We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Renaissance Suites
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel because of the price. We were sort of nervous after reading the reviews that we would want to switch hotels after we arrived. But thankfully this wasn't the case. I'll start off by talking about the location. This hotel is right on the boardwalk. It is in the middle of the boardwalk so it is easy access to everything. My boyfriend and I did not have to move our car out of the garage the whole weekend to go to any of the casinos. It is a block away from caesars and ballys and close by the shops. The garage is tight but as long as you have a small car its not a problem. You have to have a card to get into garage which is good because it gave me peace of mind. This hotel is NOT A NON SMOKING hotel. Yes it does smell like smoke on some floors but our room was fine. Every hotel room is basically a mini apartment. This is what made us love the hotel. With having a mini apartment you do not feel cramped. We loved being able to grab breakfast at dunkin donuts and eat it in the living room while watching tv. The staff was also friendly. And the hotel was not noisy. The only complaint I guess we could make is that the pool area looks sort of dingy and unkempted. But Hey with easy access to the beach we did not care that we didn't seem in the pool. We are rebooking in August.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hamburger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 117 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

The place is near the casinos but it has bed bugs, it bit my sister and nephew. The rooms are all smoking, disgusting we had kids with asthma. The pool area was very cold, and very small pool. Our heat broke down and we had maintenance in our room at midnight. We called front desk for extra blankets due to no heat, and front desk leaves at 8pm. No live person for help.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank guera52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

As someone who books vacations in Atlantic City at least once every month DO NOT STAY HERE!! The staff is very mean, and the lady who sits at the front desk has a nasty attitude! We pulled into the garage and had to wait 25 minutes before we were let in... the parking was horrible.. only a few spots to park on each level & the spaces are so close... if you have a nice car.. like me you would be worried... the hotel room wasn't at all luxurious.. the bed rooms were small.. the tv was an old small box.. and the refrigerator added its own sound affects the whole night. Unfortunately the weekend we stay there it snowed. They have a very steep ramp that bring you to the sidewalk.. they didn't clean or salt the ramp! It was covered in snow and ice make it close to impossible to get up or down the ramp! When we mentioned this to the lady at the desk.. she had the nerve to tell me it is the city’s responsibility, not theirs! Furthermore after 9 o clock no one sits at the reception desk.. so if you need help or service, or you loose your garage key or room key to enter the suites.. good luck! NO ONE is there to help you until the morning! What kind of place is this where not even one person is around to help incase if something went wrong of if you needed assistance!! Then the next morning they had the nerve to charge us a late fee after the guy we spoke to said it would be okay if we took an extra hour or two. When we went downstairs to checkout he said management said otherwise and they had to charge us! This place is not worth your money or time!!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank njzlilsh0rtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My husband and I decided to spontaneously go away for a weekend. We are seven months pregnant and wanted a quick baby moon over Thanksgiving weekend. We knew nothing of Atlantic city, but upon reading a bunch of reviews on line and comparing hotel features, this place seemed like a steal! We were looking forward to the ocean view, and the jacuzzi tub! We were greated by a place that looked like an apartment in a college dorm. The furniture is from the early 80s it would appear. I seriously think no one entered the room for months. The kitchen area was dusty and there was a DEAD BIRD on our balcony. The "jacuzzi" tub was rusty and tiny. We were afraid to use it and only took showers. Overall, I was disapointed with the bathroom which was very small. The bedroom was large and comfortable, but there was only cable in the living room area. The pool area was TRAGIC! Tiny and cold. Plus it was open in weird hours, because you can only use it when there is a manager in the hotel. The free parking was very secure but VERY hard to get in and out of with an SUV. We spent almost 30 minutes trying to get our car into a spot, while another couple was trying to get a car out at the same time. Overall the place in November is cold, run down and depressing. We should have gone for a casino hotel room, rather than trying to get the most "bang for our buck". I would recomend this place to a group of college kids trying to have a good time in Atlantic City or for a family trying to stay somewhere for cheap, away from the Casinos. Basically if you are looking for the basics and more interested in space vs. quality, this place is a good deal! If however you are looking to spoil yourself a bit, this is DEFINATELY not the place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 08Katusia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed in Unit 1001 on 9th floor - 4 adults. This 2 bedroom, 2 bath with kitchenette very comfortable for the 4 of us. Though had oceanview disappointed that had no balconey. Only two units on this floor had them. For the most part unit was clean and most of it updated but not all which didnt bother us. Staff were friendly and helpful This is such a great location but they need to pay more attention to the common areas that are completely in need of re-doing. This does not give an impression of what this resort could be. The lobby has tile floors as you enter but the rest is a dirty, worn, carpet and furniture that looks second hand! FIRST impression is important , dont they know that?? Also, halls on floors and near roof top pool in same condition. Pool table's felt looked like hundreds of moths got at it. Back to unit- kitchen area small but workable. Bathrooms clean and update. Beds and bedding clean. TV in living room, and both bedrooms. Used the indoor pool on roof which is small and very clean and has jets you can turn on, also hot tub and very small outdoor lounging area but wasnt busy so we usually had place to ourselves except on Saturday when lots of weekend warriors arrive. Location on boardwalk with public beach was great. Short walking distance in either direction to casinos. Only a few restaurants on boardwalk that we used as most didnt look very clean and food standing around already cooked..... Massage parlor hawkers annoying. Irish Pub, Bill's Deli, Johnny Rockets very good, clean and prices great. Taj Mahal casino had the best payoffs and more often wins than others. Drinks for price of tip while gambling in all. Smoking in casinos in small designated areas. Parking under La Rennaisannce not as bad as read in reviews and we choose to park on thrid level so had to take auto elevator. Only left two times all week to go other places. Coin laundramat on third floor that we used before packing for home. $1.75 wash & $1.75 Dry, sells little boxes of soap. Couple gripes would be access to WiFi which could only be accessed in lobby. With todays trends they are missing mark of having internet access in units. Also, only a few fitness machines and they werent the greatest- they should just ditch them and the pool table and make the room into something more desireable. In oonclusion we had a wonderful time in Atlantic city .Recommend day trip to Cape May and Wildwood. This was a timeshare exchange for us and were satisfied overall with the resort and especially its location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanetadrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

La Ren is situated between the more run-down casino area and the opulent casino area of the boardwalk. The hotel had great access to the boards as well. The staff was very nice, professional, and accommodating. While this hotel didn't have the amenities and spaces of a full-service hotel, it provided ample room space and a nice ocean-view/balcony for the price. The rooms were clean and had digital cable. While there were ash trays in the room, it did not smell of smoke. The pool was nicely situated at the top floor however it was very small. Lastly, parking was a little tight but okay to manage if you arrive early. You may have to use an car elevator to access the other floors of the parking garage. Free internet was available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjmaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

i wouldn't go saying this was the greatest place i ever stayed at but the rates were great, and the hotel is in the middle of all the casinos. it wasn't the nicest place i have stayed in AC but i would stay there again because of the price! the location wasn't in a great spot that i would walk there by myself late at night but it was perfect for a weekend getaway

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikar1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
0.6 mi away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#17 of 49 in Atlantic City
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Renaissance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Renaissance Suites

Address: 190 S Kentucky Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7018
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range: $189 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Renaissance Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Renaissance Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Hotel Atlantic City
Renaissance Atlantic City
Atlantic City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing