We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service...what's with the pool?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service...what's with the pool?”
Reviewed August 15, 2005

As you enter the lobby of the Borgata, you forget that dirty, run down Atlantic City is behind you. It is so clean, smells so new. There's a long line to check in but honestly, that's with most hotels in AC/Vegas. As modern as they are with a paperless pay out system, why don't they just add electronic check-in stations?

Their website is also very amateur. I think they need to doll it up and create more excitement on it. It looks like a child designed it. I would love to see more pictures, include links to artists websites, etc.

The Gypsy Bar is great...try the nachos!!!

The rooms are beyond description. Marble countertops and glass shower doors on top of the incredible cleanliness of the room. Everything still feels and looks so new there. The beds are SO comfortable too!!!

The people who are looking for Vegas service should go to Vegas. I'm not sure what you are expecting out of New Jersey but get real people...this place is beautiful.

Lastly, my only true negative comment...you have this AMAZING hotel, a great casino, wonderful rooms, a very modern and impressive spa/gym...and then there's this regular, boring pool. First, shouldn't there be an outdoor one for summer months? Second...it looks like the pool in my friend's backyard...why not swim up bar? How come there's no cool or different design to the pool?

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank surreal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    1,154
    404
    177
    211
See reviews for
439
1,649
168
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 14, 2005

From the moment you walk into The Borgata you feel like royalty. From the breathtaking lobby to the smallest detail, The Borgata is the epitomy of elegance. The rooms are beautifully decorated and equipped with everything from herb teas to nail files. The room service took a bit longer than I had anticipated, but the quality of the food was well worth the wait. The service and attentivness was equally phenomenal at the Homestead Restaraunt where we dined on another occasion. After dinner we chose to enjoy a cocktail at The B Bar where the staff treated us like old friends. The atmosphere was light and very enjoyable. Out of the numerous hotels in A.C. The Borgata is truly a resort worth staying at.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 12, 2005

Borgata really knows how to do it!! We stayed for one night and decided to splurge and get a suite. It was amazing! We checked in around 4. Line wasn't too bad...We waited about 10 minutes. The staff was very cordial. I am an absolute neat freak so I was thrilled to see that the room was sparkling clean. We had a wonderful view of the city. The floor to ceiling windows really make the room! The bathroom is very luxurious (and also very clean). What else can I say....If you want to do AC right, stay at the Borgata. The class of people is much better than the boardwalk hotels. It is worth every dollar you spend.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYNY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2005

To rate this hotel #1 in AC is a joke. I went to see a concert in April and stayed overnight. The staff was VERY rude and unorganized.

First of all I made my reservation months in advance. They actually charged my credit card the entire cost of the room at that time. Not a huge deal but it I was a bit concerned. That has never happened to me ever at any hotel.

Check in was a mess I reserved 2 beds for me and my friend, I explained this to the front desk person who was obviously new and had no idea what she was doing. We get to the room guess what a king! It took awhile to fix this problem.

You can not charge anything to your room from the gift shop.

Room service was bad and the person who brought it was extremely rude and a bit scary. I was glad I was not alone when this guy showed up.
I travel a lot and this place was like a nice hotel wanna be. It looks nice but it has lousy service.

The rooms were pretty and the bathroom was nice. Other hotels in AC have nice rooms too though.

I liked the casino. The paper system is great. I went to vegas earlier this year and it has caught on there too. I am guessing that other casinos in AC have the paperless system too.

If you want a nice room and to be treated badly stay here.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
10 Thank Babymakes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2005

The Borgata touts itself as a luxury hotel. Last year I went and loved it - so much that I was really looking forward to returning. It is the only time I've been able to relax in a big beautiful steamy bath since having my 2 kids- there is no such thing as privacy in my house.

So we get there. The luxury room had a smelly mini-refrigerator. The door lock was broken off (the extra one at the similar to the old chain locks). The bathroom outlet was broken...worse of all, the tub didn't hold water - my visions of steamy bubbles went down the drain.

Helpful?
3 Thank angarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2005

that isn't saying much and it is quite expensive. I would give the hotel a 5 point rating if it weren't for the price. But, when you compare it to other AC hotels, the Borgata is definitely a 5 pointer.

There is no obvious reason that prices should be so high in AC, since all the hotels make a killing on gambling revenues. But after spending one night here and one night in Bally's, I see: a) why the Borgata is off the boardwalk, b) why they charge so much for a room, and c) why they keep their minimum stakes somewhat high. I think they are trying to keep their casino free of the trashier elements found in the boardwalk casinos. I'm not a big gambler so I found the whole experience to be a big rip off. But, if you are into gambling and you do not want the annoyance found in the boardwalk casinos, then definitely spend the extra $ for the Borgata. From what I understand, they are also fairly easy going with their comps, so it may be quite easy to get a free room here.

That said, the rooms were super clean and were pretty. The aesthetic of the hotel is simpler and more elegant than other AC hotels. Also, the shampoos and soaps were high quality.

The food is expensive, buffet breakfast: $14, dinner $28, and the quality is reasonable. We ate at odd times, so we had no lines. Service was a bit spotty as we seemed to be forgotten with drink refills and such.

I treated my wife to a swedish massage at the spa. It was reasonably priced at $115+gratuity for 50 minutes--about the same price that you would pay in Manhattan. She said it was luxurious and well worth it.

The pool and hot tub area were nice, and they were relatively empty in the morning. One very annoying thing about the Borgata is that they charge $10 to use the gym. It looks nice, but by principle I cannot pay to use a hotel gym where I am paying to stay. I have heard that if you have a spa reservation, you get to use the gym for free, but I never confirmed it myself.

Self-parking is a one-time $5 fee. The most annoying thing about it was that there were no signs advertising the fees as you drove in, leaving the impression that parking is free.

Finally the gambling...well its gambling. The casino floor is not too busy, but if you want to be at the $10 min tables, you may have to wait a long time, especially for blackjack. At the next highest, $15, we always found a free spot. There were more than enough slot machines, I would guess that only one in twenty to twenty-five were occupied.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank songfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

My wife and I atayed at the Borgata for the Last friday july 15th. We left the 2 boys at home and made a night of it. Our check in (@ 2:30 pm) was easy and were offered views of the city or marina and also chose the floor level. We picked the marina view on the 30th floor and were not dissapointed except that the trump marina needs facelift. We went through the indoor pool area and sat outside on the Laise chairs and ordered cocktails and read magazines. After a great shower in a huge bathroom we gambled before dinner at Sulian run by susanna foo. The food was great and the price is reasonable for a top notch rest. in AC. Two people with a bottle of wine $180.00 including 3 courses. The whole experience was fantastic. Paid 300+taxes. Will definatley do it again....

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CBC_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,322 reviews
1.5 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,470 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.4 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa

Property: Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Address: 1 Borgata Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Family Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2002
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgata Hotel Casino And Spa
Borgata Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Casinos
Bogata Atlantic City
Borgata Atlantic City
Atlantic City Borgata Hotel
Borgata Ac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing