We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Sandwich”
Review of White House Sub Shop - CLOSED

White House Sub Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Hopewell Junction, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a Sandwich”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went here on a tip from a friend. Was going to get a whole sub, decided on a half .. glad I did. These subs are huge! Everything was fresh and they pile on the meat and cheese .. we highly recommend

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigron452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    51
    22
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice inexpensive option if you are near the Taj Mahal casino.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Being a frequent visitor of A.C. I have always read that The Whitehouse was the place to go when in A.C. for subs.
We ordered two half submarines. A cheesesteak hoagie and a meatball hoagie. They each were cut in half.
WOW! glad I only ordered a half! My meatballs were very large and tastey with a very nice roll. The cheesesteak hoagie was like wise large very tasty and filling. If you are in A.C. looking for inexpensive but good food.The Whitehouse deserves a try. The total price for the two 1/2 submarines was $17 and change. Worth every penny IMHO.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave3006308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“nothing like the original sub shop quality. please rebuild the artic/mississippi faster.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

visited the White House sub shop on Arctic in Mississippi Avenue in Atlantic City and it was still being repaired from Hurricane sandy. the sign on the door said the Taj Mahal location was open. it was open but it is no where, I repeat no where near the quality of the original location. the famous bread was stale in the steak meat in my sandwich lacked overall flavor. a very very disappointing visit. if your trying to duplicate the eating experience of the original shop and its not open dont bother visiting the taj.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good a must go to”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wife and I ate here last week. The original location was closed due to Hurricane Sandy. We had the Steak and cheese. It was huge. It was around 18.00 It was very busy and the wait was about 10 minutes to get your order. We both loved the bread a little chewy. so yummy and the steak was awesome. We will go back here again for sure. This place is legendary.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhioWeliketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
342 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The best Italian sub in the US!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I was so glad to see the White House Sub located at the Taj Manual. They stay open until 4am! Thank god! There is a reason why Frank Sinatra used to fly this sub out to Vegas (the ultimate carry out delivery). Hands down the best. A MUST STOP!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHopefulTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Sub Shop also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing