We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a four star...do not waste your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chelsea
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a four star...do not waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a terrible disappointment. Everything about this experience was a nightmare from start to finish. When I called to reserve, I was given the "best package they could offer": room with water view, $20 voucher for the restaurant, free passes to the spa and free valet parking. From the moment we pulled up to the place, things quickly went downhill. We waited twenty minutes for valet to park our cars. They were extremely rude and unapologetic. When we got to our "room with a water view" our jaws literally dropped. Popcorn ceilings, lumpy walls, wallpaper ripping off the corners and tops of the walls and the "water view" that they talked up consisted of a small window view of a bad neighborhood in Atlantic City with the dirty bay off in the distance, about three miles away. The large window faced a building. We felt like we were part of some bad prank. They did offer us a new room with a beach view which was much nicer (even in this room, the furniture was poorly spray painted and the nightstand was falling apart), but even that was a pain as we had to ride the elevator (only one of the three elevators worked and ran every ten minutes) to go get the new room keys, then wait to ride it back up (bags toted) to the new room.
No appointments were available at the "Spa" (the lady was completely rude at the spa desk), so they referred us to a nail salon in "walking distance" called "You and Mi". My friends and I walked two blocks through a TERRIBLE neighborhood to find that "You and Mi" was boarded up and long gone. After we got ready to go out and use our $20 voucher, we found that the club was not open because of a wedding (we intentionally stayed at the Chelsea so we could use the club to celebrate our friend's 40th-I told this to the person who reserved our room) and the restaurant was also closed.
The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the air conditioner barely worked and was extremely loud.
Next morning, we waited so long to get on the elevator with all of our bags (at least 30 minutes), that we ended up walking 12 flights down the creepy, dirty staircase. When I told the front desk about the elevator, they were unapologetic and told me to speak to "Gary" the manager. As I spoke to him about our entire experience, he made a rude face and said, sarcastically, "sorry". Then, as I walked away, he threw his hands up and made a nasty face at me, which my friend caught.
THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL SCAM!!!!!! I felt like we were on a bad SNL skit; the workers are RUDE and the place is falling apart. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazzymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
The Chelsea Hotel respectfully disputes this review – the reviewer has posted multiple negative reviews here on TA - which is a violation of TA guidelines.

Let's make TripAdvisor Honest together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    624
    453
    241
    273
See reviews for
291
1,056
52
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Chelsea is a great hotel for a weekend in AC. I was there for a bachelor party and the actual rooms are extremely comfortable and clean/well kept. The location is right on the boardwalk and it's just as you come in off 322/40 so you don't have to drive another 20 minutes once you get in through central AC to get to a place like Harras that's not really near anything else. Another thing I really liked about this place is that it's right by a ton of casinos so you can go gambling but it isn't one so you can be in your hotel, go out for dinner and not have to walk through a casino floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Andrew W,

Thank you the great review! We appreciate the high marks you gave us and the tips you provided for other TA readers are very helpful. We’d love to add you to our database for future specials, please message us your name through TA messenger and we’ll be sure to show you the love!

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I visited The Chelsea because I was attending a Board of Trustees meeting (at the hotel) for The Fuller Center for Housing, a non-profit housing ministry started by Millard and Linda Fuller, also the Founders of Habitat for Humanity. The Fuller Center also had a large delegation of volunteers in town to work on homes damaged by Hurricane Sandy. Most people in our group stayed at The Chelsea, which was chosen because it is a non-gaming hotel (no gambling on the premises). Our room was spacious and comfortable; the lobby was very pretty; the food served at our meeting was terrific; and we were just a few steps from the boardwalk, which is right along the beach. We enjoyed our stay at The Chelsea, and would definitely return there again. By the way, it was an EXCELLENT VALUE.

Room Tip: I stayed in the tower, which I think is the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear JackieG,

We couldn’t be happier to read your comments here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the FIVE STAR review! It was our sincere pleasure to host The Fuller Center for Housing and the Founders of Habitat for Humanity. We appreciate your kind words, but it is YOU and YOUR volunteers we wish to thank for working tirelessly to repair homes and restore the lives of perfect strangers here in Atlantic City. It was humbling to see how far many of the volunteers traveled, and at their own expense and time off from work. They returned to their guestrooms at night exhausted, ready for a quiet room and comfy bed to rest their head. As you know twenty thousand homes received water damage in Atlantic City from Super-storm Sandy, without the help of the Fuller Center for Housing and Habitat for Humanity, many of these people would continue to suffer.

We are truly inspired by your kindness and generosity, thank you, thank you, thank you all!

Team Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed here 2 times in the past year. It is a cute hotel with funky cool modern decor. In the summer, the rooftop pool is fabulous. This pool arrangement is definitely 4 star worthy.

On this last visit, the pool was closed for the winter but the salt water pool was open. The staff is friendly and helpful. They love recommending activities at other facilities and just generally making their guest happy.

I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToriK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear ToriK K,

Thank you for spending your time to review us here on TA. We appreciate the compliments and great tips for other TA readers. We’re pleased to announce our Fifth Floor Pool and poolside cabanas are open for the season. As always, we aim to send out guest’s home with a smile, we’re glad you noticed!

We hope to see you again real soon!
All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Purchased a groupon, was promised access to sauna and steam room to find out they were closed. Also promised vouchers for two free dinner entrees on a Sunday night, but restaurant was closed!! Everything we were promised didn't work out, not to mention It was my birthday. Rooms weren't great. Nice view that's about it. For the price, we could have stayed at borgata on a Sunday night for same price! Was a let down ;(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taliabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Taliabella,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We’re sorry to read of the challenges you experienced on your birthday, no less. Please send us a note through TA messenger; we’d like to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was perfect for the stag do I attended. It wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in but for what we needed it was perfect. In a good location next to Tropicana, but much much cheaper. Trop & Caesers were walkable and both had great food, casinos and nightlife!

If you wanted a better quality hotel for travelling with a partner I would advise avoiding this and looking elsewhere.

We ate dinner at Carmines in he Trop and the food was lovely. We paid a deal in which we got our drinks included, would advise doing that if possible as great value for money.

For those who may want to compare AC to Vegas, I wouldn't! Although they are both centred around nightlife and betting, Vegas is all compact and every hotel is lovely. I would say AC is a rougher area and has lower standard rooms and areas. But well worth the money and would visit if in the area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Lewis-in-London,

What a great screen name! Thank you for finding us and for taking the time to review us here on TA. It’s all about the location in Atlantic City, being steps from the famous Atlantic City Boardwalk and directly next door to the Tropicana, but smoke free – sets us apart. Lewis-in-London, we hope you will try us again when visiting Atlantic City, our Fifth Floor restaurant unveils a new concept very soon and our Fifth Floor Umbrella Bar/Pool is already open. We’re continually updating and improving our property, come back and see what we’ve been up to since April, we think you’ll be impressed!

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Chelsea Hotel in Atlantic City is a pretty decent hotel. It's very good and comfortable. Slightly away from the big hotels and casino's down the road. The Spa area is very good. The staff was nice and helpful and probably the Spa was the best part. The rooms were fine, clean and modern. The hotel itself has a young vibe with a chic twist but at the end of the hotel, it's still feels like an old hotel with a few nice touches to try to modernize it. We also stayed at a down time for the hotel/area as the clubs at the Chelsea were not open and the food restaurants option were minimal, as in just one. Other than that, if you're looking for a chill place that doesn't have a casino, then the Chelsea is a good hotel. I would go back but I would be more prepared for the evening there. Overall 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Brian K,

As a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor, we thank you for being our guest and for submitting tips for other readers. We’re pleased to read your comments about our helpful staff and that you found the rooms to be clean and modern. We think you “got us” on the vibe!

Today, our rooftop pool opened for the season, we hope to see you relaxing with a “Chelsea Mojito” at the Umbrella Bar real soon. The Oval Bar, Game Room, Living room and restaurant “the Chelsea” on the Fifth will all be open very soon. As for our beach operations, they begin this weekend, we’re excited!

BrianK, Please send us your last name through TA messenger so that we can show you some love on your next stay with us.

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.0 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#8 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Property: The Chelsea
Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing