We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick bite, good beer”

Tun Tavern Restaurant & Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Tun Tavern Restaurant & Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 396 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Baltic & Michigan Avenues
Transit: NJ Transit Train Station located directly across the street in the AC Convention Center. Atlantic City Bus Terminal located just a few blocks away on Atlantic Avenue. Jitney Service Available.
Description: When first built in 1685 on Philadelphia's waterfront, the original Tun Tavern developed a reputation for offering fine beers & being home to important historical events including being the birthplace of the United States Marine Corps on November 10, 1775. Today's Tun Tavern continues to hold prestige as the first brew pub in Atlantic City, NJ offering award-winning casual gourmet cuisine & handcrafted brews, as well as live entertainment & weekly special & events. Tun Tavern is Open 7 Days a Week for Lunch, Dinner, & Late Night serving Great Burgers, Salads, Sandwiches, Steaks, & Fresh Seafood. Tun Tavern Opens Daily at 11:30am serving until Midnight Sunday, Monday & Tuesday & until 2:am Wednesday thru Saturday. Tun Tavern offers a Full Service Bar featuring Home Brewed Beer & Great Wine, an Outdoor Deck, Live Entertainment, Banquet Facilities Available. Located in the center of Atlantic City, 4 blocks from the Casinos & adjacent to the Walk Outlet Mall.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quick bite, good beer”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I was surprised at the good selection of house brewed beer. Had atleast 8 on tap. Solid American menu with burgers, salads and sandwiches. Would return and the 4 hours free parking was a bonus!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    104
    81
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

great pub/bar atmosphere
It has a pleasant, relaxing pub enviroment.
Bar staff were friendly, and eager to serve.
Great Bloody Marys, and an excellent menu choice to choose from.
Its worth stopping in while in Atlantic City.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Family Restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This restaurant is a good restaurant to eat and hang out with friends. Prices are fair and the food is what you would expect from a bar-type place. Excellent fully stocked bar with very good service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If I could I would give it ZERO stars!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

worst experience in AC. While staying at the Sheraton Hotel we had no other choice for a quick lunch since it's the closest place to the Sheraton. As soon as we stepped inside we noticed a terrible smell - a mix of mold and old place smell. We placed our order and after waiting over 30 minutes we asked someone to get our waitress. She never showed up so we asked for the manager. About 10 minutes later the manager shows up (at this point it had been about 45 min wait - for a burger, ceasar salad for chicken fingers and mozzarella sticks for the kids... seriously!!??) The manager's reply was "oh, it's noon so we usually get everyone from the hotel at this time and so the kitchen is backed up"... OH REALLY?? because I would think that being next to a hotel and being a restaurant you would expect people to show up around noon!!! Then they bring the "chicken" fingers to my daughter and they turned out to be fish! not chicken! so we had to keep waiting... When my husband started complaining to the waitress she got all flustered and starting waving her hands and walked away while mumbling.
Please avoid this restaurant if you can. There are much better choices in the area if you have the time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolNJmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So So, Pricey Food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

In the whole week of our family vacation this was our least favorite restaurant. It was expensive and just ok food. Our waiter acted like he was doing us a great big favor by giving separate checks to our two families. We had one of family of 6 and one family of 4 and requested 2 checks, 1 per family. Told us if we came back again, he would not be able to give separate checks. We told him that is ok, we won't be back. We had some fabulous meals on our trip, but this definitely was not one of them. I would not recommend this restaurant to others or visit it again myself.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zitabobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tun Tavern Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Tun Tavern Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing