We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second visit to The Chelsea” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chelsea
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Atlantic City
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Second visit to The Chelsea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to the Chelsea and it seemed like I was on a budget vacation and the main problem is understaffing and inconsistent service. Check-in was a long wait, and one room was available when the second one wasn't. On Monday during a cloudy beach day there was food service on the beach, but the next day when the sun was shinning no beach service. Beach chairs were gone and they ran out of towels by noon. The elevator up/ down buttons didn't always work and the ice machines were chronically empty. Main restaurant was closed and only open on fri and sat. The nice gift shop is gone too so you have to leave the hotel if you want a bag of skittles. We liked the cafe, the decor, but the pool was very cold and the music was way too loud with adult music. Not good for the kids. Not returning!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not on the pool side ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahamidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    622
    449
    239
    271
See reviews for
289
1,050
52
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We got a living social coupon for this hotel and it game with 25.00 coupon for food. Really loved the decor, the white piano bar so retro. The rooms also except we could hear everything going on in the room next door... Also halls needed vacuuming and the lobby area needed dusting. Friendly staff and the breakfast was excellent, but over priced if you don't have a coupon. Would love to tell the owners to hire betting housekeeping and do something about the paper thin walls, because I really did like this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssher17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great experience as usual! The outside of The Chelsea looks a little scary but this modern boutique is anything but that! I would compare it to a affordable "W"! Added bonus...you don't have to deal with the smell of stale air and cigarettes on your walk to your room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at your hotel and we were very dissatifed because the attending front desk was very rude and mean.They were not friendly at all, and requested a pack and play for our toddler and she said No!! Also i notice that the hotel was vey run down.
Last time we stay There.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My family had a wonderful time! The room was very pretty and the view was great. The beds were the most comfortable I've had for a vacation since a Royal Caribean Cruise(and they are known for their beds!) Everyone on staff that we interacted with were friendly and helpful. Our stay before taxes was $160.00 and included a $30.00 breakfast voucher. Very affordable! The restraunt was very tasty. I read most of the previous post,and strongly disagree. I would gladly stay here again. The hotel is located close enough to the casinos for convience and entertainment, but still in a "quieter" part of the Boardwalk for family Beach fun. Over all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethebeach2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is definitely weaker than any of the bigger hotels in AC like Tropicana or Harrahs. For the money I paid, I wasn't really all that impressed. Valet parking is $15. The room was alright, but seriously lacked any good lighting. The AC felt like it was barely on. The decor was cute, but that's about it. If I'm going to spend a lot of money on a hotel room in AC it won't be in the Chelsea.

The club on the 5th floor was so not ok. I was there for a party and there was nobody there but us. We still had our own fun, but yeah I would never go there again unless it was for something.

The other hotels are so much better when it comes down to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catasauqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived @1pm and were told to enjoy the amenities but our room wasn't ready in the Luxe, not the Annex. . We valeted the car and used the Annex pool, the pool on level 5 was very cool., - the Annex pool is heated. Since we had registered early we could bypass the very long check-in lines at 4pm. To our great surprise the room we were assigned at that hour was on the PENTHOUSE level. The room was beautiful, the view spectacular, the bathroom pristine and the beds heavenly. Reviews we read were sometimes awful but we found everyone from check-in to valet to be kind, helpful and pleasant. The beach attendant will not only set up your chairs...he'll get you lunch and drinks.
The included breakfast at Terpletzky's was wonderful as well.
We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUTH b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13,334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
#8 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Property: The Chelsea
Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing