We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service I've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nueva Granada
Ranked #8 of 107 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best service I've ever had”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We extended our stay here because of how ell we were treated.
We stayed 5 nights altogether. The rooms are exceptionally clean and tidy and have cable tv and a bar fridge. There was one really hot day where we needed aircon which costs about $10us extra per day.
The breakfast is delicious - eggs, toast, coffee. The manager really cares and has a great memory - he greets you with your name and remembers how you like your breakfast cooked and similar things.
The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the beachfront which has really nice restaurants. Around the corner is an ATM and small shops, markets, laundry and tour office.
I can understand people saying that they felt unsafe. We saw people smoking crack down the road from the hotel on one occasion. However, there is a large police and army presence around the town and we walked back to the hotel quite late on occasions and were never harassed or approached. We were cautious and didn't carry valuables late at night. The hotel itself has 24 hour security.
When we factored in that breakfast is included and we have access to tv and aircon, this place offered much better value than hostels around Santa Marta.
The little things made the difference - keeping our valuables in the hotel safe when we went on a 5-day trek, moving our damp shoes into the sun so they dry, free drink on arrival, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    56
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
46
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We'd arranged in advance with Hotel Nueva Granada for a taxi to pick us up at the Santa Marta airport as we were getting in around 9:30pm. Our driver was there with a sign, and was friendly, informative and courteous. He told us that it is not safe to walk around Santa Marta in the evening after 7pm. Someone else told us 8pm. We felt fine walking around during the day, and taxis are plentiful.

Staff was very helpful at reception. Each guest receives one free drink from their refrigerated drink cooler in the lobby area during their stay. They have purified water available for free at all times in their lobby, which was great since it is hot in Santa Marta and the water is non-potable.

Lobby is very interesting, with all sorts of comfortable seating options, hammocks, windchimes, parakeets and a parrot, palm trees, and a book exchange. Also has WiFi. There is a bulletin board with information about local restaurants, guides, tours, etc. We never used the pool, which was quite small but clean and inviting. Breakfast cooked to order from the outside kitchen in the courtyard. We had some delicious mango juice one morning.

Staff generously agreed to store our baggage for a few hours after we checked out, and later helped us get a big enough taxi.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for a family -- very spacious with king bed, twin, and bunk bed. Two small side-by...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EandC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great place, friendly and from all the hotels we have seen in Santa Marta definitively the one with the best value. I especially liked the Slow Food restaurant that they recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Excellent hotel, very nice courtyard, great breakfast, pleasant service. Rooms were fine, with cold A/C, clean. Jacuzzi was murky, to hot to get into anyways. After dark the neighborhood becomes a crazy crack town. I have been in the "hood" in the USA and not felt so creeped out. The surrounding streets are filthy, and the only people out are prostitutes, pimps, crackheads. It looks like a scene from the Walking Dead. Try and stay closer to the church, past Carerra 19 I think.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel is decent but it is crawling with ants! While we were there, the owner threw a big party for his friends and hired an 8-piece band to play. Other guests were not invited to enjoy the music or compensated in any way for the overwhelming noise. I paid too much for the room to have such annoyances.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lam2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

i was there for around 2 or 3 weeks and it was a reallly good place where u can relax and enjoy of a small but qualify hotel in the down town of the city. People were really nice to us, i was with my family, and everybody make you feel like you are at home. I highly recomend this place

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Located only a few blocks from the esplanade the Nueva Granada is a great option in Santa Marta – Indeed if you are looking for a place that is affordable, clean, tidy and has good facilities this place is an overall winner. The manager Don Javier is a friendly and welcoming host who does his best to make his guests feel as if they are at home…A complimentary drink on arrival, library facilities, free Internet, a plunge pool in the garden courtyard and ample seating areas make this hotel/guest house a perennial favourite with travelers and tourists alike. Breakfast is included in the price and the rates are very competitive, even in high season. I´ve stayed in several places in the downtown area and this is easily the pick of them...Take care walking around at night though ;).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#46 of 67 in Santa Marta
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#39 of 67 in Santa Marta
70 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#31 of 67 in Santa Marta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
460 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#40 of 67 in Santa Marta
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 161 in Santa Marta
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nueva Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nueva Granada

Property: Hotel Nueva Granada
Address: Calle 12 No. 3-17 | Centro Historico y Cultural de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nueva Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nueva Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing