We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Super Hot Cakes and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilchrist Restaurant

Gilchrist Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 377 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super Hot Cakes and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Gilchrist is T the inlet in Atlantic Ciry. The area had been rehabbed and the views are terrific. You can see Borgata etc. from the deck.
Service and food were great. The pancakes are super light. Eight of us were very happy with everything.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    83
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Great Pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We read great reviews of this place, so we decided to try it out for brunch. We arrived about 11:30 on a Monday and weren't seated until about 12:45...the woman at the desk lost our name on her list! I'm glad we went up to ask after about an hour, or else we'd still be sitting there. As soon as the problem was brought to the hostess' attention she put us in a great table overlooking the water.

We saw our server once, when she took our order - never brought the coffee I ordered. When the food came, I was not disappointed. The reviews were right - the pancakes are amazing. They were worth the hour long wait! The rest of the food (I had one of their combos with eggs, bacon and home fries) was okay, not unlike any diner food.

For the pancakes alone, this place gets 4 stars....if I could give it a separate rating for service, I'd give it 1 star, if that!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NY4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Keep your expectations reasonable and you'll love this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Basic breakfast food, but very good. Reasonably priced for Atlantic City. If the weather is good sitting outside can't be beat.

Per other posts the wait could be bad, but the morning we were there was a Sunday around 7:30am and we had no wait. I've noticed other posts about how great the service was, but that absolutely wasn't true for us. Service was friendly, but once our food was brought we never saw the waitress again - we wanted water, but no chance to ask. I ordered a juice that never came, but we were billed for it. Never had a chance to refill my coffee, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koho26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Every time we go to AC to go Parasailing or on the Dolphin Cruise at Gardiners Basin, we always start the day with a breakfast at Gilchrist. The food is consistently good and the prices are very reasonable. We have been there at least 4 times and each time everything was very good.
Yesterday, I had a short stack of Blueberry Pancakes. Not only were they delicious, light, full of blueberries, and golden brown, the portion of 2 pancakes was more than enough for me. They were so good, I did not even bother using syrup - just the butter. My boyfriend had 2 eggs over easy, grits, and sausage. He, too, really enjoyed his meal. We would love to try them for lunch someday - but they do close at 2 p.m., which means you get back a bit too late if you go out on the Dolphin Cruise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerlilyDolphinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, great prices and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good old fashioned breakfast with good food and great prices. Wait to be seated. Great outside on the water dining. Away from expensive casino food. Great service. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank didi9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilchrist Restaurant also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Gilchrist Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing