We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in AC”
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Nugget
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Montville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best in AC”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Since their complete remodel the service and accommodations are impeccable. We stayed two days this week and were overwhelmed to see what a difference from the old place.
Kudos to exec host Alan Korman and his staff.
The Chart House restaurant was a class experience and our waiter Tommy made the evening even more pleasant. We will be a regular going forward.

Room Tip: Small suites are worth the upgrade. Standard rooms are nice but smaller bathrooms. Still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    432
    205
    76
    106
See reviews for
173
608
70
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel looks great. The pool area is awesome. Playing the slots, nothing much was hitting. Seems like the slots were tighened up to not have much payouts. Most people that we talked with were complaining not enough winnings.
Stay away from slots and enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here and loved it. Only bad thing was the hotel room walls are paper thin.

I wish we had a room next to another wall or far enough that it was away from another adjoining room. Not only did we hear everything going on outside (which did not bother us much) but we heard the conversations from the people in the next room. Otherwise the hotel is clean and updated from what we saw in our room.

Starbucks really needs to stay open a little later as well as the pool. With competition across the street, Harrah's and Borgota they should keep the pool open late. Other than that, I'm half and half for returning again. Maybe if there's a good deal but until then I wasn't completely won over....

I would love to try and give them another shot, but only if it was free....I might even have to think about it...that's how I feel about this hotel, not luxury at all.

Just beware of your room and the customer service you receive.

Room Tip: Get a room awayyyyy from everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MiissC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I didn’t actually stay at the Golden Nugget but attended a private event at the H2O Pool Bar & Grill and I have to say that place was something else. The pool was magnificent and I liked the shallow pool where one can put their lounge chair in and relax. The bar was so close that it is easy to get a drink. The whole think overlooked the harbor which was a wonderful view; especially when the sun set. They say that they renovated the whole place costing about $150 million. It shows. Everything looked new and sleek. The employees were nice and attentive and if I were to stay overnight in Atlantic City, the Golden Nugget would be the place I’d go.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here with a few friends and we had an amazing time the rooms and the services were mind blowing, the rooms had nice spaces as well as a good view we really enjoyed our stay really much. we did enjoy the Casino and drink after a day out in town, we did find it easy to get around so we did have trouble with that at all,Michael Patrick's Brasserie was a nice place to eat we did have some amazing dishes. H2O Pool & Bar Grill was one spot not to be missed we did spend most of our day times just relaxing out, please do not miss that out, and the last of all was the spa, as after the travelling we did trust you will not want to miss this place out the spa was out of the world, overall the hotel and all the things you need is under one roof so you cant go wrong at all, by far one of my best stays in New Jersey. can't wait to come back but for a longer time,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunaalpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family and I had been loyal patrons of the Golden Nugget Casino and Hotel resort in Atlantic City, NJ since the time it opened as Trump Castle in 1985. Ever since Landry's assumed ownership in 2011, we have witnessed a steady decline in customer service and quality at this establishment. Most of the incidents have been relatively minor annoyances, but what occurred on June 16-17 was egregious enough to warrant this warning to other travelers, particularly those who are elderly and/or disabled.

In response to an offer for two complimentary nights at Golden Nugget, I called Casino Marketing on April 22, 2014 and booked a non-smoking, handicap accessible room to accommodate my mother who is disabled and was celebrating her 71st birthday on June 17th. I also reserved a scooter for my mother's use during our stay and the Golden Nugget representative assured me that one would be available for her in Valet Parking upon check-in. However, when we arrived on June 16th, there was no scooter reserved under her name. Fortunately, the valet attendant was able to locate an unreserved scooter for my mother's temporary use, but upon check-in , the front desk attendant had to scramble to prepare the paperwork, and it became quite clear that the scooter had not been properly reserved to begin with.

Upon check-in, we were assigned to Room 1502 which we were told was non-smoking and handicap accessible. However, when we arrived at the room, we discovered to our dismay that the only handicap accessible feature was the extra wide front door (the interior of the room was a regular, non-accessible room). We immediately contacted the front desk and after some scrambling, we were told that the only handicap accessible room available was 902, a smoking room. My mother suffers from a heart condition and other ailments and should not be exposed to cigarette smoke, but because we had made plans the next day to meet with relatives to celebrate her birthday, we reluctantly accepted Room 902.

After arriving at Room 902, we discovered that the entire room wreaked of cigarette smoke and that the TV remote control and hairdryer were missing. However, these problems paled in comparison to what would happen later that evening when I took a shower in the bathroom. Upon pushing back the shower curtain, the entire curtain rod fell and struck my back. I tried to replace the rod near the top of the ceiling, but discovered that it was cut far too short to fit securely in the opening at the top. I immediately contacted the front desk to inform them of the incident and approximately 20 minutes later, a very bored and seemingly uninterested Dominique Burrows from Security arrived at the room to take a report (although I have never been provided with a copy). Mr. Burrows then alerted the Maintenance Dept., and Jason arrived shortly thereafter. Jason confirmed that the curtain rod had been cut far too short to fit securely in the opening and stated that it actually should have been screwed into the wall. Jason took the faulty rod with him and after about 30 minutes, he returned with a new rod which he had cut to fit appropriately in the opening. It was nearly 4 am by the time the problem was completely resolved and as a result, my mother and I were late meeting with our relatives for her birthday celebration the following day. To make matters worse, housekeeping never arrived to clean our room that day and absolutely NO ONE (from Guest Services, Security or otherwise) contacted us to follow up about the incident.

IT IS BAD ENOUGH THAT A FAULTY CONDITION OF THIS NATURE WAS ALLOWED TO EXIST IN ANY GUEST ROOM ATGOLDEN NUGGET, BUT FOR THIS CONDITION TO HAVE EXISTED IN A HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE ROOM IS AN ABSOLUTE OUTRAGE! HAD THE CURTAIN ROD FALLEN ON MY DISABLED MOTHER, SHE COULD HAVE LOST HER BALANCE AND FALLEN, SUSTAINING SERIOUS INJURY!

Needless to say, I have alerted all of my friends and family NEVER to patronize Golden Nugget in Atlantic City ever again and now I am alerting the public. My letters to Tilman Fertitta, CEO of Landry's and Golden Nugget's Guest Relations Dept. in Atlantic City regarding this incident were completely ignored, making it quite clear that Golden Nugget has VERY LITTLE CONCERN for its elderly and/or disabled patrons. At a time when the Atlantic City resort industry is suffering so greatly, Golden Nugget truly cannot afford to lose any customers at all. If things do not improve very soon, Golden Nugget will undoubtedly follow in the unfortunate paths of Atlantic, Showboat and Revel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are disabled and/or over the age of 60!!!! They only care about the millenn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go for a over nite stay on a monday . They bumped us up a grade to a suite , which was Beautiful! Clean & Fresh! We were shocked on how the room was! We ate at The Michael s Restaurant , which I had the spinach salad!! Yummy all the way!! My Boyfriend had the rueben , was so big and fresh cut fries( real potato's) after dinner we played some slots & drank a few cold mich ultras . Went to the suite about 10 pm. The King size bed was like sleeping on a great Big Marshmallow!!! It was wonderful! We will be returning again in the future!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank baseballnuts64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,462 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Property: Golden Nugget
Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing