We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fornelletto”
Review of Fornelletto - CLOSED

Fornelletto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Formerly known as Umbria
mays landing, nj
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fornelletto”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is one of our favorite spots to eat. It looks like a wine celler and the soft lighting gives it a romantic warmth. We began our meal with buffalo mozzarella accompanied with eggplant capanata. They make their own and it is like no other. Sergio, our attentive waiter, brought the bread and we enjoyed it with some olive oil on the table. Next came veal parm which was melt in your mouth delicious. We topped this off with pumpkin crème brullee, which we shared. Everything was perfecto! My husband had 2 coronas and I had fabulous2 lemondrop martinis. The bill came to $122 and it was worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    95
    51
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic Italian food.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was impressed with the menu and wine list. The fried artichokes and spaghetti carbonara were delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chilindrinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bring Cotton Balls If You Come”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This restaurant is so loud it will make you bleed from your ears. Unbelievably loud. There is not a soft surface to be found. It is downstairs at the Borgata, down a narrow stairway. Tile floor. Tight tables. Low ceiling. And the wine "cellar" is in bins around the restaurant walls that are enclosed with plexiglass, or the like. My wife and I have eaten there twice. You literally could not hear the other person speak across the small table. Most of our limited dinner conversation was punctuated by "What? Sorry, I can't hear you." It was awful. I can't really comment on the food, either time, because our only thought was "Let's finish and get out of here." Why did we go back a second time? Well, not really sure, except that it had been a number of years between the two visits. There definitely won't be a third time! One of of most unpleasant dining experiences ever!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveInFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wine down Wednesday”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The bar area was packed, so we sat at a small table in the back. I have recommended this place countless times, and I consider it one of my favorite Restaurants! The 9th Street Chopped salad is SO delicious, and the pizza usually never disappoints. I don't know if it was an off night, or maybe due to the wine down Wednesday specials in the front of the house, but I must say it was a very unpleasant dining experience. Our waiter, Jeff, was so rude, he told us that "we were only ordering appetizers" - whatever that meant. We also had pizza and wine. Anyway, the chopped salad was good, but the pizza must've been sitting for awhile. There was a nice older couple sitting next to us, that made the dining experience tolerable. I will go back - but will try a different night or an earlier seating time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bethannez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Accidental Find!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had reservations at the Old Homestead that were messed up by someone on their end and we were told that we would not be able to get a table until 11pm. Hungry, we walked around the casino and found this place. They also didn't have anything for us until 11pm, but they had a pretty large first come-first serve area by the bar. Our waiter and busser did an a great job looking out for a table for us. The food was amazing. I could have made a meal out of the bread alone! We got a couple of pizzas as appetizers. They were fantastic. For Dinner I had the Boar Ragu and it was awesome. We all took bites of each others dishes and I don't think I tasted anything that wasn't delicious. A+ for service, food, and decor!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fornelletto also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing