We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice property but highly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was one of my favorite Hotels in Colombia. Estelar took over the property a few years ego and did some upgrades however not to the extent of charging over $200 per night. I will be looking else where next time just not worth that much money

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disappointed438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 407 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a convention. Air-conditioning is very good in the hotel. The rooms are clean. Breakfast is decent. If you travel on business, the only problem is that Wi-Fi is very slow, or it doesn't work at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colesterol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

5-minute cab ride to the airport and the popular Rodadero Shopping Center, 10-
minute cab ride (~$8) to town center. This beach resort is popular with business
travelers with its large convention center (average rate for our two nights was
$121, but only $98 on the weekend, $144 during the week. Immaculately clean 2-
bath suites with minibar, comfortable queen bed, and a hammock on the terrace
or balcony. The rooms were comfortably air conditioned, although the larger
bathroom could use a little more light at the sink (hard to shave). Staff is super
friendly and delivered the local paper every morning (usually only the manager
spoke English) and the 3 pools included a swim-up bar. The beach was nice, with
the usual sunglasses hawkers; the only downside for the beach was that it is
across the bay from the huge Drummond Company coal-loading docks and the
coal dust had darkened the otherwise white sand (I did not notice any of the coal
dust sticking to my feet, however).

Room Tip: Room advice: the higher number rooms (they run from the 100s to the 700s) are beside the pools and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newsmyrnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent one night here on 20 April 2013. Good value for money. We had a cabana upstairs with a balcony. The room was like a mini-suite with kitchenette/lounge/dining room and open plan bedroom with two double beds. All clean and fresh. The bathroom needs curtains though.

We lounged around the pool area, relaxing and just having fun. Bar service was prompt and poolside snack meal was tasty and well prepared. Lifeguard on duty all the time. Although we did not go onto the beach, it looked very nice. Plenty of shade, beach loungers, clean ocean. There were jet-ski's for rent for the more adventurous.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We will definately go stay there again in future when we visit Santa Marta.

Room Tip: Clean, good value for money. Beach hotel. Good location away for the busy beaches of Rodadero.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvrilandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was there on bussiness. They are updating the place but it looks in bad shape. My room had cracks on the ceiling and not working curtains.

The person at the front desk didn´t allow us to do late checkout and we have been there many times and it was not acknowledged. We won´t come back.

The beach is peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and enjoyed the chance to relax. The grounds are nice with lovely swimming pools. The hotel is located right on the beach which has plenty of lounges and shade. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was a good buffet breakfast with plenty of fruit and hot dishes. The hotel offers various activities such as aerobics, pilates and children's activities. The hotel is quite busy on the weekends but a lot quieter during the week. There is not much close by but one can take a taxi to Rodadero which is only 5 - 10 minutes away and is a very busy, lively place with plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved this hotel! It is perfect if you want to just relax. The pools are great, and one has a swim up bar! They have one for kids too, which is great if you are traveling with little ones. If we stayed there again, I would request one of the cabanas that has a hammock where you can see the beach and lay on the hammock. Just know that most of these rooms are also in the line of foot traffic. The beach isn't good for swimming since the water is polluted, if you want to go in clear beautiful waterI would recommend going to Playa Blanca or Tayrona. The breakfast is great here! They have a huge selection of fresh fruits, cheeses, breads, and even a waffle bar! Also, the view from breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
1.8 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#10 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,580 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
657 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#40 of 67 in Santa Marta
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#32 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center

Address: | Kilometro 8 Via a Barranquilla Pozos Colorados, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range: $66 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESTELAR SANTAMAR HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER A PLACE THAT HEIGHTENS EVERY EVENT Located in the area of Pozos Colorados, a few minutes from the city, and by one of the most spectacular beaches of Santa Marta, ESTELAR Santamar Hotel & Convention Center is the epicenter of the most important events in the city, thanks to its impressive Convention Center, and the place in which all spaces, environments and activities combine to make unforgettable every business or relaxing visit. A place where all your trips are great events. RNT #1262 Pozos Colorados Convention Center with 12 Meeting Rooms Independent from the hotel, constituted by 12 meeting salons with capacity from 20 to 1,200 people, exhibition space and logistics for registration and accreditation. All the needed technology, infrastructure and services for your events. Services/Amenities: 24-Hours Room Service / Business Center / Internet Room / Laundry Service / 3 pools / Tennis Court / Jacuzzi / Entertainment activities / Shuttle / Wireless Internet Access / Gift shop. Restaurants & Bars: Mar de Leva Restaurant / Tamajar Ba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Santamar Hotel And Convention Center
Estelar Santamar Hotel Santa Marta
Santamar Hotel
Estelar Santamar Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing