. There were 4 of us. We were celebrating a Birthday. The bar area was spacious and there was a lovely lady playing the piano. The dining room was elegant and well lit but a bit noisy. It is also much larger after the renovations and the tables were nicely spaced. There was quite a crowd for a rainy weekday night. We were happy their parking lot was next to the restaurant. The food was excellent. We ordered raw oysters, a delicious oyster medley, fried oysters, seafood platter, crab cakes, flounder with crabmeat. Everything was hot and delicious. Our birthday celebrant ordered a Bailey's Chocolate Mousse for dessert. Our gracious waiter, Abraham, acknowledged her birthday with lit candles. It is an expensive restaurant but worth the price. We did discover that the oysters were less than half price - only a dollar at Happy Hour. Next time we will come between 4:00 and 6:00 and have our drinks and oysters at the bar.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QueeniebytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

visited this place for a business dinner. Hands down the best seafood I have eaten! The appetizer tower of lobster, crab, shrimp, oyster, clam.... mouth is watering again just thinking of it. just to start! clam chowder, salmon, drinks. dessert. all top notch. Staff was super nice and attentive. I hope to return in the future

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We had made reservations but decided to sit at the bar and enjoy happy hour instead. We started with a dozen oysters of which we got a selection of 3 types, 4 of each. and they were excellent. crab meat with a mustard mayo was superb and then clams casino to finish it off. And of course a nice white wine to wash it all down.
The bartenders and food prep guys were fantastic.
And we had great conversation with other people at the bar.
Maybe next time we will try the dining room.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveU240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock's Oyster House also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Dock's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.