We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK, but not 4 stars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chelsea
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Atlantic City
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was OK, but not 4 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just stayed at The Chelsea mid-Sept 2012. Got the room through Priceline and was worried after my bid was accepted and I found out it was this hotel. The ratings weren't that good online but we were satisfied with our experience. The check in line was long, only 1 person working the desk. The valet parking is a flat $15/day which you get charged for no matter what, so may as well use it. They gave us a tower Penthouse room with an ocean view which was great. The decor theme is retro Rat Pack and my husband was convinced it was just "old" but I'm sure it was purposeful. Everything was neat and clean and fairly well maintained. We only got to enjoy our ocean view one day because that evening there was a loud party next door in the Penthouse Suite which we could hear clearly through the adjoining doors. We called the front desk to see what could be done as it was 1:00 am and we wanted to sleep. They said they would send security up immediately but we didnt want to break up the bachelorette party so we offered to switch rooms. They were accommodating and moved us to the 6th floor to a much quieter area. The room was the same without the view. There isn't much to do in this hotel as they have no casino and only one restaurant with the same retro decor. The concierge wasn't much help with recommending a restaurant for dinner so we walked next door to the Tropicana and ate at the Ra Ri Irish Pub. Excellent food but noisy. We also ate at Bobby Flay Steak at The Borgata and that was excellent too. The maid service was average and the car was ready when we called down for it. A copy of the bill was waiting under our door the morning of checkout and we followed the instructions to just turn in our room keys to the valet on our way out. The only negative was the noisey A/C unit in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    624
    453
    241
    273
See reviews for
291
1,056
52
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

-LUXURIOUS BATHROOM DOES NOT INCLUDE BATHTUB, INSTEAD INCLUDES LOW PRESSURE RAIN SHOWER HEAD AND TOILET THAT SOUNDS LIKE AN AIRPLANES'

-there is a public jacuzzi in the spa but you need passes which cost $15!!! You would think it would be free since they don't offer bathtubs unless you are in the 1/4 penthouse rooms....this is just insane to me! They say the jacuzzi i open till 8 but everything shuts down around 6 or 7 and when i asked where the bathroom was, the technician or whatever he was, told me the spa's bathroom had already been closed and i would have to go the one in the restaurant down the hall....dripping wet in my bikini....seemed unaccommodating after just coughing up $30 for me and my boyfriend to basically sit in lukewarm bubbly water.

BOTTOM LINE, if you are trying to have a romantic get-a-way, just you and your partner, this IS NOT the place for you. This is for wedding parties ONLY,and that is pretty much all i saw.

Room Tip: stay in the Luxe Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Phila.,PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice Happy hour in the bar. Our new "go to" place to stay in AC. What a hidden gem. Great location. Shower is awesome. Friendly staff. Looking forward to our 3rd visit in Oct. and maybe another in Dec. We are from Phila. and the value makes it worth it to stay over for a night or 2 when we go to AC.

Room Tip: No bad rooms in the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJRERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at The Chelsea for a weekend in July 2012. We initially selected The Chelsea for the attractive package price -- room, breakfast and parking included -- but ended up feeling like it was a terrific choice overall. The hotel itself does not have a casino but because we are not big gamblers, it wasn't an issue. We were there for the sun, the sand, the spa and delicious dinners. The Chelsea delivered hands down on the sun and sand -- with two pools and ample beach chairs and umbrellas, there was always a sunny place to relax. Breakfast at the diner was tasty and inventive. I can't comment on dinner since we chose to eat ouside the hotel. The spa treatments were a bit inconsistent. My boyfriend and I both had deep tissue massages. He really enjoyed his and mine was simply ok...but still relaxing.

Our only caution is to be careful of your room location. Ours was near the rooftop pool whch turns into a nightclub on weekend evenings. That definitely did not make for a restful sleep. If we had known what we were in for, we might have tried to change our room location.

Room Tip: I can't comment on a specific location, but just ask to be away from the rooftop pool. In the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank islandgirl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed twice at the Chelsea and it was good, they were working in some renovations, and the line to check in is loooong, we always have to leave aerly so I don't know about check out, people were very friendly and concern specially when you are walking around with a huge stroller, I think the bathrooms can be cleaner, and they have to pay more attention in the bedrooms maintenance.

Room Tip: When you going to leave make sure you call in for someone to take your suitcases downstairs , they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nikitosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My spouse and I stayed at the Chelsea this month (September 2012). Our stay was exactly what the doctor ordered. Our room was fantastic, the views of the ocean were spectacular, the free beach service was more than convenient (chaise lounges, umbrellas, towels), and the management was extremely helpful, professional, and went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was wonderful and perfect. We can't say enough good things about the staff and management! The rooms are great! Note: Expect Kitsch Chic. This is the look! The furniture is NOT old and outdated - it is the theme and the style ~ and it is great and fun. The rooms and the hotel are very clean and well kept.
We go to AC for the Ocean. The Chelsea overlooks the Board walk, and the beach, and has very convenient access to the ocean. There is not a casino in the hotel (which is PERFECT for us), but there are casinos on either side of the hotel for those who go to gamble.
Definitely give them a try. And while you're there do yourself a favor and order TEPLITZKY'S french toast! The best you'll ever have! Either go to the restaurant/diner style establishment downstairs and sit inside, or sit outside at one of the tables by the salt water pool, or even better - have them deliver you a clothed table to your room and enjoy a terrific breakfast in private!

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room! Unlike many hotels, the windows do open (a safe amount) so you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank billy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a Luxe Tower King room for a couple of days in August and enjoyed our bay view out the side of the building. This hotel does not have a casino, but the Tropicana is right next door. It is located right by the Boardwalk, however, and our package included a couple of lounge chairs and an umbrella on the beach. Public transportation stops right in front of the hotel if you get tired of walking. The diner restaurant is OK, but there are a couple of family-priced restaurants nearby with more pricey options at the Tropicana. The only problems that we encountered were that one of the elevators did not seem to be working, which added to the time needed to get to the beach, and a relatively long wait to check in on a Monday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geisslerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.0 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#8 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Property: The Chelsea
Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing