We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience El Rodadero
from $38.75
More Info
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
24
30
37
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
30
37
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach resort white sand beaches sellers grit souvenirs aquarium barranquilla pesos hundreds garbage cabana tents
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a close beach to Santa Marta and you can connect from Rodadero on a small lancha or speed boat for a few pesos to playa cristal. Tons of places to eat - crazy around the holidays. And, Arecife mall is right there so you can go to the food court, shop or grab a movie.

Thank jjalmodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Full of street vendors and dirty. Good point is the police pushing people to leave at 6pm. Beach is dirty and cold.

1  Thank 733mariellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Clint MacNichol
@clintmacnichol instagram

This review comes to you from a family in the process of relocating to Santa Marta (next door to Rodadero) after spending 4 years in China, not simply as tourists.

First impressions.

The beaches in Rodadero are nearby, clean and the water is slightly cool, making it a refreshing destination from the heat. I would not suggest visiting the beaches in the Central part of Santa Marta, they are quite dirty. Save the downtown area for walking, eating and shopping.

During our last visit to the beaches of Rodadero, we have been here 3 times in 3 days, the temperature reached 34 degrees Celsius. Fortunately, the heat is not the same as the head you would experience walking in a typical city. The ocean breezes help counter the heat waves and the humidity is NOT like a wet blanket on your skin.

Rodadero is not a vacation destination for Europeans or North Americans, as pale faces were very few and far apart. Many South Americans and Colombians make their way here. Do not be surprised if you arrive and mistakenly find you have landed here on a holiday, the beach will be full!! I should mention Colombia has lots of holidays.

TRAVELLERS HINT:
Should you find yourself here on a busy day, head south down the shore or for those directionally impaired, stand on the beach, face the water, turn left and start walking. The further South (left) you travel the less people. The beaches in front of the large condos structures are more or less reserved for tenants and for the occasions passerby. There are no vendors or cabana rentals available, a small price to pay for an open beach of sand for your self. The occasional food guy/girl will walk this far, but they do not stay for very long.

On the main strip of the beach is where you will find all the beach goers, vendors, cabanas and small food huts. If you like being in the middle of the action, this is where you want to be.

Some PRICES:
Water: 1000 pesos
Churo: 3000 pesos
Paddle boat: 35,000 pesos
Cabana: 25,000 peso (for the whole day)

The local beer "Poker" and "Club Colombia" and 1500-2000 pesos. Use that information at your discretion.

Rodadero is definitely a resort neighbourhood, but that can be good. Most folks here do not have a car, they are dropped off by bus or rent an apartment, thus making traffic pretty easy going. Yes, taxis are always whizzing by but other than that...everyone is walking.

There are certainly a good amount of vendors, but once they try their opening lines on you, they leave you alone. The only 'pushy' vendors seemed to the massage ladies walking the beach. They will grab a body part without hesitation, so be firm.

The atmosphere is not like the old Colombia, I did not feel I had to be constantly watching my 'stuff', even though we weren't stupid about leaving things unattended. A couple we met recounted a story of a beach thief being attached by a mob of beach goers because no one will put up with it anymore. That is a very good sign.

Clint and his family have travelled from Atlantic Canada -- the Arctic Circle ----China and now Colombia. Check out Clint's instagram page for unique photos of each destination.

1  Thank enjoysantamarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and extended one. It has been a great stay with friendly locals (although a bit salesy, as in most places around here) and great food. Prices were more than reasonable for the proximity and quality of the beach, but I recommend staying near the north end to avoid some of the stronger prevailing winds in the area that can kick up a lot of sand (both in beach and in the water) further south in the beach.

Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

After a long day of visiting the nearby sights, I visited Rodadero at sunset. It is so much more chaotic than the beaches of Santa Marta. Typically I don’t mind this atmosphere, but after a long day it wasn’t what I needed. It’s not very relaxing and people are constantly hassling you.

Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

The same 20-30 vendors walked by our spot 3-4 times all with the space of 2 hours. You can’t enjoy any people watching, reading, or much else bc you are fending off aggressive vendors the whole time.

Thank Zach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

All times traditional beach location, still some kind clean, but locals, (not all of them) do not know the basics of cleaning after their mess.

Lots of informal sellers of all kinds of products including foods, refreshments, cocktails, nearby and local tours, water entertainments, massages on the spot, and hair braiding.

If you ar not feeling uncomfortable with them, or if at some point you just ignore them, then you will enjoy your stay.

Be aware of local holidays since this place becomes a high season location, and prices increase substantially.

Not that expensive and do not forget to bargain every initial price offered.

Thank Browse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

Santa Marta in the northern coast of Colombia, is a lovely beach side city, with great white sand beaches ,zoo and beauty all at affordable prices. Also Tayrona park and Santa Marta Snow Mountain are very worthy to see.

Thank Tenterfield V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Personally, if I go to visit South America, I like to see their culture and architecture, Rodadero seems to be in the Miami of the poor, too many skyscrapers and too many tourists. Prices are higher readings and the area is not the safest. Like I wrote, there's better to see !!!

1  Thank kristroncoso90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018 via mobile

We spent a day on the beach during our stay in Santa Marta. We took a taxi from the centre to the beach for 10 mille pesos (which was a fixed price). We were a little anxious the place would be too crowded because many reviews were warming about that, but it wasn't the case. Sure there were some people and many vendors, but also enough space to relax on the sand or under a little tent (out of the hot sun). The dry sand was nice and white (and really hot on bare feet), but in the water it was more dark (so both stories in the reviews checked out). The drinks and food were affordable taking into account you're on an top location. You will have no trouble getting an ice-cold beer or nice juice (hugo naturales) from one of the vendors. We also recommend walking away from the beach for a moment to see the hidden souvenir market, some nice restaurants and ice salons. If you don't want the hassle of going to one of the beaches in the national park, this one is a great alternative.

1  Thank Eline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews