We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very decent hotel”
Reviewed December 25, 2005

I have booked this hotel through Hotwire (i.e. only knowing the star rating before the booking) and was somewhat concerned afer reading the negative reviews here. However my stay turned out to be very satisfactory and comfortable. I didn't spend much time in the hotel and didn't have to use the service staff much, but check-in and check-out was quick and courteous. The room was nice and clean, the bathroom was absolutely fine and the bed was very comfortable. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone without second thoughts.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    504
    283
    128
    78
See reviews for
254
413
52
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2005

I guess I made the same mistake that a lot of travelers seem to make. I read the reviews for the Sheraton AC, and they were decidedly mixed to bad. But the price was right, and it was only one night...so how bad could it be, right?

I'll keep it brief...(1) our "non-smoking" room had a stale smoky odor. When we asked to change rooms, we were informed that there were no King, non-smoking rooms available. However, we were offered an ionizer that would remove the stench in a couple of hours...and it seemed to work. (2) Our room keys did not work in the elevator. This required yet another trip to the front desk so we could access our floor. (3) The A/C in our room did not work at all. Yes, it was November but it was warm and stuffy in our room, and we wanted to cool off...no such luck. (4) The bathroom was dirty. I've never actually seen dirt in a hotel room but there were brown smears of something on the back of the bathroom door (I should have taken pictures.) (5) The shower whined. Well, I guess it was more like a screech that could be heard throughout the room and probably in the room next door. (4) Lastly, our "Deluxe Club Level" room (yes, I paid extra for it) was adjacent to the elevator bank. At 4AM, as we were lying awake in our over-heated room, listening to the elevators go up and down, we seriously considered getting in our car and making the trek back to Phila...at least we knew we'd finally get some sleep!

Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2005

This hotel was a disappointment and certainly not up to Sheraton standards. The carpet in the room was wretched and does not appear been cleaned in years. The hotel allows dogs to stay in rooms with guests and it shows. My clean white socks were soiled with a nasty brown residue after walking across the room. The tub caulking was infested with mildew. I do have to say the beds are comfortable and the rooms are not bad overall, however I can not overlook the cleanliness issues. The hotel is right across the street from the train station / convention center, but noise is not a problem. Jitneys stop across the street and will take you anywhere in town for $1.75, or the four block walk to the Boardwalk through Outlet stores is safe and well lit.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2005

This hotel doesn't deserve any stars. Anyone who is writing good review for this hotel must be a paid employee, sponsor or a friend of the hotel. There must be mildew growing throughout the entire hotel. Beware! Mildew is extremely dangerous to your health. And all the flies flying around the rooms must be a sign that this place is seriously infested with germs.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank vloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2005

The Sheraton was just fine. There was some mold in our room, but it didn't smell bad. The bed was fantastic and the hotel was quiet - we slept very well.

The staff was friendly, but not overly excited to help.

The walk to the boardwalk was quick and I liked walking through the outlets on the way.

The Tun Tavern in the hotel was terrible. Don't waste your money!! Food was bland and not as described in the menu. For a brew pub, even the beer was bad.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2005

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend getaway. Upon arrival we found the staff very helpful. Lobby was nice and clean. We were on the 9th floor (non smoking), when we entered the room, it was very clean and nice. The sweet sleeper bed was very comfortable and we slept great every night. It is about a 4 block walk to the boardwalk, a nice walk to start your day. The outlets are right across the street from the hotel and all the shops are very nice.

There are taxis readily availble if you choose, and the Jitney bus service is located across the street. The jitney runs 24 hours a day at 1.50 per person.

We would stay at this hotel again. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Irish1572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 25, 2005

This is a really nice hotel, the only draw back was that everyone had their hand out for a tip and even get mad when you try to do something yourself. Other than that it was a wonderful hotel, I would stay here again, the hotel is with in "safe" walking distance from the boardwalk, because you walk through a busy shopping area and then your on the boardwalk. Very Very Nice Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,653 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.1 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#9 of 49 in Atlantic City
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel

Property: Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
Address: Two Convention Boulevard, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-4137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Atlantic City Hotel is near celebrated shopping, lively casinos, and the world-famous boardwalk. Adjacent to the Atlantic City Convention Center, our accommodation has 20 meeting/event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing