We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resorts Casino Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
ashes594
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feels Like Home”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have been going to this hotel for years and it feels like going home every time I go back. Be sure to stay in the new tower of the hotel & you will love it. The Ocean Tower is in deseperate need of a remodel, so if you opt for the older tower you probably wont fall in love. The hotel is small enough to learn your way around, which I love.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ashes594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    1,093
    564
    247
    248
See reviews for
723
1,444
199
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

To be honest, it was the best price we found anywhere at any beach so we booked 3 rooms ( took the whole family) and i was expecting the rooms to be on the run down side for what we paid through Expedia. To all of our suprises, the rooms were remodeled, clean, and very inviting. Our one room was even a suite which was a total suprise! For a family on a VERY TIGHT BUDGET, we were all VERY HAPPY with our stay at the Resorts!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00cindym00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Based on the reviews of this hotel, I was terrified of what I would encounter. Still, it was the best deal on the boardwalk. In some ways my stay was better than I expected, in some was it was about what I expected.

I typically do not spend much time at my hotel when I travel. Even though we stayed at Resorts, we didn't eat at any of the restaurants and only really spent time there on our first night. We saw Club Piscipo, which was OK, and they were filming the show for an HBO special, so maybe I'll be on TV.

The weekend did not get off to a good start. The confirmation of my reservation didn't list the rates, which I thought was shady. It also didn't list the address of the hotel. I didn't realize this until I sat in my car, ready to enter the address in my GPS. I had to call the hotel. It was annoying.

Parking was only $5 for our entire stay. We arrived at the hotel around 3, and although they checked us in, they told us we had to come back for our room key after 4pm. I thought this was ridiculous. They really didn't have a single room ready? We checked our bags, and killed some time.

Based on other reviews that I've read, I held my breath as I opened the door to our room in the Ocean Tower. I was pleasantly surprised. It was not the nicest room that I have ever stayed in, but the room was attractive and nicely furnished. The bathroom was not as well-maintained but it was clean. They only provide you with shampoo and body lotion, so if you condition your hair, bring your own conditioner.

We could not get a good temperature in our room. The room felt stuffy, so we turned the thermostat down. Then it was freezing, so we turned it up. Then it was stuffy. We decided to keep the room freezing and request extra blankets. The first night, they didn't have extra blankets, so they gave us extra sheets. Housekeeping took the extra sheets the next day, so we again requested an extra blanket on our second night. No one even bothered to come to our room, even though we called twice.

I wanted to use the gym while we were there, but they charge $15! I know a lot of other casino hotels do this, so it's not necessarily a criticism of Resorts -- I just think it's ridiculous for a hotel guest to have to pay for basic amenities like a gym or internet.

Customer service was OK. The aforementioned blanket incident kind of leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Housekeeping staff was friendly and greeted us in the hall. Some employees seemed disinterested, but that seemed to be an Atlantic City thing -- we experienced it at other casinos as well. I think that you are just not going to get the same kind of service in AC that you might get in Vegas or even the Connecticut casinos.

I think if you don't spend a lot of time in your hotel and just want to be on the boardwalk so you can be close to other hotels, then this hotel is a decent option. I can't say I would seek out another stay here, but I would stay here again if it was the best deal. If you like to really spend time at your hotel to enjoy the amenities or casino, then maybe another place would be a better option for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

If you collect social security and wear Orthopedic shoes, then this hotel is for you. With the exception of the lobby and the new torch whisky bar (which is smaller than my walk in closet) I dont think this hotel has been renovated since Merv Griffin owned it. Plenty of penny and nickel slots for you know who.

If you are under 55 stay at another hotel/casino in Atlantic city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

A utility infielder on a baseball team typically plays anywhere in the infield when a starter is hurt or needs rest. The utility infielder tends to be OK/good, but not great. And that summarizes Resorts.

They did everything good, but not great.

In general: Resorts did or had almost everything any other hotel on the Atlantic City boardwalk provided. They met the standard; but that was about it. If you're a traveler used to a classier and cleaner edge, you may be disappointed here. If you're a traveler who doesn't have high hotel expectations, this may be a comfortable hotel.

Details: Parking is only $5 per visit (you leave and comeback, you pay another $5. But if you stay @ the hotel, that can be reimbursed I think. We never looked into it though). Thought that was a decent deal. The hotel provides baggage storage if you're there earlier than check in, but we didn't use that feature, so we cannot vouch either way for it.

They do not permit any check in at all before 1pm. Our room was ready before the 4pm general check in time. They opened up various check in lines and the front desk staff was accommodating and kind.

We were less than impressed with our room. We stayed in the Ocean Tower which is the older part of the Resorts complex. The room was damp-feeling. That's the only way to describe it. It felt as if the carpet was moist, and that made the room feel moist. Bathroom was outdated, but for the most part clean. Room was clean in a general sense, but felt sticky because of this mysterious dampness. Carpet was very stained. We tried every way possible to keep our luggage and bags off the floor. We wore flip flops the 4 days we stayed. While this was weird, it wasn't enough to flip out and call the room disgusting. It was just slightly poor.

The pool area was located on the third floor. It had a deck that overlooked the ocean and had a retractable roof, and 20 person hot tub. All very neat qualities, but not very well kept. Here, Resorts seemed to miss a chance to take advantage of some neat qualities. The glass retractable roof has various panels cracked, the hot tub had a yellow ring of whatever-yellow-rings-are-made-of around it, and the deck was just a slippery roof top. Still enjoyable though. We used the pool to our advantage.

The casino had a lot to offer. Slots, table games, bars, and drink specials. Not a bad place to spend the evening. Not as lively as the Caesars casino pack, but well enough. The restaurants and clubs in the hotel were better than the hotel itself. A bit pricey, but manageable.

Resorts shares a portion of the boardwalk with the Taj Mahal and Showboat hotel/casinos. But this wasn't the more lively portion of the boardwalk. Exactly .6 miles south on the boardwalk is Bally's, Caesars, and more. We were more drawn to that end of the boardwalk (or even farther down toward Tropicana or the Chelsea).

Overall: Based on other reviews, we were expecting a rude staff. They were quite the opposite. They were kind in our encounters (check in, towel request, room service, check out, direction request, etc). Also, instead of the hotel taking advantage of it's historic feel by up keeping itself, it felt more run down historical. We wished they would have used that to their advantage.

This hotel did a good job at only meeting the minimum standard. Protesters hung out in front of the hotel for one of our days. They explained to our group how the new Resorts owner is cutting corners on costs and not putting a lot into it. That's the impression we got as well.

Resorts did everything good, but not great.

Room Tip: There are clubs on the 3rd and 13th floors of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in the Rendevous Tower and were pleasantly surprised. Clean, spacious (the biggest standard rooms in AC according to AAA), with a nice bathroom: marble, double sinks, large shower stall, separate water closet area. I dropped in one rating because the bed pillows were small and hard ("That's what she said"). Also, hubby, an early riser, went to play in casino at 5 am, whereupon he was hit on by a drunk woman begging for him to buy her drinks and countless homeless people panhandling. Security was non-existent. Scary, because he won a small jackpot and there were many unsavory types milling around him when this happened. Fortunately, he's a big guy who can hold his own, but a female by herself would have been no doubt accosted.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat14Schdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here this past week more or less on a wim. We found the experience delightful. Staff was very helpful. Our room was very nice. My impression is that they are going all out to please the customer and they really succeded. My only negative is their parking garage, which is terribly outdated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delawhereNewCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,750 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.2 mi away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#17 of 49 in Atlantic City
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts Casino Hotel

Property: Resorts Casino Hotel
Address: 1133 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7395
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 942
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fun is here! From the world-renowned sandy, white beaches to the hottest action in AC on our casino floor, Resorts is all about having fun. Resorts is home to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville entertainment complex which include the famous Margaritaville restaurant, LandShark Bar & Grill - AC's only year-round beach bar, retail shops, new casino gaming, 5 O'Clock Somewhere Bar and more. Enjoy luxurious ocean view rooms, and indoor/outdoor pool giving you the summer feel 365 days a year, spa and salon services for men and women, award-winning dining and so much more. Resorts is the perfect place to find your fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Resorts Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantic City
Resorts Casino Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Resorts Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing