We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pricey but worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto

Grotto
Reserve with OpenTable
Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 378 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Huron Ave. & Brigantine Blvd.
Description: Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and pastas. The breathtaking decor features spectacular hand-blown glass chandeliers, whimsical murals and custom made polished iron scrollwork. Wine connoisseurs will be impressed with the extensive collection of Italian and domestic selections. With our winning combination of impeccable service, superb cuisine and passion for detail, Grotto is the perfect Atlantic City location for Italian dining.
Phoenixville, PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at the Grotto. Service was great. Food was well prepared and served quickly.

We had canniloni (excellent)
parmesan chicken (excellent)
lasagna (ok, but no one makes it like Mama does)
Tiramisu (excellent)

The only draw back for me was the atmosphere. You are stuck right in the middle surrounded by slot machines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jshoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant in the casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Italian restaurant is part of the Landry chain. It is physically inside of the casino a few feet higher than the surrounding casino. It is an enjoyable place to eat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mickey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Calamari was so tender. They serve crispy bread with seasoned oil. I had The Pollo Estate which was so tasty, my boyfriend got a shrimp special of the night, also very good. Our server then brought the dessert cart. OMG. We were stuffed but couldn't turn down dessert. I got tiramisu and my b/f got the strawberry cheesecake, both were one of the best we've had. Service was very good, we were checked on just enough. If you're in A.C. Go check this place out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leogirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We choose the Grotto, not wanting a large meal. We had friend calamari, which was excellent, and ordered the Margrita Pizza. The staff was great, again, very friendly. The Pizza was perfect for us. Highly recommnend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank newjersey1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grotto Surprise- Put this one on your GO-TO list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Surprising on so many levels, this casino restaurant is worth the visit. It is not your typical setting, being open to the casino floor and close to the slot machine area, don't expect a intimate or romantic dinner. The surprise starts with the capable, well-trained staff, friendly hostess- then continues into great selection of appetizers and salads (appetizers are LARGE, be careful). Good, but not large selection of Entrees and pizza, but all six in our party found dishes that were perfect for their tastes. Every dish that arrived was well-presented, hot and timely fresh as expected. Awesome every one! there was a lot of picking and sharing (stealing) going on at our table... you'll have to protect your plate.... We managed to order desert, again surpriingly good.
The tab was surprising also -- easy on the wallet. What a great experience we can't wait for an excuse to go back.
ps.. We didn't know this was a Landry's chain restaurant (that was our last pleasant surprise)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing