We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Water Club by Borgata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Water Club by Borgata
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The Water Club is a welcome option to The Borgata. It is much quieter and a bit more upscale. We enjoyed the ability to use their indoor and outdoor pools, which are 21 and over. Children have to use the pool at The Borgata and that pool gets crowded. All of the amenities of The Borgata are available to guests at The Water Club.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nsl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    262
    111
    69
    64
See reviews for
100
503
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I like AC and have stay at all the hotels and casinos frequently. Stayed one night at the Borgata Water Club it was very clean, quite and comfortable. Check in was very fast and easy. The showers are great as well as all the pools at the water club. The Borgata casino is great they seem to do everything right. Drink service was right on with everyone being pleasant.(also they serve drinks in real glasses with class) There are plenty of places to eat both regular hours as well as late night. The Borgata buffet was very good also. Like I said the Borgata seems to do things right. Was a great stay and will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliemast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
513 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

1) The hotel is much less busy than the Borgata, less crowded and noisy (parking too!)
2) Vista rooms-Corner, 2 different views, bigger
3) VERY helpful and courteous staff
4) Fairly generous comping policies
5) Great spa, and the treatment prices INCLUDE the tip! Get a massage from Rachael
6) Access to outdoor pool, Water Club guests only
7) Inventive, not run of the mill room service menu
8) You REALLY feel pampered!

Room Tip: End of hall with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The room is of good size. Plenty of extra room, even in the double queen layout. Beds are GREAT, bathroom is impressive. Everything you could need, iron, robes, & a nice TV. Could use a few more outlets but hey, if that's my only gripe..... BTW the pools were nice, and the service EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wanted a weekend get-a-way with my wife, decided on the Water Club at the Borgata Casino. Very relaxing, Clean Rooms and great service. I would not stay at any hotel on the AC Boardwalk, now I found a place to go back to....

Room Tip: Any room would work, I am parcel to the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpetrillo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I travel a LOT and have seen my share of quirky properties, but The Water Club might be the strangest. It's almost as if it's run by management with no hospitality experience...or at least no knowledge about what people commonly expect from a luxury hotel. They've adopted several unusual policies that really take away from the guest experience...and, despite complaints, they're reluctant to change them.

For example, they don't allow you to call ahead to the valet for your car. You need to go downstairs, present your ticket and wait 20 minutes with a crowd of other impatient guests for your vehicle. At popular dinner times and checkout days this is a total mess. I spoke with a manager who was unapologetic and said this was the "policy." I asked if other people complain about this and she said "you're definitely not the first." I find it difficult to understand how, in a service business, management would rather ignore their customers' suggestions than adapt their "policies". Especially with regard to transportation. The last memory of your stay shouldn't be "get me the hell out of here." (note to management-there's plenty of room to line up cars that have been called for on the "dropoff" side of the garage. Or, you could simply hire more valets during your busiest times to alleviate this problem).

Another example. When we checked in, we were told that the key-making computer was down and to "check back in a while for our keys". Who's training these people? Would it be so hard to take my cell number so they could call when the problem was fixed? Or to send us to the bar for a complimentary drink after a four hour drive? Of course, unforeseen issues happen. But high-end properties are generally staffed by people who try to solve problems, rather than push them onto their guests. Of course, no one bothered to notify the long line of other guests waiting to check in, which made a bad situation worse.

One more? Housekeeping. At 9:30 on Sunday morning (the day we checked out), we were disturbed by a knock on our door, asking if they could make up the room. Apparently this place doesn't wait for you to check out...or even check out time.

The facility itself is also...different.

To me, The Water Club looks more like an apartment building than a luxury hotel. The lobby is stark and unremarkable, devoid of any elements that are visually appealing or welcoming. There are, however, several bird-of-paradise flowers in glass vases on the wall if you think that counts.

There's a near-total lack of signage. The pool runs the width of the hotel and can be seen from everywhere, but there's only one way in...and no indications on how to get there. We tried three locked doors before someone finally told us we had to go all the way around to the left to find the entrance. (The manager said it was the "policy" of the hotel to not clutter the aesthetic with signage).

The rooms themselves are comfortable enough. The bathrooms are nicely appointed and the complimentary amenities are plentiful. It seems they've given up on the mini bar though, as ours was totally empty. Surprising they didn't pull them from the rooms.

I'm being hard on the The Water Club because it is not a $ 200/night property. It averages around twice that. In Atlantic City, of all places. If they're going to charge those rates, they need to be way more focused on providing a pleasant and hassle-free experience for their guests.

If you found my review helpful, please give it a vote. I like knowing my experiences can help others!

Room Tip: If you can pay less than $275/night, get a high floor, facing the ocean. If not, this place isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank aurorahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Waterclub is a new hotel block at the Borgata with decent rooms and front desk. Rooms facing the ocean have a nice view. The hotel is located a several miles from the shore and boardwalk, and there is no safe way to walk to anywhere from Borgata. Pedestrians must have been an unknown term to the planners of this area.. (There is taxi and the shuttle bus service) and the boardwalk in Atlantic City is worth a visit.
OK, so you cannot easily get anywhere from Borgata: But the hotel has a spacious Casino floor where you can gamble, drink and SMOKE your money away. If you want to eat, there is plenty of restaurants where you can PASSIVELY SMOKE and listen to casino machine NOISE. Not our definition of holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.1 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#6 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#7 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#5 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#4 of 53 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water Club by Borgata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Club by Borgata

Property: The Water Club by Borgata
Address: 1 Renaissance Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Water Club by Borgata 5*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Water Club by Borgata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Water Club By Borgata Hotel Atlantic City
Water Hotel Atlantic City
The Water Hotel By Borgata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing