We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Could be way better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could be way better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Lets get right to the point. The front desk receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Check in is at 4pm but we arrived early and it wasnt a problem. The room on the other hand leaves much to be desired, even for a not so picky person like myself. The room looks old & a little dusty. The bathrub was supposed to jacuzzi but it was old & looked rusty. There was a flat screen which was cool. The bed wasnt that comfortable and the pillows are the same plastic type pillows they use at hospitals. There was a stove, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, & 2 sinks. Those were fine but the applainces were very old & dirty. We ended up buying paper plates & utensils. The pool looks unkept and the hot tub was broken with hair and other "stuff" in it. Yuck! They both need serious TLC. The game room was cool. Keep in mind the games are not free.

The good- There is a great view from our floor and you can sit right at the window to look out. The hotel is right on the boardwalk in the middle of everything. Thats about the greatest thing here. If you dont plan to stay inside alot. This is a good place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    18
    19
    15
See reviews for
13
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here a few years back. It is directly on the boardwalk. The room we received this trip was not one that was upgraded. The hallways walls are beat! Lot of wear. But the room was clean and neat. (Studio Room) Great window sill that runs the length of all the windows. Bathroom small -and no shelves for toiletries. Nice big fridge. Microwave and stove top. There was a party in the room above us and it sounded like they were in the room! The front desk is very professional and friendly. The young woman remembers people and was a big help. Parking is $6/day, but very convenient . The garage spaces are very tight -the ceiling is low . The Irish Pub is right next door and is a must visit.

Room Tip: 31 Floors - Ask for a room up high and looking out to the ocean. If you have an extra car, ask the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guardrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We managed to get a suite at a brilliant price much beyond our expectation - the hotel does not boast of a welcoming reception area or breakfast - but had huge spacious and clean room, overlooking the sea, to offer. The property is located bang at the Boardwalk, and is also almost walking distance from the Atlantic City bus stop, and main market area. The staff was also courteous and helpful. Overall a brilliantly located great property!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MeghaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I visited Atlantic city with my family in last week of July.

We got a very good deal given that we had booked this place almost day before we landed in Atlantic City.

Location is very good. It is right off Boardwalk and has an opening to the Boardwalk.
Rooms are brilliant- clean, warm, and spacious. We had rooms overlooking sea and boardwalk.

We love walking and found hotel a bit far from Atlantic City Bus Station. But then you won´t really mind the walk if you traverse the distance through Boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSourav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was really cheap and convenient.
Be wary of the huge rules and regulations, the one that almost caught me out was that they charge your card 48 hours before you arrive. So if it declines, your booking is cancelled and that's final... I had lost my credit card, therefore getting a new one and was travelling from Australia and was pretty much travelling without any internet for 48 hours before i got there..
The lady told me what happened and told me the new rates for if i want to rebook which was triple the price (it was memorial day weekend, everything was booked)
I couldn't afford that and was on the verge of calling home for help when the lady could see how distraught i was and contacted the CEO of the company who was kind enough to let me have the room for the cheap rate again..
The lady even gave me an ocean view room on level 23 (which they usually charge an extra $75 a night for), the view was amazing. The room was clean and neat and tidy, the bedding was pretty dated and really motel styled..
There was like 10 towels replaced in my room every day (god knows why, but there wasnt any harm)
The only real off putting thing is all the warning signs everywhere for how much itd cost if you broke something.. literally, about 4 signs around the room... One being about if you unplug your tv, then its too bad, ur tv won't work for your whole stay..
I did accidentally knock the socket out because it had some cheap double adapter, but i plugged it back in and it worked...

They also even have a laundry room every few floors and vending machines every few floors which was different for a hotel and handy.

The place is average and okay for the pricing (the more in advance you book, the cheaper it is)

Room Tip: Book in advance for cheaper rates and ask for a higher floor with view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Branden1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Basically, the hotel itself is in an excellent location, and the view that we had from our studio was excellent and we were lucky enough to be on a high floor. Having said that, the problem with a high floor is that the lifts at this place are the slowest ive ever come across.. you literally wait 10 mins sometimes for a lift!! I also had problems everyday with my access cards, for which can i add that you have to pay a key deposit for?!! They are old bent and dont even work! Having worked in the hotel industry I am aware that these cards cost next to nothing to replace so the key deposit is unjustified, As well, you have to pay for internet, which is ridiculous, considering that the hotel that we stayed at prior to checkin was a third of the price and had internet complimentary. The bed was rockhard and the pool was dirty and overused, and the rooms were in need of maintenance. You have to pay a significant security deposit upon arrival, which appeared reasonable until i went upstairs to me room and found the bathroom door literally hanging from only one hinge. They also charge you if you leave dirty dishes upon check out. Seriously?!! On a positive note, staff were good, maintenance were prompt.. i feel sorry for them, they must be busy!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is high and have a boardwalk view. Beware though that you will probably have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Was going to Atlantic City for a short weekend getaway, and concert. Found the Atlantic Palace online, and like that it was close to the House of Blues for the concert we were attending and the restaurant I reserved for dinner. Walked into the room and was very happy with the size and ocean views. The entier one wall was windows overlooking the ocean and boardwalk. Did not use kitchenette, but was very nice. The bed and pillows were awful, defintiely could use an upgrade there. Also there was a whistling from the wind coming from the one window that could be opened. Other than those two things, I was very pleased with the hotel and staff. Could possible find something nicer for the $$, but view made up for anyhting that we did not like.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cisco240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
0.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,653 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
BEST WESTERN Envoy Inn
#12 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#14 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#9 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace

Property: Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace
Address: New York Ave. & Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Suites At Atlantic Palace Hotel Atlantic City
Royal Hotel Atlantic City Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing