We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mexican munchies at the jersey shore”
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Amigos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 396 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fusion, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Michigan & Ohio Avenues
Transit: AC Bus Terminal 1/2 block away with Public Transit stops 1 block away. NJ Transit 2 Blocks on Michigan Ave. at the AC Convention Center
Description: "A Little of Old Mexico, a little of New Mexico & a lot of great Margaritas." Featuring contemporary Southwestern & Mexican border fare, with a flavorful selection of fresh seafood, prime steaks & margaritas, since 1976. Conveniently located in "The Walk" Outlet shopping area, two blocks from the Atlantic City Convention Center & two blocks from Ballys & Caesars casinos. Private Parties welcomed.
Manville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mexican munchies at the jersey shore”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick bite to eat before we hit up the Outlets. OMG sooooo much food we almost didn't make it to go shopping. Guacamole salsa and chips, chimichangas, tequila shrimp, and fish tacos were what we had to eat. Sangria and to make sure I was ready to hit the ground running at the Outlets I had a Kettle One dirty dirty little Martini. Good authentic Mexican food at a good price.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbythep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    73
    23
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went there for lunch on a Sunday. There was almost no one there. It is in a really good location and looks like it would probably be lively and fun at night. For a Mexican restaurant on the upper east coast, the food was tasty (it doesn't compare with the taste in southern California or New Mexico, but it wasn't bad for New Jersey). The mango frozen marguerita was really good. All in all, we enjoyed it and would probably go back the next time we're in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank naj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Tacos”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I go to Los Amigos often for a quick lunch, and truly enjoy the Crab Quesadilla. This last visit I noticed a new menu, very exciting, there was tacos on the menu.
I ordered the medium order of 2 tacos with beans and rice. Well, I know this restaurant doesn't have true "Mexican" food, but I was truly disappointed in the tacos. There was a choice of hard or soft shell, I chose soft with beef. The tacos came out, very large size, with a seasoned moist ground beef, cheese and lettuce. Not the typical Mexican tacos of shredded beef or small pieces of beef with cilantro and diced onions. I barely finished one, it was messy but filling, and not very tasty. I'll change back to my first choice, the crab quesadilla.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chickielean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
178 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food near the NJEA Teachers Convention.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were at the NJEA Teachers Convention and decided to go out for lunch. We first checked the food at Convention Hall and were turned off by the insanely high cost of the food served at Convention Hall. A slice of pizza was $6.75 and a drink was equally high, hotdogs were as expensive as at Yankkee Stadium. Rather than eat there we left and walked to the Applebee's and the wait was 45 minutes or more. Then we walked over to the high priced , mobbed Subway Sub Shop and walked away. My Colleague checked Yelp and it recommended Los Amigos Mexican Restaurant, which was a block or 2 away. The outside looks colorful and very Mexican. We walked in and were seated with no problem. The food and selections were reasonably priced and we ordered. Delicious chips and salsa were delivered at no charge and the soda's were refillable. I ordered some of the best enchilladas I have ever eaten, in this restaurant, the refried beans were great and if you like black bean soup, it was fabulous. We left satisfied and pleased with our selections. We would definitely return next time we visit Atlantic City for any reason.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Los Amigos is a moderately priced, consistently good Mexican restaurant. Nothing fancy, just good service and well prepared food. We've gone frequently, and have not been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldFart49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing