We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Colombia!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
“The best in Colombia!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Absolutely amazing hotel - out of this world. Staff are exceptionally friendly and so helpful(specially David and Carolina). Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are stunning and elegant. The food at the hotel is also stunning (not pricy at all). Delicious. I honestly think it's the best hotel experience I have encountered in colombia. I would not hesitate to return or recommend this hotel to friends and family. the staff speak English which helped me a lot because i dont speak spanish and they tip me to see around Santa marta!! i booked the hotel for one day just to check it out but the moment i walked in i changed my mind and i ended up staying 4 days! honestly if i had time i would stay even more, just stay inside and relax! i cannot think about anything to complain! Location,Staff,Hotel, just amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moeasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    81
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
201
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at Casa Carolina for 3 nights and really needed the break from travelling. It is a gorgeous boutique hotel with a wonderfully relaxed and luxurious feel. My room was extremely spacious and I loved the look of the shower in the bathroom. I slept well in the comfy bed and enjoyed having a pool right outside my door. The owners and staff are all helpful and friendly and will look into tours or provide recommendations for anything you need. The breakfast was very substantial and delicious. I ate at the restaurant once and the food was fresh and tasty. I used the spa services whilst staying there and thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing massage and facial. After travelling at a fast pace for some time, I felt renewed leaving Casa Carolina. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay there again, as it is an oasis in Santa Marta.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_hol_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a great place in Santa Marta! I would strongly recommend this boutique Hotel. Beautifully designed and luxurious. A great hotel and the best choice in Santa Marta. Good for relaxation and comfort and don't forget the delicious breakfast

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annekeruys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The first time you walk into this place you'll be shocked at how awesome it is. Beautifully designed, open, spacious and luxurious. The kind of hotel where you could see yourself spending you vacation without leaving the place and still having a great time. Very friendly staff and owner that serve delicious food and make great recommendations on things to do in the area.

Room Tip: Try the food it's just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtrekker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just returned from Colombia; we stayed at Casa Carolina for 6 nights in total. The hotel is beautiful and a wonderful place to be, nestled within the hustle and bustle of Santa Marta. The rooms are similar in standard to any top boutique hotel in Europe whilst the pool and roof terrace offer a truly exceptional place to experience the charms of this lovely old Colombian town. We found it a great place to base ourselves whilst taking in beach trips (Taganga; Playa Grande), drives into the mountains (Minca) and seeing the Colombian wildlife (Parque Tayrona). The staff are friendly and helpful whilst the owners, David and Vanessa, are extremely warm and welcoming. It all combines to create a truly unique place which is a must for anyone travelling along the Northern coast of Colombia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanS_123294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A friend and I decided to spontaneously got to Santa Marta for a relaxing weekend. we looked online for a place that would offer a nice environment, great attention and spa service. This is how we found Casa Carolina and we could not have made a better choice. The beautifully renovated colonial house is a jewel, the room was so comfortable that it mad getting up for breakfast difficult and the food, oh, the amazing food. We liked the place so much we actually didn't leave the hotel all weekend. Sorry Santa Marta, next time, we will pay you more attention.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theda34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I spent three weeks in Colombia in December and can honestly say that Casa Carolina was one of the highlights of the whole trip. The owners of the hotel, David and Vanessa, went out of their way to make my boyfriend's and my stay as special as possible. The attention to detail from the moment we arrived until we left, showed how much they cared about their hotel. The hotel itself is clean, stylish, romantic and, a total oasis in the hustle and bustle of Santa Marta. My only regret was that we didn't stay there longer! An absolute must if you're visiting the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
217 reviews
7.1 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#42 of 67 in Santa Marta
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina

Property: Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Address: Calle 12 # 3-40 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 470001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Carolina is a luxurious but relaxed Boutique Hotel located in a calm area of Santa Marta's beautiful historic centre. Facilities include swimming pool, jacuzzi, spa treatments, luxury rooms and suites, roof terraces, restaurant and bar, laundry, 24hr reception, kids equipment. All rooms have hot power shower, safe, fridge, International HDTV, telephone, Ipod docking station, wifi, use of tablet computers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing