We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Golden Nugget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Nugget
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Had booked a room at the hotel on a Thursday night and when we arrived at the hotel there were no rooms left. They offered to put us up at another hotel (with no amenities like spa, pool, room service, or casino) and still charge us the same rate. Very disappointed when talking to "management" and their lack of making the situation right. Also had to wait 30min in the lobby before anyone came to the front desk.

Horrible experience

Room Tip: book somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveler1113_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Golden Nugget
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Decided to take a break from the beautiful Revel to check out the new Golden Nugget. We parked in the garage and walked to the casino through a dingy hallway. The nice perk was the Starbucks at the bottom of the escalator. When we arrived on the casino level, it appeared that the carpeting had been redone and the colors and decor were different from Trump Marina. We found our way to the 24 karat players card sign up and then entered the casino floor. Immediately we noticed a strong cigarette smoke odor. It was disappointing to see old worn our slots in a brand new casino. The whole place was so dark and dingy. We played $5 3 Card Poker for a while and were enjoying it despite the smell. The smell however was really bothering my mother, and when I called the bar maids attention, she brushed us off and told us our maid would be with us shortly...she never came!
We finally decided we couldn't take the smell and it was hard to breathe. It was strange because we never saw anyone smoking which lead us to believe that it is ingrained in the carpet, walls and chairs.
We were so very disappointed. We were happy to leave knowing we were headed back to the Revel which is non-smoking, has lots of open spaces and the air is clean!
Sorry, Golden Nugget. I really wanted to like you, but you are hard on my nose and lungs :-(

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJReveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ok so my husband and I stayed for 8 nights we were there for a dance competition which was held right in the Golden Nugget. We arrived around ten and were told we could check in at noon instead of four which was great. So we checked out the resturants casino etc. At first glance the hotel looks really nice the updates and changes that were made were fabulous. Resturants and little shops seemed reasonably priced to the area. We checked in no issues and went up to our room. Closet door was broke no big deal bathroom was clean and room was nice, however headboard was dusty and looked like it had not been cleaned. Staff was friendly for the most part no major issues there. One of my students had given me a giftcard for Christmas to the Golden Nugget evertytime I gave it to someone they had no idea what to do with it or how to use it. We ran into several problems with this throughout the week. Once all settled in we headed up to the pool was excited for the major renovation and seriously not impressed. The pool area constantly smelled (and not like chlorine). Pool was cloudy and was told it was due to the excessive amount of chlorine used to kill germs...ok but there were huge clumps of hair all over the pool deck and in the pool as well as bugs and other things in the pools. The pool decks were constantly wet with people slipping and falling. They tried to clean it several times and only made it worse. The waitressess up there were not helpful and really seemed to not want to wait on the people up there. The walls are paper thin! We heard all the conversations of the people next to us and all of the drunk girls conversations through the walls. The ballrooms were beautiful and great meeting spaces. The room rates constantly change and no one really seems to have exact answers for you. My husband called to pay in full a few days before we left and payed a different amount then I was intially told. When we checked out there was a balance due because they didnt charge us for something they should have...when I looked at the bill it was aditional occupancy fees and toruism fees that added up to th 40 bucks after spending almost 2k on the room we were not very happy. Overall I was happy to come home and what I had expected from the website and the new renovations was not quite what was recieved.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmb1011Dda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Front Office Manager at Golden Nugget, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We would like to thank you for choosing the Golden Nugget for your recent stay in Atlantic City, and would like to discuss further the billing discrepancy you experienced upon check out. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at dwixler@gnacm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Came in to see what the renovation was like and you put all the lipstick you want on a pig.... but it's still a pig.

Jersey Shore on steroids.. Loud drunk kids and rail bandits.

If they don't change the people they are comping rooms to, the place will get a bad rep and no serious players will come in.

Sitting at a BJ table is like being in aFrat house with 500 drunk kids. Kid running in the hallways. 10 to a room.

Best to stick to the name casinos, they are safer and offer a better weekend experience for the gambler and those who want to have a good time with human beings.

Room Tip: Get a new room if you can. Watch the 12th floor as there is no security. The doors are always open
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveVegasBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a dance competition held at the Sheraton. We stayed at the Sheraton the past 2 years, but the Golden Nugget blows the Sheraton away. The nightly rate was half what the Sheraton charges, and the pool area is so relaxing. We had lunch at the pool and enjoyed it. We ate breakfast at the Brassiere one morning, the food was delicious, and again half of the cost of our breakfast at the Sheraton. The room had a beautiful view of the pool area, and it was so pretty lit up at night. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth46905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Front Office Manager at Golden Nugget, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Golden Nugget, the pool area is absolutely one of my favorite places on property too! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Absolutely terrible front desk employees and management... Unhelpful and rude. Room rates constantly change and they won't provide lowest rate available. At check in, it took over 2hours to have our bags brought up...we had to go find them in their storage area...at check out, we were told 40 minutes for a bellman to get our bags-it was almost 3 hours

Room Tip: Skip the golden nugget and go elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Front Office Manager at Golden Nugget, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We sincerely apologize for the delayed baggage delivery during your stay. As I am sure you are aware the Starbound Dance Competition was held here during your stay and our entire Hotel team did step in to assist with delivery. Most of the deliveries where in excess of 20+ pieces per room and needed multiple trips to accommodate the guests. If you would like to further discuss rate availability please contact me directly at dwixler@gnacm.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here at the tail end of a week at the NJ shore and it was fine. This was my second time at the golden nugget actually- the first time, I went to my room after check in, and walked into a room that was already taken by other people. I was a little freaked out, and luckily they weren't there! I got upgraded to a better room, but still a pretty creepy experience, especially as a single (female) traveler. It was during the upgrades, so I would like to think they can blame it on that. I stayed once again the first week of July because I got a good rate and was meeting some friends at the borgata. Hotel staff was friendly, and allowed early check-in, but I stayed away from the pool because there was some sort of teen dance competition going on and kids were running around everywhere. The room was nice, but, as other reviewers mentioned, the walls are PAPER THIN. I could hear everything. I went to bed at midnight, and was awaken at 3 am by people in the hall, who were not overly disruptive, just (drunk) chatting in the hallway on the way back to their rooms. Then at 4, and then again at 5. This is to be expected in AC, so you would think they'd spend a little money on soundproofing the rooms! So, nice hotel, cheap weekday rates, nice pool area, but I wouldn't go unless you don't mind swarms of kids, and you are a heavy sleeper! Also, the last guest's used bar of soap was left in my shower- ewww!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you want to sleep
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Front Office Manager at Golden Nugget, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for giving the visiting the Golden Nugget and coming back to see the completed transformation! We truly do want the best experience for every guest, and take any noise complaint very seriously. Please do not hesitate to contact the front desk or security directly if the situation should happen again. If you should need any assistance in the future please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at dwixler@gnacm.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
18,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,869 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,989 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget

Address: Huron & Brigantine Blvd, Atlantic City, NJ 08401 (Formerly Trump Marina Hotel and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range: $108 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Atlantic City, winner of the AAA Four Diamond award, is a premier resort destination located on the Frank S. Farley Marina and offers guests 727 beautifully remodeled rooms and suites. The entire property has just completed a $150 million renovation, taking on a fresh, modern look to include a high-energy casino featuring the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, and poker room; nightly entertainment, new bars and lounges, stylish retail offerings, as well as Landry’s signature world-class restaurants such as Chart House and Vic & Anthony’s Steakhouse; a luxury spa and salon; and H20 poolside lounge. New owners, Landry’s,Inc, have introduced first-class accommodations, exquisite dining options and fun-filled entertainment venues unlike anything else available in Atlantic City. The Golden Nugget has already established strong brand recognitionworldwide with locations in both Las Vegas and Laughlin, NV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Marina Hotel
Atlantic City Trump Marina
Trump Marina Casino Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing