We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stag do!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chelsea
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Atlantic City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stag do!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was perfect for the stag do I attended. It wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in but for what we needed it was perfect. In a good location next to Tropicana, but much much cheaper. Trop & Caesers were walkable and both had great food, casinos and nightlife!

If you wanted a better quality hotel for travelling with a partner I would advise avoiding this and looking elsewhere.

We ate dinner at Carmines in he Trop and the food was lovely. We paid a deal in which we got our drinks included, would advise doing that if possible as great value for money.

For those who may want to compare AC to Vegas, I wouldn't! Although they are both centred around nightlife and betting, Vegas is all compact and every hotel is lovely. I would say AC is a rougher area and has lower standard rooms and areas. But well worth the money and would visit if in the area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Lewis-in-London,

What a great screen name! Thank you for finding us and for taking the time to review us here on TA. It’s all about the location in Atlantic City, being steps from the famous Atlantic City Boardwalk and directly next door to the Tropicana, but smoke free – sets us apart. Lewis-in-London, we hope you will try us again when visiting Atlantic City, our Fifth Floor restaurant unveils a new concept very soon and our Fifth Floor Umbrella Bar/Pool is already open. We’re continually updating and improving our property, come back and see what we’ve been up to since April, we think you’ll be impressed!

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    622
    449
    239
    271
See reviews for
289
1,050
52
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Chelsea Hotel in Atlantic City is a pretty decent hotel. It's very good and comfortable. Slightly away from the big hotels and casino's down the road. The Spa area is very good. The staff was nice and helpful and probably the Spa was the best part. The rooms were fine, clean and modern. The hotel itself has a young vibe with a chic twist but at the end of the hotel, it's still feels like an old hotel with a few nice touches to try to modernize it. We also stayed at a down time for the hotel/area as the clubs at the Chelsea were not open and the food restaurants option were minimal, as in just one. Other than that, if you're looking for a chill place that doesn't have a casino, then the Chelsea is a good hotel. I would go back but I would be more prepared for the evening there. Overall 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Brian K,

As a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor, we thank you for being our guest and for submitting tips for other readers. We’re pleased to read your comments about our helpful staff and that you found the rooms to be clean and modern. We think you “got us” on the vibe!

Today, our rooftop pool opened for the season, we hope to see you relaxing with a “Chelsea Mojito” at the Umbrella Bar real soon. The Oval Bar, Game Room, Living room and restaurant “the Chelsea” on the Fifth will all be open very soon. As for our beach operations, they begin this weekend, we’re excited!

BrianK, Please send us your last name through TA messenger so that we can show you some love on your next stay with us.

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Chelsea is a "cool" hotel with an ultra mod or retro chic feel to it. I have been staying at The Chelsea for a few years now so my review cumulative. The rooms are cool and quite large and the beds comfortable. You seem to always be able to get a good deal through Groupon and/or Living Social and they always throw in a couple of extras when you book one of those packages. Obviously off season you will get the best rates and staying on a Saturday night in the summer time is pretty pricey. If you do go in the summertime, I will say they have very nice beach services and they will set up chairs and umbrellas and provide towels. They even offer food and beverage (non alchoholic) service while you are at the beach.

I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that the place is starting to show it's age a bit and could probably use a bit of a refresh, nothing drastic just a touch up. Also, I have noticed that deals on the Groupon etc don't seem to include quite as much as they used to offer (free valet parking, $30 gift certificate towards food at Teplitzskys, roller chair ride on the boardwalk etc.) is now down to just a decent room rate and a $15 dining credit and they mention the complimentary beach stuff (chairs, umbrellas, towels) but that stuff is included for any guest so it's not really an "extra".

So, while it isn't quite as glamorous as it was a few years ago it's still a cool place to stay in AC if you don't want to stay directly in a casino but still be close to the boardwalk, beach and nightlife.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear PJM27,

As a Senior Contributor here on TripAdvisor, we appreciate the tips and helpful comments for other readers. When your travels bring you back to Atlantic City, check us out and see what we’ve been up to old friend. We’ve got glamour covered in Atlantic City, just wait till you see our new concept for the Fifth floor…we think you’ll be impressed.

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The title of this review says it all. This hotel is billed as a 4-star, but probably doesn't even deserve 3 stars.

First I'll tell you what I DO like about The Chelsea:
The greatest asset to this hotel is its decor (which looks amazing in photos on their official site but is less impressive in person). I also like the location. It's right on the Boardwalk and close-ish to casinos and the beach.

Now what I did NOT like about The Chelsea:
Dusty rooms. VERY dusty rooms. The overwhelming pot smell that seeped into my room at midnight and guest services refused to do anything about it. The tiny ice bucket which held approximately 1.5 glasses' worth of ice. Showers which have no doors or curtains, only a fixed piece of glass to shield water. The overall feeling that the rooms haven't received a thorough cleaning in months. It felt stale.

I encountered 3 different service staff members at The Chelsea. Two were impolite and impersonal... not good. Didn't catch their names. The third was Marvella at the front desk who was VERY nice and went out of her way to be helpful. Marvella is a real asset to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Cathryn H,

Thank you for spending your time to review us here on TripAdvisor. It seems as though we left you with unresolved feelings and we missed a great opportunity to Wow you. We had you with our design and boardwalk location…

We’re not at all surprised to see Marvella’s name here on TripAdvisor, she’s one of our best; always has a smile and kind word to share. We concur, she certainly is an asset to our hotel!

Cathryn please message us through TA so that we can discuss your stay in more detail. We take criticism very constructively at the Chelsea; it is valued and allows us to improve. We are confident in our abilities to provide a very clean and dust-free guestroom.

We hope to hear from you real soon.
Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

AllieGirl8200
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago for an event, and had mixed feelings. While the decor of the lobby and our room were fun and interesting, everything in our room seemed worn out and aged. Scratched and dented doors, peeling wallpaper, and banged up furniture made everything feel a little dingy. However, the bathroom was quite nice and actually seemed clean, and the bed was comfortable. Overall it wasn't a terrible stay, but in my opinion, definitely overpriced. For just a little more I could have booked a room at one of the casinos and had a much nicer, more upscale experience. Considering the prices of the rooms here, I'd have expected more. I left feeling like I paid top dollar for a motel experience -- next time I'll go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieGirl8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Say it isn’t so Allie,
We couldn’t be sorrier to read your review. Please message us through TripAdvisor so that we can discuss your stay in more detail. Your feedback is important to us and helps us to get better.
Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked on Priceline and had a great stay at The Chelsea. The room was comfy, the staff was friendly and everything seemed clean and orderly. The water pressure in the showers was zero, so that was out only big complaint. Other reviewers mentioned the walls are thin, but we felt like they were normal, people are probably just partying louder and later than most places. Elevators were slow but the valet service had our car to us right at checkout in less than 5 minutes. The solarium looked great but costs extra ($15 per stay), which would have been nice to know ahead of time. The outdoor pool was open but didn't have towel or bar service. I know it was technically off season (until May 17th), but if it's warm enough to be in the pool, they should offer the services to go along with it. Overall, we enjoyed staying there and would stay there again, but not sure it has the amenities of a true 4-star and probably not worth the full amount they normally charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a detailed review here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and found the room clean, comfy and orderly. We’re so sorry Priceline didn’t inform you about our Solarium fee; we do our best to monitor other websites, and we make requests for them to update our details, however we are unable to guarantee their content.

For other TripAdvisor readers, our heated outdoor Oasis pool is open year-round, we do have pool towels available upon request; please stop by our front desk and we will happily assist you. Try bouncing between the Sea Spa’s heated indoor Jacuzzi and the Oasis pool during a light snowfall or crisp fall day. Guests tell us it’s exhilarating!

The Chelsea website has up-to-date hours of our restaurants, pools, spa, fitness room, beach, bars and club. Give us a look!

For personalized service, call us at 1.800.548.3030 - we're here to answer a simple question, book a spa service, make a dinner reservation, inquire about our poolside cabanas, umbrella bar and bottle service or to book our fabulous 900 sq ft Rock Star Suite with three flat screen TV’s, a fireplace, soaking tub, two full bathrooms, wet-bar and our only oceanfront balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean from twenty stories high. Check out our pictures here on TA, the views are memorizing.

We’re here when you’re ready to rock and we never tire of seeing our guests’ smile.

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Paid for a penthouse suite. The first room was terrible wallpaper hanging off walls.
Complains upgraded to ocean view.view was nice other than that nit even a coffee pot in the room. Restaurant closed nightclub closed. Couldn't even get a lime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cutieshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
The Chelsea Hotel respectfully disputes this review - the content is unfair, inaccurate and misleading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
#9 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Property: The Chelsea
Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing