We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Nugget
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
King George, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our first trip to AC. Decided to stay at the Golden Nugget after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. Upon check-in I told Tamira that it was our first trip and we were celebrating our 30th Anniversary. I booked a regular king room and she gave us a king room on the 23rd floor with a water view. The room was great and so were the views. The only complaint that we had was there was no vent in the bathroom so we had to leave the door open to shower so the steam could escape. Everyone was very friendly and we loved the food at the Chart House and the Grotto. We will be visiting this Hotel/Casino again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    418
    201
    76
    102
See reviews for
171
594
68
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

A little bit far from others casino's and from boardwalk but the resort is really nice, the room is well equiped and decorated.
You have to pay if you want wifi in your room but it's free into the lobby area.
The parking is paying as well.
Everything is clean, the staff is kind and you have plenty of restaurants inside the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was beautiful. The bed was most comfortable I have ever slept in in Atlantic City. The employees are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the seafood buffet. Our stay Golden Nugget was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

As non-smoker, i booked a non-smoking room, but what i got wasn't non-smoking, but a stinking room in the 24th floor. It smelled the whole night like when you pass the smoking areas at an airport, it was awful. I could have believed some other reviewers here at tripadvisor, but i thought they just might have been unlucky. Now i know they have been absolutely right about it and the Golden Nugget is just a bad (-ly managed) hotel.

Beside that two towels had dark grey areas and the same for one of the pillows and the bed sheet on the left side. It just wasn't clean as it should be (not only but especially) for a (so called) four star hotel.

Telling the issue to the hotel employees at the front desk wasn't a big pleasure either, the one lady was not interested and the other wispered, just when i turned my back to them, something in the other ladies ear and the just laughed - thank you guys, for nothing, it was not a pleasure doing business with you.

So no, i cannot advise you to use this hotel it is totally overrated, feels old and is dirty (stuff and air). If you feel like that and like that messed up feeling you are probably right here, if not, simply book another hotel.

BTW, parking was 5US$ even so Expedia said it should be included and internet wasn't free either (12.95US$), breakfast.... don't even ask....

Room Tip: 24th floor wasn't good, sorry, don't have a good tip. It was not worth the extra money for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our group's first stay at the Golden Nugget (we have events in Atlantic City often and typically stay at another casino resort)...what a great experience we had! The rooms are nicely renovated, the Chart House was amazing (not to mention great views!), and the service was beyond our expectations! We will definitely bring our group back here for our next event!

Room Tip: We used various types of rooms (mostly Kings & Suites) - all of them were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWheel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We held our annual conference at The Golden Nugget for the 4th year in a row. The entire hotel has recently been updated (since buying out Trump) and the level of service has improved vastly. We had over 200 people in attaendance and not one complaint was heard. The catering office staff of Maryellen and Paul were always available when I needed them, and the food was tasty and enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

There is absolutely no excuse for what occurred on Friday night into Saturday morning.

I had invited two friends to visit AC/ Golden Nugget with me to have some fun. First I was told we could have two double beds and a roll away. Not true. Then when I called to confirm the reservation I was told that all is good and yes, the pool and hot tubs are open late tonight. Complete and utter lie. The pool and hot tubs were closed due to painting / maintenance.

The front desk staff was courteous and very kind when we arrived - a plus.

Our room was fine except it was two doubles and not what I had originally requested and been told we could have. It worked out so not really an issue.

However after 2 am there was loud banging in an adjacent room. Then loud bickering between two people and what can be described as furniture being moved around.

Soon after this a knock on our door with a man saying "open the door now, security". Really? On which planet do you live? Who in their right mind would just open a door to someone at that hour?

My friends called the front desk and were told it would be handled still they did not open the door and I don't blame them one bit.

At 9 am after I was informed of this incident I called the front desk asking to speak with Director of Security. Not available. I told the operator what had occurred and was told these guards would receive some form of disciplinary action.

I'm not sure what if any disciplinary action occurred but GN needs to rectify this behavior immediately.

Very scary stuff that transpired that night. I was embarrassed because I invited my friends to the Golden Nugget as my guests.

Even worse than the embarrassment was the fear Golden Nugget instilled in my friends.

Very unprofessional.

For this incident they deserve only 1 star rating out of five but the front desk staff and Chart House staff, especially our server Gina, were wonderful.

Step it up Golden Nugget!

Room Tip: Be sure to call and confirm your room reservation and ask a few people about the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LinnyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,169 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#8 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Property: Golden Nugget
Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing