We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with "The Annex at the Chelsea"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Annex at The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Annex at The Chelsea
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Atlantic City
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother with "The Annex at the Chelsea"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Others have said it- this is a motel room, and not a very nice one at that. It's conveniently located near the boardwalk in Atlantic City, NJ. We stayed here because there was no availability for two rooms where the rest if the family was staying. We requested, twice- but did not receive- adjoining rooms and the excuse was they'd be assigned at check in. No dice. It makes it difficult because we were traveling with a young child and adjoining rooms would have made the trip easier. The lobby is lovely, but the minute you begin the trek to the elevators to go to "The Annex", things go downhill fast. This motel is in need of renovation, not just a coat of
paint. The walls are so thin you can hear the obnoxious bachelorette debacle in the next room. The air conditioner did not work in either room, and when reported to the front desk, my daughter was told that the whole building was on heat and there was nothing they could do. The staff must be sick of hearing the complaints because as soon as they knew we were in The Annex, the attitude changed. The "retro" pink bathrooms were just old and sad and tired. Where the refrigerator was, an empty hole remained. And what can I say about the view? Even more dismal than this room, overlooking a loud parking lot. The other room was not much better, overlooking rooftops covered in beer cans. Touting this sad place as "hip" could not be further from the truth- it's an old AC motel desperately in need of a redo. The worst part was they charged $250 per room per
night for this, when my brother and his wife stayed in the Chelsea hotel (the tower) for TWO nights for $375. Tragic. Not worth the money. Don't bother- go elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenmorangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    92
    138
    227
See reviews for
71
186
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Don't stay at the annex part of the Chelsea, the room was clean but needed to be renovated years ago, the lobby and other public areas where nice. The staff at the front desk where very nice and helpful, I will be back but will stay I the Chelsea part of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank abc5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The ads two place, one is the Chelsea and the other is the annex (Motel). I had book the Chelsea and end up in the motel! The made some much excuse that the made a mistake switching last min. and the sold out at the Chelsea. It's bad! We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneta64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed twice, Luxe floors in winter. Deduct two for the Annex. Standard city view is bland, a view of dozens of balconies and a sliver of ocean. Bay view is pure ocean, and pricier. TVs are nice, and the iPod dock with radio is a blast. Safes are quick, convenient and secure. An excellent front desk staff. Art deco decor is tres cool, from lamps to photographs to the beautiful lobby and bar. A very romantic mood. Location is both good and bad: steps from the beach, but a boardwalk bookend. Solarium is extra and worth it. Brutal on a budget. $125 security deposit on top of it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Pulling in the valet there was a line down the block to this, shady type garage," I mean shady BAD" " not shady from the sun" .. I was afraid to give the keys to my new car?? But i did, ONLY .."Plus" !!! the guys were very very nice ..! upon entering the lobby there was a fight going on from a disgruntled customer ...police were called.!
Then waited on a extremely long line finally checked in and then got keys.
Miss clerk said room out to left Period...So we walk to the left for a few nothing , nothing ,,,then after walking the length of the building down a hallway I would not have walk down with out my body guard friend " of thankfully, that i had one"...went up 4 floors to a scary old grungy hallway to our room ..Yes of course the room was every thing i expected from, first site, old , dingy and baits hotel-ish..yikes....Would only go back if i was all out of options...!Meaning on the streets....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Advertises itself as a charming boutique hotel. Not the Annex, anyway. Substandard room with poor maintenance. Checked in with online reservation, then left because other clientele were obvious rave participants, carrying cases of water which is a tell for Ecstasy use. Tried to get moved, but request not received well. Left. Still charged full-price for room.

One somewhat positive note: when called to speak with manager about room charge, was refused with no alternative. However, when I offered to split the charge, I did get half refunded.

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrickyFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.0 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#17 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic City Oceanfront-Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
Econo Lodge Beach and Boardwalk
#30 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
#9 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annex at The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annex at The Chelsea

Property: The Annex at The Chelsea
Address: 111 S Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6222
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Annex at The Chelsea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Annex at The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annex At The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing