We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one!!! :)”
Review of La Villana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villana Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I´m lucky because I really enjoyed my visit in the beautiful city Santa Marta staying with an excellent attention and service in this Hostel THE VILLANA, better than being at home!! I really recommend this Hostel, it has a very nice location and perfect accomodation and facilities. I´ll back and stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is everything you could wish for. Dorms are spacious super-clean and each bed has a light and sockets. The common area is a small version of a five-star resort with pool and palms and everything. There is also a TV corner for lazy nights.

Staff is great, from the reception all the way to the cleaning and kitchen staff.

We felt so much at home that we kept coming back for about two weeks and made it pur base for exploring the coast. We sure hope to find more hostels like this one.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank thorbenkrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I'm 23 and I've had the best time at this hostel, the staff were incredible, the kitchen is clean, the rooms all had air con, and it's in perfect location. it's the best of both worlds and they are so laid back with most things. we've had the best parties here along side the most chills of evenings, and for boys... they have FIFA! & netflix for all movies and series. I've travelled around the whole of South America and this by far one of the best hostels. everything you need and more!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303Lucylou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If there was a higher ranking on tripadvisor.com this place would get it. Relaxing, friendly, and very reasonably priced. Cleanest square-footage in Colombia! We planned to stay for one night and ended up booking three nights extra just to enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiniSalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been to a fair few hostels but this is by the far the best I've been too, basically a 5 star hostel. Beautifully designed property, amazing, friendly staff who make you feel at home, super efficient cleaners who treated me like family and excellent facilities. Every bed had it's own light and plug socket which I thought was genius and it had an overall great feel to it. Would recommend it to everybody who goes to Santa Marta and hope they expand into a chain.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemtrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here with my mum and boyfriend over easter. The hostel is new and they are doing a really good job of welcoming travellers and giving good friendly advice. The beds are very comfortable with new mattresses and the rooms have AC. You can buy breakfasts but also have access to use the kitchen. Great palce great location, they even have a cute cat!

Room Tip: The dorms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13Camilla0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very friendly staff, clean showers, relaxing lounge area and beautifully air-conditioned rooms with nice touches such as well-placed reading lights for each bed. Highly recommended, especially if you've been out camping/hiking for a few days!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#41 of 67 in Santa Marta
70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#34 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 186 in Santa Marta
781 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#5 of 186 in Santa Marta
178 reviews
5.1 mi away
Playa del Ritmo, Beach Hostel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villana Hostel

Address: Calle 17 # 3-70 | Centro histórico, Santa Marta 47001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 186 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: $10 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Villana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villana hostel is located in the heart of the historical center of Santa Marta, just walking distance from local sights and the beach; Our friendly staff will make you feel as if this is your home away from home, the beautiful 300 year old colonial style building has been fitted with many facilities that will ensure you a safe and comfortable stay. We also help you plan your adventures and fill you in on local info making sure you get the most out of your stay in the sunny Santa Marta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Villana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing