We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice-definitely worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irotama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Irotama Resort
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice-definitely worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Irotama XXI-excellent time. Accommodations very clean and lots of things to do. Beautiful pools- very warm ocean! Staff very friendly and helpful. If visiting Santa Marta- well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    202
    75
    35
    25
See reviews for
296
131
15
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband, two children, and I were there for 5 nights this past week! They describe this resort as 5 star but please remember you are not in the US, you are in Colombia. You cannot expect to get the service you would receive in the states. That aside, we really enjoyed our stay. They have soccer, volley ball, and ping pong on the beach, all you do is request the balls with the activities department. Breakfast is really good, a buffet, with an egg station( not omelet). They have aerobics on the beach every morning. Family game time every night at 9pm. Nanny service is available at your cost. Nice pool, as pictured. We stayed at the bungalow, which is the most economic stay. They have 3 building available for the more higher paying guest. Several restaurants on site. Pools on the hotels are also available for all. Free transportation to and from Santa Marta and El Rodadero which are the 2 nearest cities. There are many many more things to brag about but you can just try out yourself. Very very very family friendly. I didn't see many American guest mainly guests from other parts of Colombia. ( lots of women with plastic surgery)...just some extra information for you, je je!

Room Tip: I stayed at the most economic, the bungalow. Nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank URTRVLGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

there is a ton of activities and things to do, there are a lot of restaurants and bars which gives you a nice variety. the hotel is a little far from the actual city of santa marta which can be nice but also could be a pian if you want to get to know the city.
there is recreation for the kids and a lot of plants and animals.
the semi-private beach is definitely a plus

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsv_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The best time of the year to go is on the off season. Why? The resort is relaxed and the activities are not over crowed. There is a pool on the top of one of the larger buildings and there is a wider more open pool near the buffet area. This pool includes a slide, a childrens pool and a hot tub. There are dancing, bingo, a bonfire and several other activities to do if your not swimming. There are swings and play sets, a daycare center and activities like making cookies, playing soccer or building sand castle competitions. I did not try the internet but I believe that if you are located in the bungalow's like we were that you will find yourself happier with the service. The bungalows have good air conditioning and the maids were wonderful. Our daughter was allergic to the soap on the sheets, they replaced all the fabric, even the curtains to make the entire experience more enjoyable. The water warms up nicely and the hotel is nice enough to place a safe in each room so that a persons valuables are always safe. The hotel greeted us with cocktails and spent time debating with my husband the best way to arrange our weeks food services. We signed for each of our meals and used the buffet and when we wanted something like the meals from the USA we arranged for a specific dish to be made. If you have the time I recommend taking a boat to the homemade aquarium. It is nothing like that which is in Chicago, IL but it is a simple relaxed day. We saw a walrus and dolphins perform tricks and my 4 year old loved it. We also stopped at a local beach, you can talk with the boat driver to arrange this and we went snorkeling. This was a first for me and since I am afraid of putting my face in water I had a difficult time getting use to the idea but the locals were calm and let me go at my pace. They usually do this in groups, and remember these are local people who do this daily so they are not going to go too far out, or go too deep but they are capable of handling a group of 8 or so without difficulty. Overall, we will be going back because the people were friendly, the week was relaxed and although I sure wished I had brought snack foods, which I recommend, our family enjoyed ourselves. There are more american style hotel rooms but since I enjoy my husbands laid back nature and wanted to be away from the majority of the people we used the bungalows. I recommend them. Also, if you get a chance try to check out the lizard lake.. it has some iguana's. We even made a game to see how many we all could find.

Room Tip: If you like quiet go for the bungalow's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phaze86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent 4 days at the Irotama del Sol. The room was modern, the AC worked great, bed was comfortable, internet worked 5 minutes per day tops. Beach is 1 kilometer and beautiful, A few vendors approach ever hour but were not obtrusive. The staff was very friendly it helped that my wife is from Colombia. The food was OK plenty of fresh fruits, breads, juices, only 2 restaurants were open at a time limiting your choices. Overall a well kept up property with local birds and a few iguanas in a tropical setting with lots of vegetation. The problem came when we checked out and there were numerous charges for things we thought were included. After an hour or so we got things straightened out but still had to pay something. If you decide to stay here make SURE you know exactly what is covered in the all inclusive and what is not. The resort is located a distance from the city and you need to take transportation to get anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thundarr357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The bungalows have tiny rooms and tiny bathrooms, more like a two star place. The food is really good, especially the breakfast buffet. The vegetation is great and it is good to be close to the beach. However the place is really overpriced. Make sure you check your bill: you will be charged a steep price for toiletries, almost as much as a meal for a disposable toothbrush. The staff are very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

This very large beach resort is spectacularly located, right on the carribean. The all-inclusive package worked great with our kids--we were really well-fed and the food is fresh and spectacular. The service was also excellent. Plenty of activities on the beach and water, but not overly done. And the pool is beautiful, with a waterfall and waterslide (tastefully done, not gaudy). Completely relaxing trip. Our day basically was wake-breakfast-pool-nap-lunch-nap-ocean/beach-drinks-dinner-sleep. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicomaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.5 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#45 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
#6 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
1.3 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irotama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irotama Resort

Property: Irotama Resort
Address: Km 14 Via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Marta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Irotama Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pozos Colorados area, 20 minutes from Santa Marta, Irotama captures all the magic and enchantment of a luxurious Caribbean hotel. This breathtaking resort is surrounded by nature and has tennis courts, a golf draving range and a kilometer long beach. Come discover it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Irotama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irotama Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing