We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty & Quiet retreat”
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Nugget
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beauty & Quiet retreat”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just stayed for a Sunday night get a way retreat. We stayed in the most beautiful suite that
we ever traveled. The room was fabulous and had every amenity, the big screen TV was most
appreciated to what the Academy Awards and my husband and I agreed we had the best night's
sleep in quiet comfort. Kudos to Victoria Armstrong!!! The best ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a Quiet Room and you will get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 950happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    434
    206
    77
    106
See reviews for
176
610
70
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first time at the Golden Nugget in A.C. I purchase this trip from group on and we went from 2/12-2/14/ for valentine day and it was wonderful. The casino was great and the rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stay there for a conference every year and don't gamble. It has great bars and dining facilities.The Nugget is very clean and well maintained and the staff is very friendly. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Golden Nugget was formerly the Trump Marina. Friends had stayed at the Trump Marina and were amazed at all the updates at this completely renovated hotel/casino. Our rooms (2 couples) were beautiful with a king size bed, fridge, safe, large sofa, lg screen TV, good lighting, and a very modern bathroom with a vessel sink. The only problem is that the tub/shower glass "shower curtain" makes it awkward to get into and out without dripping water on the floor. We ate at Michael Patricks 3 times and were very happy with our meals although it sometimes took quite a while to get our food. We also ate at Grotto which was wonderful. Two of us had the lasagna which was fantastic - the best I think I've ever had. One friend had the Pollo Francese that he said was excellent. The spaghetti bolognese was also very good. And then there are the desserts....... We sampled the wonderful coconut cream pie.

This casino is not along the boardwalk where most of the Atlantic City casinos are. It isn't a place where you can easily walk from place to place. It's basically on a freeway with no sidewalks. However, Jitneys to other casinos are available right outside the door.

As part of our package, we also had tickets to the Steve Wyrick magic show which we also really enjoyed. All in all a great couple of days - even though we came home a little lighter in the wallet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Sept 2nd thru Sept 6th, 2012. The service was average and the room was nice but the actions of the casino host has ensured that we NEVER go back there...... When we do a Gold Nugget Hotel and Casino it will be in Vegas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephandkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checked in on a thursday night (4 hours after the "start of" check in) Only one front desk agent to check in a line of about 5 couples. The other agents were for their premier guests.
Waited about 15 minutes for check in, agent was unfriendly and too quick. She hardly explained anything and we felt like cattle being moved along the line at rapid speed. She told us there were no KING beds but had to put us in double-bed room. Mind you that a double bed is NOT a queen and therefor, my fiance and I had to basically sleep apart on Valentine's day.
Our room keys did not work the first time so we had to come back downstairs to get new ones. The agent who reissued our keys did not even apologize for the inconvenience, just looked as if we were disturbing her.
When we got to our non-smoking room, smelled of old smoke (maybe they coverted a smoking room to non smoking)
The beds themselves were made with fresh linen but the room and bathroom were overall dusty.
The bathroom is very small and I guess to save space, they use a sliding door for the bathroom which doesn't even "close" enough to give you real privacy if you even wanted it.
I thought that being a newly renovated hotel that maybe they got their act together.. obviously not and it will be the last time that I stay at this hotel. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rooms are nice and updated. Carpet had marks which grossed me out. Room smelled like smoke. A lot. We were in a non-smoking room. We were only there one night otherwise I would have called the front desk. Fun bar called Live with lots of cover bands. Overall ok experience! If I wanted to pay more for Harrah's or the Borgata I would have

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzm5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,663 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Property: Golden Nugget
Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing