We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unforeseen charges compliments of the Borgata” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Beacon, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforeseen charges compliments of the Borgata”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

While the room, nightlife, and food are all very good the prices are unreasonable. My wife and I had to change our reservation from a friday night to a saturday night, the switch cost us $100, and the room was the same. Guests at the hotel need to pay a wifi fee of $15 per day which should come with the $463 you pay for a one night stay, if Starbucks can offer free wifi I don't see why The Borgata can't. Also the gym will cost you $12 a work out, it's probably better to go to Golds Gym you will pay the same price, and get a much larger more equipped facility for the same price if your a non-member. They charge you $5 to park your car each time you need to leave, another way of keeping you in the hotel so they can charge you close to $30 per person for a brunch buffet at 9:00 in the morning, because I guess thats when brunch starts? My wife and I also encountered a number of very rude hotel workers who treated us with disdain, and contempt. I don't see us going back to the Borgata again I would at least like to get treated with some respect if I am going to be spending that much money in a hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    1,090
    374
    165
    199
See reviews for
389
1,495
155
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel, gambled in it's casino, ate at several restaurants, and enjoyed the nightlife and clubs many times. Compared to other casino resorts I have stayed at, the Borgata is very clean, offers high end restaurants, and has some of the better entertainment and clubs in the city.

Rooms - while the rooms are expensive on a weekend (usually a Friday or Saturday night is more than $250) you can find deals during the week (Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday) for under $200. The rooms are very modern, clean, and beds are comfortable. Bottled water is expensive from the room so I recommend you bring bottled water with you.

Restaurants - Some of the best chefs in the world have opened restaurants here - Bobby Flay, Wolfgang Puck, and others. The food is great and what you would expect from a top chef, however it is expensive. In the restaurants, expect to spend a minimum of $30 per person with most bills around $50-70 a person. They do have a buffet and cafe option if you want a quick bite with a little less pinch on your wallet.

Casino - A very large casino floor with a ton of slots and numerous table games. The area around the gaming floor has wide paths to get around and the Borgata Girls bring you drinks while you play. And the drinks aren't miniature size, if you want a beer, they bring you a full size bottle. Mixed drinks also included as decent size for being complimentary. Expect a table minimum around $20 when you go on a Friday or Saturday night.

Nightlife - There are three nigh clubs in the Borgata and several bars with live music on weekends. The club Mixx usually has more of a techno style DJ but celebrity DJ's performing almost every weekend. Mixx is large with a huge dance floor and bar, plenty of lights and VIP areas. MurMur club is more intimate setting but has some big name celebrity guests hosting on weekends, more lounge type areas, but a longer wait to get in. Both clubs will give you plenty of party you desire and more. Expect a cover of $20-30 on weekends.

Parking - There is a large parking garage attached to the casino so no issues about parking the car or worrying if it will still be there when you wake up. A $5 charge when you exit, so don't gamble all of your cash away! You have to pay each time you exit so no one-day type passes for parking.

What's around - Since the Borgata is located on the marina and bay side of Atlantic City, you are not within walking distance of the boardwalk, beach, or other casinos. It is not recommended you walk from this hotel since there is a major highway and not so nice neighborhood between the Borgata and boardwalk. They do offer a shuttle, but only for "members" I think others have to pay or get a taxi. Either stay put at the Borgata or take a short cab ride or drive to other attractions and restaurants. The Borgata is not in a remote area, it is next to Harrah's Casino but the highway and neighborhoods make it a difficult walk.

Security - Plenty of security down on the casino floor and at the clubs. You must show your key card to security before you can access the room elevators, this helps so random people from the casino don't wander the halls of the rooms.

This hotel is recommended for adults only, since the casino is attached and the borgata girls wear very revealing uniforms and other people show up to the clubs to impress, it's not the best example for any child under 18.

Hope this review helps!

Room Tip: There isn't much difference between a high and low floor, same view. The city view is actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went to Borgata for holidays (my birthday is Christmas Day) with whole family because my son passed away a few weeks earlier and holidays were extremely difficult. We would have stayed at Harrah's but we had two children with us and the pool at Harrah's which allows children was closed for repair. We booked Borgata, two rooms next to each other. They sent me an e-mail asking for any requests or any help a few days before arrival which was a nice touch. They upgraded our room when we arrived which we greatly appreciated, from a low floor with no view to a room on 28th floor with fabulous view of the bay and lights. Really, that made the whole trip! They were responsive to guest needs. TV wasn't working properly one night and they sent a technician very quickly to fix it. Fitness center was great for my husband. Pool and hot tub area was really nice. They sent extra items from housekeeping that we requested except for tea. I took a yoga class at Immersion Spa at the Water Club one night and that was superb! Cannot say enough good things about the yoga instructor, Julie Morley, a Kripalu-certified instructor! Usually hotel yoga classes are not that great but this one on Xmas Eve was excellent! Highly recommend taking one of her classes.

Room Tip: Rooms on 28th floor with view of the bay and the great lights from Harrah's and Golden Nugget we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LibraryLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

First time staying at The Borgata and I'm glad I had the pleasure of staying. Room wise, The Revel rooms are similar, clean, modern, spacious with great views. Did not have adjoining rooms, so I did not have to hear anyone else's noise and that's a good thing for me. Elevators to the top floors are very fast and clean, hallways-spotless. Enjoyed my stay and will go back again. Very comfortable beds, big flatscreen tv, a very nice stay. Went to the Japanese restaurant, and on Mondays, they have great specials to enjoy, plus very good food and strong drinks. Casino floors are lively and full of energy, did not win a thing, but I still enjoyed The Borgata, overall.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrades, higher floors are great for much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trainstar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent stay at Borgata, stayed with my family 2 kids (5 yr & 8 months). Had a great time, staff was great! Valet and bell services were prompt! Room was clean and decent size. It is the top of its class, have not tried the Revel casino yet. Will stay again. Disappointments, buffet was closed and so was Bread & Butter resturants. Old Homestead, awesome food. It's a classy seafood & steak sit down place but they accommodate my kids great! Another surprise was the NOW (Noodle of the World) place, pretty good pho!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NagDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stay at the borgata 4/5 times a year the rooms are great , clean and comfy and the beds and bedclothes are so relaxing flat screen tv and great big shower and luxurious towels the staff is friendly and competent this is why this is our favorite place in ac oh and did I mention the buffet is great

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linkphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We got a coupon in the mail for a great deal on a room and decided to go for my birthday. We upgraded to a suite, which had a fantastic view of the bayside. We don't really gamble so we spent a leisurely afternoon walking around the casino, shops, and restaurants. Had a fabulous dinner at the Homestead restaurant. Suite was very nice, although the decor is pretty bland. Outrageous huge bathroom with those fantastic towels you can only get in luxury hotels. Really nice staff in the hotel and restaurants. Had to pay for parking even though we had a room. There are some hidden fees and taxes, but not too bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a bayview room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCO_Champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13,333 reviews
1.5 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#2 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#7 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa

Property: Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Address: 1 Borgata Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-1900
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Family Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2002
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgata Hotel Casino And Spa
Borgata Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Casinos
Bogata Atlantic City
Borgata Atlantic City
Atlantic City Borgata Hotel
Borgata Ac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing