We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Hotel Santamar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Second time I have stayed at this hotel. Had a 2 week vacation and loved every second. Staff is very helpful, even for one that does not speak Spanish. Beach is perfect with kioskos that protect from the sun and with little interruption from vendors. Recommend the small suites that are separate from the main hotel. Much better than anything we found in the Rodadero. Ask for Wilson as your waiter. He will take care of you in a professional manner. Manage your internet time and you will be okay. Buffet is okay, but rather repetitive. Could be better, but small complaint. Santa Marta has a way to go to be a world class destination, but it is moving in the right direction.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Estelar, E-Commerce Manager at Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2010

We appreciate your time in sharing your experience at the Estelarr Santamar Hotel. Your constructive feedback will help us to continually improve. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

Beach with gray sand, very soft and clean. Do not walk barefoot at noon on the sand!! Too hot.
Room clean and spacious. AC kind of weak. They charge broadband internet per hour. I did not like this system.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelipeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelar09, E-Commerce Coordinator at Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2009

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to make your next visit to Colombia the best stay with Hoteles Estelar. We want to invite you to use the services of another of our destinations. Please let us know about your experience in our Hotels it is very important to us in order to be better each day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

This was booked by my girlfriend who got a package deal from bogota. We spent 3 nights at the hotel which was a really nice beach-side get-away. I agree with other reviewers, its not luxury (which i don't particularly like anyway) but good, clean, friendly, well sorted hotel close to the beach.

The accomodation was a small, upstairs cabin with air-con which was turned on by the maid and off when we came back from dinner (I wish we could have turned it permanantly off!). The room was clean and tidy and basic but nice, although late night music until 12pm could be heard from the main hotel area.

The food was good, breakfast very nice with plenty of fruit.

The hotel is quite far out of Santa Marta but you can get taxis everywhere and we did use it as a base to get to Taganga (good scuba diving and fish meals but not so clean) and Tayrona Park (make sure you choose the right entrance and not the one with the exhausting1.5 hour walk). We were going to go to Cartagena but it was too much of a trek and you had to leave aound 6am.

The hotel facilities were fine, not spectacular, we went jet-skiing on the last day and the hotel allowed us to shower and checkout at 3pm which was nice. The deal also included travel to and from the airport which was quite close.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BedfordshireClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I stayed at SantaMar for four days. It is a resort-like hotel: open, nice vegetation, an open restaurant and service at the beach. Two pools (not too big, but ok).
PROS:
- EXCELLENT Convention Center. Best in the area. All new, very good meeting facilities. Very nice.
- STAFF: very attentive. SERVICE very good.
- LOCATION: very near the airport and on the beach
- CLEANLINESS

NOT EXCELLENT, NOT TOO BAD:
- ROOMS: you can choose among standard rooms, wood cabins near the pool or suites in a 4 stories building. I picked up an Estelar Suite. It was very large, too rooms, two bathrooms, a living room, a terrace. Very clean. Very simple. NOT LUXURIOUS.
Comfortable.
- FOOD: little variety. Open restaurant is not very large. I guess it must get crowded at high season. There is another restaurant which was not working now ( low season) , which is not at open air. It seems too close, not very nice.
- FACILITIES, generally speaking, are quite simple. If you look for a luxury hotel, this is niot your choice. I guess you should try another country with better hotel infrastructure if you seek for luxury.
.- BEACHES: everybody says Santa Marta has white beaches ( compared to Cartagena, whose beaches are very dark). They are whiter than Cartagena, but you should not expect a white caribbean beach with blue water. Water is very nice, warm. Some beaches (far from the hotel, nearer to Santa Marta town are nicer, surrounded by mountains. However, again: also beach infrastructure (restaurants, chairs, etc) is very simple and sometimes poor.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sil2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2005

I spent one week late August in Santamar hotel, located in Santa Marta Colombia (in Colombia's Caribbean Coast). I choose that location because it was the only available in my time share company for that specific week. I'd never been in Santa
Marta before.
Nevertheless, it was a very good surprise. First of all, Colombia schools have a different calendar so most of kids are back to school late August so beaches are not that crowded.
Hotel is nice, clean and beach front. There are different options from "all inclusive" to "2 meals a day", etc. which are low cost and very good quality. There are three restaurants so you have several food options for the week. There is night entertainment for adults and kids in the hotel and also in Santa Marta town that you can arrange with the hotel staff. I felt Santa Marta area and particularly Santamar hotel very safe so you can lay down in front of the beach an relax. Beach is excellent, warm water, fine sand and fresh air.

26  Thank JMPARDAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers zijn cabañas op begane grond of eerste verdieping, op 2 minuten van het strand
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaap v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedir los bungalows familiares que están cerca de la playa.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank recorderperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
1.8 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,580 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
659 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#37 of 67 in Santa Marta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#32 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center

Address: | Kilometro 8 Via a Barranquilla Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESTELAR SANTAMAR HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER A PLACE THAT HEIGHTENS EVERY EVENT Located in the area of Pozos Colorados, a few minutes from the city, and by one of the most spectacular beaches of Santa Marta, ESTELAR Santamar Hotel & Convention Center is the epicenter of the most important events in the city, thanks to its impressive Convention Center, and the place in which all spaces, environments and activities combine to make unforgettable every business or relaxing visit. A place where all your trips are great events. RNT #1262 Pozos Colorados Convention Center with 12 Meeting Rooms Independent from the hotel, constituted by 12 meeting salons with capacity from 20 to 1,200 people, exhibition space and logistics for registration and accreditation. All the needed technology, infrastructure and services for your events. Services/Amenities: 24-Hours Room Service / Business Center / Internet Room / Laundry Service / 3 pools / Tennis Court / Jacuzzi / Entertainment activities / Shuttle / Wireless Internet Access / Gift shop. Restaurants & Bars: Mar de Leva Restaurant / Tamajar Ba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Santamar Hotel And Convention Center
Estelar Santamar Hotel Santa Marta
Santamar Hotel
Estelar Santamar Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing