We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and Downs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Resorts Casino Hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's understandable why the reviews of Resorts on TripAdvisor are so mixed. That's what your experience is like. Self-parking is great. Just 5 bucks for your stay with easy in-and-out privileges. Then you walk through the casino to the front desk. For casino regulars, the cigarette-smoke probably just goes with the territory. For those of us use to smoke-free environments, it's pretty disgusting, especially in this dated room that could use better ventilation and circulation. Our front desk experience was fine. But we noticed the next day lines and lines of people all afternoon. We were told they had to delay check-in until five o'clock. (We passed one group that was REALLY angry). Our room, on the Rendezvous side, had been renovated. It was very nice and spacious with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom (including a makeup table for my wife). The pool was nice, although crowded with kids. We loved the Landshark bar on the beach. Jimmy Buffett has put all of his money-making powers to work here, squeezing every nickel out of his Margaritaville-inspired brands, not to mention the hundreds of sad and unhealthy-looking people parked at slot machines for hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bagnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,793 - 2,799 of 3,943 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Came down for a Tues-Thurs stay in the beginning of June. Our rooms were comp'd, but we did still have to pay the taxes (which amounted to about $20). Upon check-in, we requested to have an ocean view and we were told that it would not be a problem. Our room was in the Ocean Tower and was spacious, the bathroom was wonderfully modern, the beds were comfortable, and the view was spectacular! The Landshark Beach Bar was so convenient and the food was pretty good too. Margaritaville was also great - best burger of my life - but was a little overpriced. I would totally stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Ocean Tower with an Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianna0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Rendezvous tower. The room was spacious and clean ----but DARK and gloomy. Good luck if you try to read a newspaper without hugging the window in DAYLIGHT. The two feeble little lamps are just ok to find your way around. Bring your own grown-up lamp and light bulb.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is one of the older casinos so I was expecting it to be a little dated. Our room was clean with an awesome view of the beach! Most of the staff was very friendly and accommodating; except when it came to the buffet. I noticed one of the ladies at the counter yell at a customer who was only confused. Also, the guy who sat us at our table was very rude. He kind of just pointed us to our table. To top it off the food was terrible! Fortunately, our waitress was very pleasant. So the rudeness of whatever that guy was (hopefully not a host) ultimately was not as big a deal breaker as the food was. The pizza crust was like biting into plastic or a piece of rawhide. The meatballs looked good, but weren't. The fish was cold. You could not taste the cheese of the cheddar cornbread. Needless to say we did not go back to the buffet. We ate at the other hotel restaurants and eateries along the board walk. I would stay at that hotel again, but, I would not waste my time with their buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr3edomTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This place has been upgraded and is in a great location on the boardwalk. We were just disappointed in our room, we needed to be close to the elevator so they put us in the ocean tower... The bed was ok but the room was out dated, the hallway was a disaster, food left outside people's rooms looked like for days, the rugs and walls looked scary and the hallway smelled like pot. Next time I will definitely ask for the renovated tower, if we get up the courage to stay at this hotel again. Just watch out for drunk people in the elevators being vulgar, rude, and inappropriate. We told the security guard .... Ps-the 3 card poker dealer (female) was awesome super nice and patient.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gaileyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights and was very impressed with the Rendezvous Tower. The other Ocean Tower is quite old and needs updating. If you play the slots so many are the older type which I find they pay off more so than the newer type machines. Listening to other comments people were complaining about not enough payoffs , which seemed to be the norm at every casino in Atlantic City. Resorts is a little out of the way from the busy part of the Boardwalk but if you like to walk its fine. Staff were very friendly and many of them to serve you!! Overall a good time and will likely return.

Room Tip: Only in the Rendevous Tower and ask for a view of the Atlantic Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camper1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel itself was very nice especially for being an older hotel! The room was very big. It had two bathrooms and two closets and the king size bed and pillows have been the most comfortable hotel bed we have slept on. The shower water pressure was also just right. The room was very clean! The location is perfect. The steel pier was a couple minutes away and they had the sand sculpting competition while we were there which was fun to watch. The Land Shark Restaurant was right across the boardwalk from the hotel which was very convenient. Overall the hotel itself was fantastic and would stay there again!

On the down side when we arrived and checked in right at 4:00 we were told our room was not ready and would be another 45 minutes. We were disappointed because we were only there for a day and a half and had our luggage and no place to go. So we sat at one of the tables near the food court and waited. We were told we would receive a text message when it was ready. After about an hour and not text message we had to stand in line again and asked if our room was ready we were told no and they didn't know when it would be. By this time it's after 5:00 and we were frustrated. My husband insisted on speaking to a manager and finally we were able to speak to one. After complaining for about five minutes all-of-a-sudden a room became available. This was very annoying!

Another down side is that the pool area closes at 8:00 pm. We did not realize this and we were relaxing enjoying the view of the boardwalk and ocean and we were asked to promptly leave at 8:00. We were escorted out of the pool!

Last down side was when we went to breakfast at The Bread Sticks and wanted to seat at one of the empty tables along the window. We were told we could not sit there because the waitress was on break. Not two minutes later they seated other people there! Complained about that but got no where. We then ordered the bagel and egg sandwich and after ordering it the waiter came and told us they ran out of bagels!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
11,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts Casino Hotel

Address: 1133 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: $71 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 942
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fun is here! From the world-renowned sandy, white beaches to the hottest action in AC on our casino floor, Resorts is all about having fun. Resorts is home to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville entertainment complex which include the famous Margaritaville restaurant, LandShark Bar & Grill - AC's only year-round beach bar, retail shops, new casino gaming, 5 O'Clock Somewhere Bar and more. Enjoy luxurious ocean view rooms, and indoor/outdoor pool giving you the summer feel 365 days a year, spa and salon services for men and women, award-winning dining and so much more. Resorts is the perfect place to find your fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantic City
Resorts Casino Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Resorts Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing