We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not worth the money even with LivingSocial Deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chelsea
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
Springfield, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money even with LivingSocial Deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in the Penthouse Suite last week & there was nothing penthouse about it. Usually $349 a night it was supposedly a steal at $149 through LivingSocial. For that type of room you would think it'd be a given to have a microwave. Nope. The fridge was filled with mini bar items so you have no room for your own because it was like a wine fridge. The bathroom was tiny & just had a stand up shower which has no slider on it so water went all over the floor. When I think penthouse suite I think jetted tub. Not even a regular tub in this room. I understand it's supposed to have a retro look, but every piece of furniture was scuffed up. The door to our room had a gap in it, but did close & lock. I had to go down 1 floor to the ice machine because the one on that floor was behind a locked door even though the front desk told us you use your room key. Negative. This door had a regular key lock on it. When we checked in they overcharged the security hold on my card. No option to park your own car. When we inquired about the pool, we were told you had to pay to use the one inside & that 1 of the 2 outdoor pools was open. Who the hell swims in an outdoor pool in 30 degree weather? Even if I did it was filthy. I will stick to my comp rooms at Harrah's from now on. The standard room there is nicer than the "penthouse" at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CODell831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear CODell831,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear about your concerns. We do pride ourselves in being different than your average casino hotel. Chelsea Hotel amenities are listed in detail on our website, however, we are pleased to share a sampling here for other TA readers:

Our Sea Spa on the first floor offers the only saltwater pool in Atlantic City; yes it is outdoors in the protected courtyard with heated floors and a firepit. We enjoy seeing guests floating in the heated pool surrounded by a winter setting and steam rising off the water; they bounce between the Jacuzzi in the adjacent Solarium for a refreshing soak. Fun and Exhilarating is how they describe it! Our Sea Spa offers the only co-ed steam, sauna and Jacuzzi rooms in Atlantic City. Our spaces are rendered in natural materials such as heated stone benches and have bamboo flooring. Check us out on our website for more information about our 10 treatment rooms; a list of massages, facials, mani and pedi services.

Penthouse Suites are located on the top floor of the Chelsea Luxe tower and have expansive views of the city, bay or Atlantic Ocean. They feature a sunroom with floor to ceiling windows (over 20’ high), an adjoining bedroom, ultra comfortable king bed and our custom linens. Our suite bathrooms have white subway tile, black marble and are outfitted with Kohler nickel plated fixtures. Behind a thick wall of glass is a Rainhead shower roomy enough for two guests. Each suite is outfitted with two 42” flat screen TV’s, custom mini bar, stylish desk and complimentary wireless internet. Most suites have wetbars and fireplaces; however they must be requested in advance.

Indeed we do not offer microwaves or vacant mini-refrigerators as cooking odors in guestrooms would affect the ambiance for other guests.

We think of valet parking as a premium in Atlantic City; we are proud to offer this service for our guests.

Our location just step from the famous Atlantic City Boardwalk is so convenient to everything. CODell831, we are sorry our style was not to your liking. Maybe one day you will give us another try, we know we’re worth it!

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    605
    429
    225
    257
See reviews for
277
1,010
49
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed February 9, 2013. Went with my 12 year old son. Went to check in and requested 2 beds in the room. Was told it was a $30 upgrade. Stayed at many hotels and never was told 2 beds would be extra. Stayed in room 1703 upon arriving at the room, the door ws left completely open with the bathroom light on. Room was outdated, dirty, and had an odor. Bathroom shower was dirty and had no water pressure. Went to find the gameroom, but when the door opened the "gameroom" was a dark empty hallway. Valet parking is mandatory, with a $10 per night charge. If using Priceline be very careful with requesting a 4 star hotel. If in the area of Atlantic City, this hotel might come up. Definitely Not A Good Experience!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose A Different Hotel!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank john_1221818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear john_12211818,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read of your disappointment. Rooms with two beds are a premium at the Chelsea, we do charge extra for this room type, as do other hotels. Please be careful when booking on Priceline; room types are not guaranteed in advance of checkin. Many times 4 guests will show up for a room with only one king bed and we’re sold out of double queen rooms. It’s always best to book directly with the hotel reservations department so that you can have control over the number of beds required. As to your other concerns; this is certainly not our standard and all shortfalls have been addressed. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences which you and your son endured.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend had a voucher from living social for The Chelsea. I frequently visit AC and had never heard of this place! It was a really cute boutique hotel. It did not have a casino, but it is right near the Tropicana. Our room (Lux Tower Bay View) was really nice and clean. A nice touch was all of the food, drink, and other items available (for purchase) in the room. They even had a wine opener which could come in handy! We went to the restaurant/bar for a few drinks. The happy hour had good prices, but the drinks were nothing special. The staff from The Chelsea were all VERY nice. You definitely wouldn't get this attention at a bigger casino unless you're a high roller. Overall, I was impressed. My only problem was the website said the solarium was closed for maintenance. The newsletter the hotel staff gave us upon checking in also said it was closed. However, after inquiring, it wasn't closed. After checking it out, I would have really loved to go in the clover shaped hot tub. This day in age, their website should be updated!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank champagnebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear champagnebackpack,

What a great screen name! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted to hear that our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities. We appreciate the comments about our staff; they really are a nice bunch! We’d love it if you messaged us your last name thru TA so that we could show you some love on your next stay with us!

champagnebackpack, book a spa package by calling our central reservations department directly at 1.800.548.3030 – the clover shaped Jacuzzi awaits you!

Warmest regards,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the Chelsea for a cheerleading competition 2/1 to 2/3, our group stayed in the luxe side. It was fabulous; clean rooms, non smoking hotel. Bathrooms were especially nice, ample counter space for our girls makup and styling equip. We had great service, didn't see that you read here, which was good. Have to believe it was a difficult person to please as my experience was a great one. Saw lots of smiling patrons.
We left early each morning and valet was quick to return with our car. The bellman were knowledgable and even made a dinner reservation for us on Saturday evening.
Also, we booked with a travel agent.

Room Tip: Luxe part was very nice, our floor had a computer center, noticed our friends floor had ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asmed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed one night in the Lux Tower King Bed Bay View for 89.00 +tax. Front desk was friendly and the stay included a 1PM checkout at no charge. Nice perk!..Room was clean, bathroom was clean..defintely a 70's theme with 70's decor..maybe late 60's....shower a bit weird with only 1/2 glass shower door enclosure but I guess it works if you move forward in the shower. Bed was a bit soft for me but fine for the night. Wet bar was available with average cost for items..Halls to rooms were ok....Noise on floor was not an issue..Great location if you plan on going to Tropicana..cross one side street after passing through covered garage and you are in the Tropicana. Lobby was just ok..not much glitz but not what I was looking for or needed..fireplace in lobby sitting area was a nice touch. Teplitzky's is a watered down diner..works if you are not looking for anything special or fancy..worked for me for a quick breakfast the next morning. Pricing was a bit overstated in my opionion..Think it was $8.00 for two 8" pancakes..Food was ok..nothing to bananas over..acceptable would be an appropriate description. Overall, nice stay..would go back to Lux Tower without question..particularly at that price..FYI..Valet cost is $10.00..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FBWins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear FBWins14,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us and for the Five Stars!
We love reading how friendly our front desk staff was to you, they are a great bunch and enjoy interacting with guests. When occupancy permits, we are happy to oblige with a complimentary late checkout. Glad to read you were able to enjoy a couple more hours of rest.

FBWins14, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your first stay with us. Now, don’t be a stranger, we have very favorable rates mid-week and on Friday nights. Sign up for the “Inner Circle” on our website and we’ll send you our VIP specials! Lastly, please message us your name thru TA and we'll show you the love on your next visit with us.

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you want the posh/modern luxury style The Chelsea has to offer - go to the Tower. The solarium jacuzzi was nice, as were the saunas I used. Prices on room service and spa were very fair as well compared to others I've seen.

Only complaint: the "minibar" beverages took up all the fridge space, so I had to move them into an unused drawer in order to chill my own wine bottles without getting the two mixed up.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 19th rm 05 floor of the tower, was quiet. It had a view of the bay and the city belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear cmnikki,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the great tips for other TA viewers. Our spa is unique and offers the only co-ed solarium and saltwater pool in Atlantic City. You’re right-on with the fair pricing, compare us, we will not disappoint.

cmnikki, next time call us and we’ll deliver a bucket of ice to chill your wine, no worries, we are at your service.

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I loved this place. It’s comfortable, clean, staff was very friendly. Room service was quick and food was delicious. Could have used a bit more lighting for us social butterflies but I would come again.

Room Tip: queen double was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LATINQUEEN127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Happy belated Birthday LATINQUEEN127, love your screen name! Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TA and for celebrating your birthday with us. We love social butterflies, so next time you’re headed to the Chelsea, email us in advance, and we’ll turn up the lights just for you! Don’t forget to book your stay directly with the hotel, 1.800.548.3030

All the best,
The Chelsea Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,059 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#9 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Property: The Chelsea
Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#9 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing