We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but far from the city”
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Nugget
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Bucharest
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but far from the city”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed two nights with my wife in this hotel. Average per night was 110 USD.
The hotel is glamorous and the rooms are very nice and clean. No complains at all.
There are a few restaurant options in the hotel, but we haven't tried any...we just dinned in the city.

Cons:
- internet costs 13 USD/day.
- the hotel is rather far from the city, 20-30 min walk, but on the bad side, everybody said that the area in between the is dangerous. Nothing happened to us on our way to the city though.
Still you can always take a Jitney bus: 2.25 USD/ride, which will take you to city center or back in. The bus runs 24 h, so it is preatty conveniant.

Would I return? Probably yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooms on the upper floors, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    428
    204
    76
    106
See reviews for
172
606
70
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

In 2 days my room card stopped working for 3 times. Every single time I had to take the checkin line to have it replaced!

Furthermore, at 3am, fire alarm went nuts and started screaming. I called the frontdesk and they sent security team. They started asking me if I was smoking and I told them I wasn't (and it was a SMOKING ROOM!!!!)

I was told to be more careful with the smoke the next time....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maurocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My one and only favorite hotel in Atlantic City! The rooms are tastefully decorated with all necessities you might want, including Hair dryer, mini-fridge, safe, toiletries, double head shower in a contemporary bathroom, nice towels, wall mounted flat screen TV, comfortable couch, etc. Best of all, it is very clean. Yes, the walls are thin. Just about the only negative. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Several dining choices. Some more expensive than others, but all well done with great atmosphere. There are good promotions on accommodations and dining on the Internet at the Golden Nugget website. The pool and jacuzzi area is amazing. The pool area is clean and they try hard to keep it that way. There are fire pits off to the side for cooler days and nights and no shortage of food and drink service to your lounge or cabana area. All this in a beautiful setting on the rooftop! Cannot say enough about our 2 night stay here. Granted, it isn't on the boardwalk, although not that far away in time or mileage, but it really is a world apart! Casino area is classy as well. It is surrounded by places to dine as well as listening to live music if you want to take a break from the action. Go and have a great time!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I couldn't have been more impressed! The room was definitely all modern and high end. Furnishings included a 42" flat screen TV, mini fridge, the customary room safe, a clock radio with an Ipod dock and a large L-shaped settee. The bath, though smallish was also stylish with new upscale fixtures and a unique semi-enclosed shower in which the best part was the dual shower heads. They call these "Boutique Hotels" now and Golden Nugget has made the best of the available space, The dining is also all Quality/Upscale including their flagship Vic & Anthony's and the newly redone Chart House.

I was on the 8th floor on the town side and thought the view was great. Outside my window overlooking the pool and marina were the Borgata & Water Club with the rest of the AC skyline in the distance. Some people complain that being on the AC bayside is a downer. Well if you drove here anyway and if you go to AC regularly, you should know your way around, what's the big deal? This was my own first stay Bayside, I couldn't pass up the "Mobile Exclusive" I found on Expedia. Pricewise I think the GN is a Steal even without the Special as far as price/quality.

GN proudly advertises they've earned the AAA Four Diamond Award. I give them both of my own Thumbs Up! Would I stay at GN again? You Bet!

Room Tip: Get the south view, there's not much to see on the other side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Room - We booked luxury room, but when we arrived they gave us a complimentary upgrade and we live in two bedroom suite! It was perfect! Big number with 2 bedrooms, stylish furniture, 4 bathrooms, very clean! No one bothered us while we were sleeping - good walls!

Pool - Beautiful swimming pool in the hotel, we spent there all day. You can eat and drink there.

Restaurants - good with tasty food.

Casino - playing holdem poker. But you can find many other games! :)

Big disadvantage - elevators - drive very fast (it's a plus), but because the hotel is high, they could stop at every floor, sometimes you have to wait quite a long time for them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khrapachevskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at The Golden Nugget for two night last weekend. Came home on Sunday and by Tuesday I had a red itchy rash. Went to the doctor and was told I have Scabies from bedbugs. I tried to resolve this with the hotel management and got the run around. First I spoke to hotel management who said I needed to speak to security who would do a risk assessment. They transferred me to security who never picked up the phone. I kept calling back and got nowhere. I called hotel management again and was told that they can't do anything about this it has to go through security. The hotel management went so far as to ask how did my doctor know it came from their hotel. Are you kidding me, it's where we stayed that's how !!!! DON"T STAY HERE UNLESS YOU ARE INTO BEDBUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a great high quality hotel and casino complex and I think compared to the other 4 star hotels in AC it is brilliant value.

The rooms are clean and modern. There is free WiFi in the casino and lobby, but not in the rooms (where a $12/day charge applies). Having said that we were staying on a low floor and were able to catch the free WiFi from our room so I guess it depends on your luck.

The casino hotel has a decent selection of restaurants which were good. We ate at the brasserie for breakfast and the prices are very reasonable. In the evening we hit the casino hotel’s “Haven Nightclub” which has no cover and is great fun! What a good night.

I had initially booked this hotel through Hotwire. As they have a 100% no-changes policy, I was unable to upgrade my room from One King to Two Doubles with them. However upon arriving at the hotel there was no problem whatsoever in upgrading the room for a small $22.80 surcharge for the two-doubles rate. Really good service.

The rooftop pool is really great place to hang out and detox during the day! Don’t worry, it is not a Jersey Shore crowd so if you do not have rippling muscles and a fake tan you won’t feel left out. It is all regular people.

My only complaint about this hotel is the location. It is on the Marina, which is about 2 miles away from the Boardwalk, Train Station and Outlets. Fortunately the hotel has such good amenities (i.e. casino, roof-pool, nightclub, food) that it doesn’t matter too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityLiving90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,730 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,441 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Property: Golden Nugget
Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing