We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do it! ”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great! My girlfriend and I stayed just one night in Santa Marta before we went on to Tairona national park. We usually spend less for hotels, but we were intrigued by the nice reviews here on trip advisor. We didn't regret it! The price is great for what they offer! Rooms are spacious, the breakfast was really good, the personal helped us organise our trip to the National Park and back to Cartagena and so on. We enjoyed a nice cocktail on the roof and relaxed in the spa area with whirlpool and Turkish sauna. I'd have loved to spend more than one night. Absolutely recommendable!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kolja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We too wish you could have spent more than one night with us. The terrace at night is a great place to take in a drink overlooking the cathedral lights. Next time, you might like to check out our jungle retreat near Tayrona Park, Villa Maria. Its a great addition to a trip to Santa Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    66
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
311
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We could not have been happier with our stay at Casa de Leda. It's a beautiful hotel and the two rooms we stayed in were both beautifully and tastefully decorated and super comfortable. Service was excellent...very friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning with a nice variety of menu choices. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spicegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks a lot for this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you find yourself in the area again so you can check out our jungle retreat Villa Maria. We are currently adding a new section to our current operations with 6 new huts (each their own beautiful room with all the luxury of our city hotels). You can check out our progress on Instagram @kalihotels. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from a few nights at Casa de Leda in Santa Marta. This charming boutique property should be your first choice in Santa Marta. The staff is wonderful, speaks English well and is full of local suggestions. The rooms themselves are designed very well mixing chic & eclectic pieces for a homey feeling. The roof terrace is an amazing spot to have an evening cocktail as the view of the cathedral is right there!

But, bring some ear plugs! Due to the cathedral's close location, the 5am church bells literally scared us out of bed each morning.

When returning to Santa Marta we wouldn't even consider staying at another property we really loved this one!

Room Tip: The hotel is really designed for couples as all of the bathrooms we saw had open showers so anyone c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldHealthTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We were happy to make your stay great. I am sorry about the cathedral bells. Usually its not a problem, but due to Holy Week, there were services early and late in the day. We hope to see you again, and that you remember to book direct with us for great discounts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This boutique hotel is magnificent. The staff is awesome, speaks English and willing to help or give advice if asked. The breakfast is delicious cooked to order on the terrace overlooking the city. The rooms are beautiful, exceptionally clean. The shower is amazing (stayed with our 2 kids so would have loved a door or curtain option.) Internet works throughout the hotel, small pool is refreshing. We really enjoyed our stay in Santa Marta, hotel recommended really great restaurants all in easy walking distance.
We had a car, this hotel does not have parking but it is easy to find a block or 2 away on the street. It is important to note there are a couple days a week cars cannot be parked on the street, there are a few lots closer to the beach and the other Kali hotel in town. Ask your car rental company about the restrictions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelersUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks so much for this review, as well as your review of Casa de Isabella. We were so happy to have you with us. I hope the rest of your trip in Colombia was great. Next time you visit, be sure to check out Villa Maria, our jungle retreat near Tayrona Park. We are currently more than doubling our rooms. You can see the progress on Instagram @kalihotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Gorgeous hotel in an amazing location in the center of Santa Marta. Staff are all excellent (especially Francisco); breakfast is delicious and served on the beautiful terrace; and the rooms are thoughtfully and comfortably decorated. Highly highly recommend that anyone coming to Santa Marta stay in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nplbrk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. Such a high recommendation helps us know we are doing at least a few things right with Casa de Leda. Francisco appreciates the mention and says it was a pleasure to serve you. Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portobelo, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Spent a weekend at Casa Leda back in February in the top suite , Sapan. The room is well decorated (very modern and chic), bed is big and comfy but what we really loved about our room was the shower. I literately didn't want to get out of it!!! The view from the terrace where the breakfast is served is really nice and amazingly peaceful. Breakfast options are well chosen and portions really big.
The service is amazing, everyone always had a smile on their face whenever they greeted us.
The receptionists gave us all the information we needed for restaurants, hikes in Tayrona, parking space for our rented car etc.
We had room service one night, food was fresh and service fast.
I really liked the marble lion watching over the pool at the lobby area, we even took a picture of him.
It is walking distance from all main tourist attractions and the beach and just 2 block away from the local commercial area.
Would really recommend it without a doubt, a really good value for its price.

Room Tip: really loved our top floor suite, but if you prefer not to climb the steps, you'd better go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks a lot for reviewing us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much to write this wonderful review. We are proud of our English-speaking receptionists, and make sure they are well-versed in all the local attractions so they can give first-hand recommendations. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
277 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is in the old section of Santa Marta, which is fun to wander around and explore. The location and exterior hide a gorgeous interior. Juan at the front desk spoke excellent English and was very helpful when we asked about nearby shopping and restaurants. We had two suites on the 3rd floor. They were beautifully decorated, spacious, luxurious, private, and quiet. The suites have a lovely view of the oldest church in Santa Marta. The hotel is very secure. They keep the front gates locked at all times, but there is always someone at the desk to let you in. Breakfast on the terrace is very pleasant. The waiter was very nice and remembered our preferences after the first day. The free wi-fi was fast and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. One important note: There is no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, request a first floor room. Our suites were well worth the hike up the steps. Once we arrived, our rooms made us feel like we were celebrities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are so happy that you had a fantastic stay. Its our goal for everyone to leave as content as your group. You made a very good choice with the suites, as their private balconies, jacuzzi showers, and vaulted ceilings make for a luxurious experience. Thanks a lot for reviewing us! We hope to see you again if you ever find yourselves in the area. Remember to book direct with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
213 reviews
22.7 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Address: Calle 18 No. 4-38 (Calle del Pozo) | El Centro Historico, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Leda Hotel & Spa)
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leda is the newest addition to Kali Hotels. Its luxurious and relaxing spa complements each room's unique and grand style. First owned by a wealthy family of Santa Marta's golden age, the original house where Casa de Leda sits dates back to the late 19th century. While most of that house no longer stands, we salvaged its original fluted columns, facade, and floor tiling. In this remodeling, as with Casa de Isabella, we consistently chose classical style, maintaining the building's original integrity whenever possible. With Casa de Leda, we proudly present a full service boutique hotel and spa. Spacious rooms under vaulted ceilings give way to open bathrooms with plenty of natural light. The open terrace, flanked by cascades of green vines and equipped with a cooling mist system, overlooks the Santa Marta Cathedral. Each room includes an aromatherapy kit, and some have in-room hot tubs. Flat screen TVs in every room have media players with music stations and video libraries. We also provide free WiFi, international calling, and breakfast cooked-to-order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing