We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't fix what isn't broken!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tony's Baltimore Grill

Tony's Baltimore Grill
Ranked #89 of 391 Restaurants in Atlantic City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't fix what isn't broken!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My first visit to Tony's Baltimore Grill was in 1976 when I started working in Atlantic City pre-casino days!! Tony's décor has not been changed in the 38 years since my first visit. Also, even though the same waitresses are not there, the waitresses are still as "colorful!" Most importantly, and thankfully, their pizza is the same with a delicious thin crispy crust. By far THE best pizza I have ever had. The only difference I see: the line of people waiting to get in has disappeared. The line of "shoobies" would be half way around the block waiting in the summer heat. Although, locals knew the best times to enjoy Tony's without the lines...after all the bars in Margate and Somers Point closed, Tony's pizza was the perfect ending to a great night.
Perhaps new customers are turned off by the staid appearance of Tony's. However, there are those of us who can still appreciate the nostalgia. While I appreciate the ambiance of an upscale restaurant, I have yet to find a place that makes better pizza than Tony's!
If you are expecting fine dinning at Tony's, don't. Tony's should be accepted "as is" and enjoyed for staying the course.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DorothyCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    73
    26
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will always be a Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to duck in, grab a beer and pizza. The crowd at the bar whether Saturday afternoon, or the early morning Sunday hours never disappoints. You see them all at Baltimore Grill. They don't pretend to be more than they are, and that's what I like about this place. Chris and Nino always have a story and a ready beer. Meatballs, pasta dishes, onion pie, always delivers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mhargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Atlantic City don't miss place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Eating here is like going back in AC history. The place never changes (not always the best thing. A little housecleaning and freshening would do wonders) the food is consistently good and very reasonable. In the day everyone ate here. It serves late and the food is very good. Only complaint they are famous for their Atlantic City Italian bread. We received a stale loaf. It was hard to find the server to tell her. By the time she came back our meals were there so we missed out. It is a don't miss. In spite of a few misses on my next time I come to AC I will be back. Where else can you eat where the Rat Pack ate? Unfortunately probably same furniture. Don't miss the pizza, it is legendary.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredhotelier34391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I decided to let the next generation taste some awesome pizza. I remember getting pizza from Tony's as a little girl when we were in town. I have recently treated my son to the pizza and he was thrilled. It will definitely be one of our stops next time we are in town. The pizzas aren't huge so be sure to order plenty. My teenage can eat a whole one by himself.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LMS2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was a reasonably priced restaurant with good sized portions. The food was italian american, that was ok. Looks like it doubles as an event hall. Some of the waitresses were excellent and some never knew they had a table. I would choose something different.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank invisibletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Baltimore Grill also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Tony's Baltimore Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing