We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Dive with Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony Boloney's

Tony Boloney's
Ranked #46 of 379 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indigenous Atlantic City Pizza, Subs & Grub. Tony Boloney's is an Atlantic City original. We make turn-of-the-century Atlantic City style pizza and bad a$$ grub.We hail from the fast growing and ever changing historic inlet and toss dough in a landmark building. If you leave A.C. without trying our pizza or award winning subs you don't know what you're missing....-Mike, The Butcher, Owner
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Dive with Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let's face it. The place is a dive. It could definitely use a little TLC. You can start by removing the all too dead flowers from the outside tables, cleaning the rest room (shared) and eliminating the condensation that drips from the air conditioning duct at a fast and furious rate on the head of the unfortunate patron sitting under it. That said, with the proper expectations, it is well worth a try. The food is on the money and the menu is interesting and creative.

The energetic young owner, Michael Hauke, just won a $20,000 prize for his Cheese Steak Ole in a Cook Off contest on the Live with Kelly and Michael Show. He beat out several other competitors from around the country. The sub was also the winner of a Guy Fieri Cheese Steak battle. My only concern is that the notoriety this delicious creation has received may divert attention from some of the other excellent items on the menu. That would be unfortunate. There are numerous things on the menu worth experiencing.

It is small place with makeshift seating, such as an old church pew and some hand me down tables and chairs. Outside seating consists of a few picnic tables. Although they are not usually overly busy, you can't always count on finding a seat right away. That may matter if you intend to eat in.

I would not recommend this as a place to to take young children only because of seating limitations, but I guess you could in a pinch. Parking is where ever you can find a spot on the street, but generally not a problem. Also, its not the place to go if you want a relaxed, intimate meal. Take out and delivery are options. Patrons consist mostly of some locals and tourists. It is reasonably priced. Help is friendly. Self service.

I really like this place and want to see the owner take it to the next level. Maybe the prize money will help him do that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    76
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza was blah, cheesesteaks make up for it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ordered a plain pizza and the cheesesteak ole. Pizza was actually not that good at all! Expected much better considering all their specialty pizzas. Maybe the specialty pizzas are better. LARGE menu, so many things to choose from! Cheesesteaks all looked so good, the ole was delicious! Small place, only seating for maybe 10 people. Counter girl was friendly, a real "dive" pizza place feel, definitely not romantic or maybe even for kids. Had some current hip hop playing, cursing and all, and the workers joking back and fourth behind the counter. My kind of place! Only gripe is the less-than-stellar pizza. Get a cheesesteak instead!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I researched restaurants before our trip to Atlantic City, and when I viewed the menu to Tony Boloney's it made my mind up that I had to try it. My boyfriend had the cheesesteak ole and I had a pizza. Both were amazing! When we got to the restaurant we learned the owner was the guy that won the food truck challenge on the Kelly & Micheal show, my boyfriend was psyched about that. Now we see why he won! Great food and great atmosphere! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlightAttd4AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Cheesesteak and Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wanted to try Tony Boloney's since it had such great reviews. We were not disappointed. We started with a Cheesesteak Ole that we shared. It was wonderful. Best cheesesteak I ever had. We could not decide on the Crabby Cronick or the Pepperoni so we got a small pizza of each. Words can not describe the taste. They were phenomenal. We shared a slice of the Sh#tfaced pizza, it was awesome too. We had leftovers since there were just 2 of us. I now know why the concierge at our resort said " The pizza at Tony Boloney's is sooo good, you will want to lick the box." Don't miss this on your trip to Atlantic City. You won't be disappointed. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back to AC again just for another cheesesteak and pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbieB251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything we read is true. We decided to walk to this restaurant while strolling the boardwalk. If you do this just don't be thrown off like us. At one point we really thought the directions were wrong the place seems to be in the middle of nowhere. So it proves to outlive the " location, location" by what? By the serving one of the best pizzas you will ever place in your mouth. When we finally arrived in what was a long hot walk we were for about five minutes worried we may be disappointed. There wasn't any slices available!!? Just with that shutter a nice chap popped up and said things are going to get real busy...but if you are willing to wait slices will be out. We waited and waited ...don't get me wrong it was well worth every minute. Warm wonderful delights were handed out with a beautiful smile. Brooklyn and the awesome cheesesteak. Words cannot discribe just GO ..we will be craving and craving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Boloney's also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Tony Boloney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing