We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster !”

Dock's Oyster House
Reserve with OpenTable
Dock's Oyster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 406 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Georgia Avenue
Milford Square
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Lobster !”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My first time to this Atlantic City landmark, and they lived up to their reputation as one of the best places for Lobster. I had a 4 pounder that was wonderful. My companion had the Lamb, which was well prepared and tasty. Double thumbs up for the Dock.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinchen-Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    219
    58
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious as always!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We always make it a point to come here when in ac. Their calamari is fabulous and as always their crab meat au gratin is to DIE for!! Creamy cheeses and huge chunks of crab mmmmmmm love it! Little disappointed that crab corn chowder isn't on the menu anymore!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trayceebeth17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible way to start a good night!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Go Here - If you like to wait, and feel like a restaurant could CARE LESS about your business! After arriving at the restaurant at our designated reservation time, we were told to have a seat and wait, that they would have a table for us shortly. No problem even though the ten or so seats at the bar were taken, so we had to stand next to the door/entranceway. Every 10-15 minutes we were told it should only be another few minutes. Several parties of four had arrived well after us and were seated, making me think that they wanted to wait for a table which seated 2, for us. After more then 45 minutes had passed, they walked us to an area close to a table for 4, and pointed to the table for us to go to. Since it was in an inaccessible area unless you asked other patrons to get up from their table so you could get by, we said that was unacceptable and we pointed to another table for 4 which was available for seating, which we would be fine with, since we could get to it. We were told that it was being held for another party. We left without ever being seated or being offered another table. We stayed at the Borgata for the weekend and wanted to do something new and special for our Anniversary Dinner. I have found Trip Advisor reviews fairly accurate, and since Dock’s is rated number 1 of the restaurants list in Atlantic City, we booked our reservation over a week in advance. It makes me think that since this is a family owned restaurant, that maybe many of the reviews are inserted by the owners, and family members of the owners, to keep it high on the list (Especially since it has almost three times the reviews of the #2, #3, and 4th highest ranked restaurants listed COMBINED). Plus it makes me question weather we were treated so poorly compared to other patrons, and asked to wait longer then anyone else, so they could discourage us and maintain an all White clientele that evening?? PS: We went to Vic and Anthony’s Steak House at the Golden Nugget which turned out to be one of the best restaurant experiences we ever had (if not the best). And although its menu prices were a little more expensive, it was easily worth every dollar for the much more lavish atmosphere and first rate service. Since we went from feeling that our special night was starting off ruined, to probably the best restaurant experience we had ever had, we left the staff at Vic & Anthony’s an 80% tip on the bill, especially since they even did something extra for us once finding out it was our anniversary. Turns out the lousy service at Dock’s made way for one of our most enjoyable experiences. Guess I should thank them for that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The restaurant is very nice. The food is ok, but not really what you would want at the proces they charge.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrvW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real Seafood, Great Service”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything we ate, we loved. Appetizer Medley, Crab Augratin and Crab Meat Saute. Drinks were good. Great selection of seafood, great service, and nice atmosphere. My son is a picky eater, so one thing to note is they do not have a kids menu, with upscale dining, it's common, but they are very accommodating to kids. We made reservations through OpenTable, which is a must, and were seated as we came in the door. Again, the staff was very friendly and we will definitely be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank christi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock's Oyster House also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Dock's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing