We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chef Vola's

Chef Vola's
Ranked #2 of 395 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Service was excellent, food was better. It's certainly different. We will be back. Crab cakes were huge and really good, Veal Parm was outrageously good. BYOB.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    87
    47
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
367 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Plenty of hype but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I'll skip the usual make a reservation far in advance, BYOB, best place in AC etc. Let's get real here. Chef Vola is wearing the emperor's clothes. The wait staff is wonderful, quick, knowledgeable and courteous. You'll probably meet half the staff during your dinner. It's eating not dining that you experience here. You can skip the menu if you wish and ask them to make anything you wish. The portions are large and the food average to good. I come from north Jersey and there are at least 10 Italian joints within 10 miles that serve better food in less cramped quarters. Great Italian begins with great bread. Look for another baker. It is an experience and you'll always have the story of when you ate in someone's basement in AC. Do it once. Definitely try any of their dessert pies. Someone explain to me why the bathroom is in the kitchen, Sonno pazzi?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Once again..... Chef Volas exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have been going to Chef Vola's in Atlantic City for almost 20 years. The food & service has never waivered from perfection. This visit, I once again had the Flounder Francaise. You can't go wrong with this dish. I have included a picture of my dinner. My girlfriend had the Veil medallions topped with Mushrooms & Demi Glaze. It was amazing! Desert, must have the Banana Cream Pie & Ricotta Cheese Pie ! Almost forgot, Appetizer was the Seafood Salad for 2 and Angel Air with Bolagnese. Really good! Total bill with tip $120. Bring your own Wine and cash only! You must try it! Email me for the Phone Number.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2EatGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best kept secret in New Jersey!! Also one of the hardest restaurants to get into!!!
First this is a BYOB!! And I love it!! I can bring some outstanding wines and not feel guilty...
Second if you get in you must try their butterflied Veal Cop pounded then breaded and sautéed then covered is a red sauce with parmesan cheese!! There are almost as many daily specials as there are items on the menu. Portions are on the large side and most people bring home leftovers. So do not be shy. We have eaten in the main downstairs dinning room but in the summer we love the porch. (Not a nosey as downstairs... Service is outstanding! Michael keeps thing moving. NOW even if you cannot eat another thing you must take home some dessert!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gwedwards111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A C BEST RESTAURANT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great Great Food!!!!! Best Veal Parm on The bone Ever!!!! Great Pasta Great Steaks Great seafood Great Shrimp Francaise Great Home made Dess

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Vola's also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Chef Vola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing