We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, LARGE room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Irotama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irotama Resort
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel, LARGE room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I arrived in Santa Marta on Feb.22, 2013, and the scene as the plane descended was simply stunning. Upon arrival into the small airport, I was greeted by the tour guide, Diva, who instantly called me by name and guided me to the bus which took me to the hotel.

I love that the hotel is not far from the airport, and even closer to the beach. Irotama Resort: The naturally green hotel, is just that. As you approach the hotel you will pass Irotama Del Sol, and Irotama Del Mar is only a short distance walking the pathway with the beach on the other side. Beautifully kept landscapes and grounds, helpful staff and beautifully appointed rooms, a variety of restaurants and entertainment, all within walking distance.

Walking into my room, and being greeted with such a large room, was just easy to fall into. Large shower with a clothing line, dressing area, large closets with room for a family or a diabolical diva with umpteen clothing choices, extra blankets, sheets, mattress pad, king size bed, kitchenette, stocked with pots, pans, glasses, cutlery, coffee maker, refrigerator, dining area, living area, and an enormous balcony which can accommodate at least 20 people comfortably for a get together, and a hammock. Not to mention an incredible view of the other resorts and beach.

Had a wonderful buffet breakfast at Coco's Bar, with a LOT of options; both American and Colombian options enough to satisfy every palette.

The one downside was: The fact that I had no hot water - BUT, with the island being so hot, the surprisingly cool/cold water was refreshing.

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at Irotama.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheTravels_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    205
    79
    36
    25
See reviews for
305
132
15
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This first rate hotel has maintained its tradition of beautiful properties, great customer service and good food. Easy relaxed leisurely atmosphere: take in the sun under the palms of the cocunot trees, beachside under an unbrella or poolside. Practice your golf swing at the putt putt area. Property nighttime activities are available or drop by one of the bars for you rnightime toddy. It is all for your pure enjoyment.

Room Tip: If traveling with family and children, you may want to consider requesting a two bedroom with a livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

this is a beautiful resort with everything you want in a Caribbean vacation! The entertainment is great! It gives you the local flavor, not like many other resorts where they keep copying Broadway style shows.

Room Tip: Book in advance and try to avoid the high season if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clambis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I attended a congress in Irotama on december 2007. I found this resort fine, not the best in the world indeed, but my wife and I passed a good time there. The food was fine, and we could choose more than 4 restaurants to eat. Rooms were nice and clean. Location next to the caribean sea is a plus. I do recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everything in perfect shape.
The rooms, food, drinks, price, are perfect if your expectations are about a natural place, not "your house in the Caribbean"
You'll have a nice room, simple but full. All you NEED, maybe not all you desire.
Want to eat something local, healthy, Italian, beef or from the caribbean? It is perfect.
Surroundings? Go to Tayrona's park. Something wild, not very familiar. Much like a extreme experience.
The beach is excellent.
The sea is very quiet.
The silence is a policy.
You will see iguanas, little eagles, and a lot of birds (watch your food, they love to approach silently)
Sport fields and water sports equipment are in very good conditions.
The people are kind. A lot.
My wife and I will probably return with our relatives and family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cisotoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

First of all let me tell you about this hotel the rooms are situated in different buildings throughout the gigantic area that belongs to the hotel property. You have regular rooms in tall building as well as little bungalows right on the beach. I was transfer from on building to an other one cause the wi-fi service wasn't working on the designated room I booked.
I was moved to building named XXI which it appears to me the newest of all; I got room 503 a really nice suite ocean view, nice and clean, cannot ask for more. Breakfast was included in my rate and you have two choices: 1 restaurant close to the building which serves a sort of hot breakfast or you can walk a bit more to a huge buffet breakfast. The main complaint I have is with the food itself: not that great at all! The day of my arrival I went to one of the restaurant for lunch and ordered a cheeseburger which was uneatable to be kind! Bottom line: if you get a nice room, it is a great place to spend a few days vacationing on the beach (although not the best I've seen) or simply hang out at the pool, but when it comes to eat, do yourself a favor and just call a cab at the reception and hit for the center (it is 12,000 Pesos approx. $ 7 one way) and you can choose from many nice little restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in building named XXI
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for a week long conference. The staff were helpful, even though they had hundreds of people to check in. It was diffucult to know what restaurants were included and not, but the food was excellent. The pool area is great and you can do some laps. The beach is nice, and I realise why there are water sprinkler paths on the beach (while walking to the water the sand has a black tinge and gets reallly, really hot). Be prepared to be extremely harrassed by the locals selling beads, massages etc on the beach. They are like annoying flies, and your patience will wear thin. I wish the hotel could do something about it. Other than that, its worth staying and relaxing. The conference facilities were good.

Room Tip: The Villas are nice, but probably the bungalows are more earthy. If you can, get a hut on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
6.9 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#52 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
#6 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
5.7 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irotama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irotama Resort

Property: Irotama Resort
Address: Km 14 Via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Irotama Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pozos Colorados area, 20 minutes from Santa Marta, Irotama captures all the magic and enchantment of a luxurious Caribbean hotel. This breathtaking resort is surrounded by nature and has tennis courts, a golf draving range and a kilometer long beach. Come discover it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irotama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irotama Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing