We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chelsea Pub and Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“French owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The owner of this place is more than amazing !! She might one of the nicest people we have met in AC, we stayed there for a 2 weeks and she offered us a great price.
This is a pet friendly hotel so expect to see dogs around all the time, there is a 7/11 close by and a dunkin donuts, They also serve good Breakfast. There is also a patio to enjoy. Rooms are clean , beds are comfy, and bathrooms are big.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArabTowerHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    47
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
96
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chelsea Pub and Inn for two nights in March. I really loved it! If you want a generic chain hotel experience where every room looks the same, then this isn't for you. If you like unique and quirky old buildings, charmingly decorated main areas and each room clean and uniquely furnished, with crooked floors and twisty hallways, then you will love it here!

I really think this place is a gem. It's kind of hidden away, but the location is GREAT. It's right across the street from the Tropicana, and an easy walk to the boardwalk. There is also free onsite parking.

With your stay you get a delightful European type continental breakfast everyday- a variety of cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, pastries, bagels, yogurt, coffee, juices, etc. There was also a steam pan with scrambled eggs and sausage and bacon. The breakfast area was just as charming as the rest of the hotel- in a sunny room with beautiful live plants everywhere. Your plates and silverware are an eclectic collection of real dishes, etc -much nicer than using disposable!

One bonus with your stay is you get a coupon for a free drink at the attached pub. Which was pretty nice. Our bartender was cool and we met some fun folks. It bears mentioning that we didn't hear any noise from the pub in our room.

The only negative I can say is that the hot water was "touchy" in the shower, but not really a big deal for us.

With it's great location, free onsite parking, great rate and uniqueness, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azblueagave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Chelsea for one night on 2/22/13, a Friday night, in order to stay over after seeing a concert at the Boardwalk Hall (1/2 mile down the boardwalk). The hotel is across the street from the Tropicana and about 1 1/2 blocks from the boardwalk and beach. The B&B is an old, charming victorian home that sits over the Chelsea Pub. The pub is open 24/7. The room was small (think New York City small) but very clean, cozy and well furnished. The managers were all very nice and went out of their way to accommodate my friend and me. Check in and check out was easy and fast. There is on-site free parking. With the room, you get the parking, a free drink ticket for the pub and breakfast. On the weekends, breakfast includes eggs, sausage and bacon. The cost is reasonable, especially if you compare it to the casinos' prices.

The only downside was the pub crowd became loud under my room around 3:00AM. It was the smokers who were hanging out outside. The police came by and played their sirun and the crowd dispersed. When I asked the morning manager about that, she said it was unusual but next time I go (which I will) I can ask for a room "on the newer side".

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "newer side" for more quiet, if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank schlrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Chelsea Pub Inn for two nights last summer, we were celebrating his bday and we definitely made a good choice when we booked with them. We went in the peak of the Summer, so the price was affordable when compared to the big chain hotels around it. A short walk to the beach (1 block) and even shorter walk to the Tropicana (other side of the street) for shopping, dining, gambling. The building is old but it serves its purpose well, the french lady was really friendly and attentive. Great selection for breakfast (we had breakfast at the dock, so nice and relaxing) I loved it! Our room was on second floor, it was tidy clean with a comfortable bed (clean bathroom as well), the ac in the room was quite noisy but besides that this B&B really fulfilled my expectations. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnaWQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
897 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just spent a few days at the Chelsea Pub and Inn to take a break from life. Booking was easy over the phone and they accommodated our requests for room type. It is a pet friendly B&B and since we weren't taking our 2 dogs we asked for a room away from others with pets if possible. Other than seeing a couple of people bringing in their dogs we would never have known there were any there.
Drove down to Atlantic City from Toronto. The Chelsea was easy to find and it was much closer to the Boardwalk than it appeared on Google maps - 2 minute walk down 1 street. Easy checkin and the room was really great. Very comfortable bed, functional bathroom and an airconditioner that cooled the room and drowned out any street noise (never heard anything outside).
Breakfast was available from 9-11 each morning. Great selection, good food and a relaxing place to eat.
This is an old building that seems to have rooms coming off rooms coming off rooms. Great character and plenty of places, inside and out, to site and kick back. The Chelsea Pub is attached for convenience, also open 24hrs/day.
The B&B was locked up every night but guests have their own keys. The location is right across the street from The Tropicana.
This has just become our preferred destination in Atlantic City. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chickandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's a very old structure but was clean and well maintained. We arrived a little early so our room wasn't ready yet, but the innkeeper allowed us to leave our bags in the front office while we went out for lunch. Even though we returned half an hour after the official check in time, we still had to wait about fifteen minutes more. It actually didn't bother us that we had to wait just because the staff was so accommodating. The room itself (#4) was very cozy and very clean. The only quirk I noticed was that I think the bathroom shares a tank with one or more rooms so the water temperature fluctuated a lot while I showered. The breakfast was good and filling. It was nice that the breakfast room was very bright. We had a wonderful overall experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

It's a cozy and a romantic place to stay,it's so quirky.My husband and I stayed there during our honeymoon at the end of July. The Chelsea Pub & Inn was our favorite part of the trip. Customer service was great and made you feel at home. The beds are so comfortable! We absolutely loved the the decor also. The Pub is neat too,you get a complimentary drink card when you check in. I've seen people complaining about Dogs being allowed on here but we didn't hear any barking and the place was clean. It's really cool place to stay, I'm sure there's nothing like it.

Room Tip: Not giving away our favorite room! :) sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsieInformer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.9 mi away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#7 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea Pub and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea Pub and Inn

Property: The Chelsea Pub and Inn
Address: 8 S Morris Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chelsea Pub and Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea Pub and Inn is an eclectic Victorian located less than a block from the Atlantic City Boardwalk and across the street from the Tropicana Casino.For over 30 years, visitors to Atlantic City have been enjoying drinks and food in our 24 hour pub and grill and spending nights upstairs in our conveniently located Inn.The history of our location goes back much further than our 30 years here. The building was formerly Grossman's Kosher Hotel in the Atlantic City of old.We have kept the charm of our beautiful property- with its crooked stairs and floors, enhanced by recent renovations and themed rooms, which include all the modern comforts.Come and visit us for the night, weekend, or even just a cocktail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Chelsea Pub and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Pub Hotel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing