We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT IN ALL ASPECTS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT IN ALL ASPECTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

The rooms was very comfortable, with good air condition which is important at the coast in Colombia because the weather is so hot. The rooms very clean and nice--- right a few steps from the sand beach! The location is great very close from the Rodadero by taxi (about 5 minutes).. very easy access to taxis thru the front desk.

The main factor was the honesty of the staff at the hotel... My daughter left her bag with personal belongings and the next day when we discovered the bag was missing, we asked the staff and within second someone was at our door stating that they had it locked... we just needed to identify the bag (color, etc.)... everything was in there and we thanked him and the hotel and provided this information to the hotel for the staff member to be recognized.

the breakfast buffet was great every morning with different menus.

Thanks for allowing us to spend some quality and relaxing time without worries... I would recommend anyone the hotel... I didn't know this is part of the chain of the Intercontinental Hotels.

Myriam Flynn
Chicago, IL
USA

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyriamFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    164
    73
    9
    14
See reviews for
134
118
12
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

I recently stayed at the Santamar the week of October 13th and was very impressed the hotel. My husband and I stayed in a cabana that was literally five steps from the beach. Our room was very comfortable and had very large king bed, mini-bar, TV, blow-dryer, large shower, and a lockbox in the closet. The hotel also offered two hours of free internet each day per room. My husband loved the hammock that was hung outside our front porch and we actually fell asleep listening to the soft spa music that is played on the hotel grounds. Unlike another review, we did not have any issues with our air conditioning unit. When we came in we actually found that it worked too well as we froze when we walked in!! We quickly learned that we didn't need to keep it on full blast.

Our first afternoon at the hotel, I misplaced my bag on the grounds and discovered it missing the following day when I went searching for my sun block. I called security and a gentleman came to our room and let me know that he picked it up and was holding it for me. He brought my bag and asked me to revise the contents and logged a lengthy written report. After the event I spoke with a vendor on the beach and he said that nothing ever goes lost at the hotel and he pointed at several cameras that provide 24 hour surveillance of the property. I was really impressed by the professionalism of the security staff and happy that I was able to recover my 100 SPF expensive sun block (other folks in my party were burnt after a day in the sun)

The hotel was clean, the rooms had plenty of space, and we did not get harassed by vendors on the hotel beach. We also met a great vendor on the beach who sold us an amazing tour package: private boat, captain, tour guide for one day to a local beach and sandbar. This tour was our highlight of the trip. We were also able to get a great massage by Lorena who was another beach vendor. The hotel was a 5000 peso cab ride from Santa Marta where we would walk around at night after dinner. I didnt find the bar on site to be worth the high price. I would recommend running into town and buying cheap liquor to keep in your room or buying cheap beer from the beach vendor. We would gladly return to this hotel for another vacation in Santa Marta.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northsideirish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Second time I have stayed at this hotel. Had a 2 week vacation and loved every second. Staff is very helpful, even for one that does not speak Spanish. Beach is perfect with kioskos that protect from the sun and with little interruption from vendors. Recommend the small suites that are separate from the main hotel. Much better than anything we found in the Rodadero. Ask for Wilson as your waiter. He will take care of you in a professional manner. Manage your internet time and you will be okay. Buffet is okay, but rather repetitive. Could be better, but small complaint. Santa Marta has a way to go to be a world class destination, but it is moving in the right direction.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Estelar, E-Commerce Manager at Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience at the Estelarr Santamar Hotel. Your constructive feedback will help us to continually improve. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Beach with gray sand, very soft and clean. Do not walk barefoot at noon on the sand!! Too hot.
Room clean and spacious. AC kind of weak. They charge broadband internet per hour. I did not like this system.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelipeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelar09, E-Commerce Coordinator at Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2009
Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to make your next visit to Colombia the best stay with Hoteles Estelar. We want to invite you to use the services of another of our destinations. Please let us know about your experience in our Hotels it is very important to us in order to be better each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2008

This was booked by my girlfriend who got a package deal from bogota. We spent 3 nights at the hotel which was a really nice beach-side get-away. I agree with other reviewers, its not luxury (which i don't particularly like anyway) but good, clean, friendly, well sorted hotel close to the beach.

The accomodation was a small, upstairs cabin with air-con which was turned on by the maid and off when we came back from dinner (I wish we could have turned it permanantly off!). The room was clean and tidy and basic but nice, although late night music until 12pm could be heard from the main hotel area.

The food was good, breakfast very nice with plenty of fruit.

The hotel is quite far out of Santa Marta but you can get taxis everywhere and we did use it as a base to get to Taganga (good scuba diving and fish meals but not so clean) and Tayrona Park (make sure you choose the right entrance and not the one with the exhausting1.5 hour walk). We were going to go to Cartagena but it was too much of a trek and you had to leave aound 6am.

The hotel facilities were fine, not spectacular, we went jet-skiing on the last day and the hotel allowed us to shower and checkout at 3pm which was nice. The deal also included travel to and from the airport which was quite close.

  • Liked — Great alrounder especially if you are not a always 5* type of person
  • Disliked — Out of town, require taxis to get anywhere.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfordshireClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

I stayed at SantaMar for four days. It is a resort-like hotel: open, nice vegetation, an open restaurant and service at the beach. Two pools (not too big, but ok).
PROS:
- EXCELLENT Convention Center. Best in the area. All new, very good meeting facilities. Very nice.
- STAFF: very attentive. SERVICE very good.
- LOCATION: very near the airport and on the beach
- CLEANLINESS

NOT EXCELLENT, NOT TOO BAD:
- ROOMS: you can choose among standard rooms, wood cabins near the pool or suites in a 4 stories building. I picked up an Estelar Suite. It was very large, too rooms, two bathrooms, a living room, a terrace. Very clean. Very simple. NOT LUXURIOUS.
Comfortable.
- FOOD: little variety. Open restaurant is not very large. I guess it must get crowded at high season. There is another restaurant which was not working now ( low season) , which is not at open air. It seems too close, not very nice.
- FACILITIES, generally speaking, are quite simple. If you look for a luxury hotel, this is niot your choice. I guess you should try another country with better hotel infrastructure if you seek for luxury.
.- BEACHES: everybody says Santa Marta has white beaches ( compared to Cartagena, whose beaches are very dark). They are whiter than Cartagena, but you should not expect a white caribbean beach with blue water. Water is very nice, warm. Some beaches (far from the hotel, nearer to Santa Marta town are nicer, surrounded by mountains. However, again: also beach infrastructure (restaurants, chairs, etc) is very simple and sometimes poor.

  • Disliked — Not luxury.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sil2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

I spent one week late August in Santamar hotel, located in Santa Marta Colombia (in Colombia's Caribbean Coast). I choose that location because it was the only available in my time share company for that specific week. I'd never been in Santa
Marta before.
Nevertheless, it was a very good surprise. First of all, Colombia schools have a different calendar so most of kids are back to school late August so beaches are not that crowded.
Hotel is nice, clean and beach front. There are different options from "all inclusive" to "2 meals a day", etc. which are low cost and very good quality. There are three restaurants so you have several food options for the week. There is night entertainment for adults and kids in the hotel and also in Santa Marta town that you can arrange with the hotel staff. I felt Santa Marta area and particularly Santamar hotel very safe so you can lay down in front of the beach an relax. Beach is excellent, warm water, fine sand and fresh air.

Helpful?
26 Thank JMPARDAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#52 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
#6 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.2 mi away
GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul
GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul
#26 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Address: | Kilometro 8 Via a Barranquilla Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESTELAR SANTAMAR HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER A PLACE THAT HEIGHTENS EVERY EVENT Located in the area of Pozos Colorados, a few minutes from the city, and by one of the most spectacular beaches of Santa Marta, ESTELAR Santamar Hotel & Convention Center is the epicenter of the most important events in the city, thanks to its impressive Convention Center, and the place in which all spaces, environments and activities combine to make unforgettable every business or relaxing visit. A place where all your trips are great events. RNT #1262 Pozos Colorados Convention Center with 12 Meeting Rooms Independent from the hotel, constituted by 12 meeting salons with capacity from 20 to 1,200 people, exhibition space and logistics for registration and accreditation. All the needed technology, infrastructure and services for your events. Services/Amenities: 24-Hours Room Service / Business Center / Internet Room / Laundry Service / 3 pools / Tennis Court / Jacuzzi / Entertainment activities / Shuttle / Wireless Internet Access / Gift shop. Restaurants & Bars: Mar de Leva Restaurant / Tamajar Ba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Santamar Hotel And Convention Center
Estelar Santamar Hotel Santa Marta
Santamar Hotel
Estelar Santamar Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing