We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working out the kinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Casa de Leda, the chic new little boutique hotel, is a fine place to stay in Santa Marta. The facility, with its blue outdoor lighting and open tile showers, is New York cool, and the breakfasts were quite good.

It's in a decent location, with access to the shopping district, restaurants, and little downtown squares, and it's a ten minute walk to the beach. If you're looking for a beach resort, this isn't it.

As it is only six months old, the owners are still working out some kinks. I never, for example, received a confirmation number (though I asked twice) and so I wasn't entirely confident that the room would be there for me. Likewise, sitting on the roof deck one evening, I asked three times for a bottle of mineral water before it arrived. And while the front desk is helpful there is not a dedicated concierge to help with travel plans.

All in all, though, a good stay.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank El_Pelicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you stayed with us during your time in Santa Marta. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. You should certainly have received a confirmation number with your reservation. Unfortunately, because you booked through a third-party website, the confirmation number gets sent to you from them, and you (as the client) have no line of communication directly to the hotel. By booking directly with the hotel, we can guarantee you our top quality of service and communication, as well as provide great discounts.

You should certainly not have to ask three times for a bottle of water, and I apologize profusely. A very untimely power outage occurred due to a broken transformer a few blocks away, and we had our whole team focused on getting the power back on as quickly as possible. Also, although our receptionists speak perfect English, Giovanni, who takes the drink orders and is one of our best employees, does not. I don't know exactly what happened here, but I am investigating the issue - as he may have not understood what you wanted in addition to the frenzy of trying to get power back on. Please excuse the slow service due to extenuating circumstances.

As a small hotel, I wish we had the resources to maintain a dedicated concierge, but with 10 rooms, it is not possible. We train our receptionists in all the skills necessary to help our guests see the Santa Marta area. They will gladly arrange transport, make restaurant reservations, or help with any information they can about the area.

Again, thanks for the review and suggestions. We do our best to run an amazing hotel and try to blow you away with quality, service, and value at every turn. When we do not, we take it very seriously and will use your comments to improve. We hope to see you again so we can make your stay unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 562 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

This beautifully designed hotel is an oasis in Santa Marta. Every detail has been carefully attended to. The Casa de Leda is like a jewel that has been highly polished until it gleams.

The small lobby is attractive and features uncommon plant presentations and a small indoor pool. The rooms are superbly decorated and feel like sanctuaries. So much so that we didn't want to leave! The beds are comfortable and there's a lot of storage available. Since the pool is within earshot of the ground floor, I suggest the hotel posts reasonable hours of use by the pool.

There is a lovely rooftop deck where we enjoyed a bottle of wine one evening as well as very good breakfasts in the morning. The hotel is competently managed and run by a kind and attentive staff.

Room Tip: You can hear noise from the pool area in rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank synthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

We really appreciate this review! We are so proud of our hotel, and wish that we could share it with more people. As we continue to operate, we hope the plants will cascade throughout the hotel's walls. The suggestion about the pool hours is great, thank you. We will make that happen. Remember to book directly with us (over the phone, email, or on our website) for great discounts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stylish and modern rooms, friendly staff and nice roof deck. Only missing a restaurant, but seems they are planning for it. Well recommended if you want to stay in the old center of Santa Marta. In same street a sister hotel, which is similarly nice.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dutchitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you so much for this review! We are very proud to offer luxury hotels in the old city of Santa Marta. We do also have our sister hotel, Casa de Isabella available, and since it is all part of the same hotel brand, anyone staying at either hotel is welcome to use the facilities and amenities at any of our other properties. Yes, we are missing a bonafide restaurant, but we do offer a Terrace Menu in the afternoons and evenings with some delicious choices. Don't forget to book directly with us for the best discounts and promotions. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Casa de Leda recently and we were pleasantly charmed at the whole experience, as we were with Santa Marta. It’s uncommon to find gems like this in Colombia and at every stage, we felt the presence of the competence by the excellent management team. The neighborhood is safe and teeming with activity, so you can walk home from dinner. I appreciated all the thought that went into the interior design as well as the thoughtful, friendly staff that went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. If you have the time, I urge you to also visit the Casa de Maria, it’s another Kali Hotel, and is a special, as well as a unique experience. Casa de Maria is a great way to ‘get away from it all’ and truly have a relaxing experience away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOprcline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review! We are so happy that we were able to provide and unforgettable experience for you and your wife. We especially appreciate your mention of another Kali hotel, Villa Maria. It certainly is a different style than our city hotels, and is the perfect addition to a Santa Marta vacation. Don't forget to book direct with us for the best discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

It was fantastic! The staff was helpful and I really enjoyed the warm heart of Yobanni - he made me this amazing fresh fruit tea when I returned from my evening out. Such a lovely stay. The pool, massage and stream room were fantastic! They seemed to go out of their way to make me feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DejraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for this review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Giovanni is amazing, and we're very lucky to have him. His fruit juices are amazing, as are his cocktails. We hope to see you again soon. Next time, be sure to book direct, so we can give you the best discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was our first trip to Santa Marta and we were so lucky to stay in this gem of a hotel. It is adorable and charming, but the attitude of the staff is what made it extra special. They are ALL wonderful, warm, and friendly, and it is their goal to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We had a group that took over half the hotel and at times we could be a bit overwhelming, but the staff handled us with smiles and diplomacy at all times. We were sad to leave and would definitely stay here next time we visit Santa Marta.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thanks so much for reviewing us! It was a pleasure to have you, and I am glad we made you so happy during your stay. We strive to make every stay perfect, and our staff is really top notch in providing world class customer service. They are truly a dedicated team. I hope to see you all again sometime, and remember to contact us directly for the best deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I want to Thank the warm and friendly Staff for making our stay wonderful and comfortable. Our first time to Santa Marta and most enjoyable were the accommodation for this wonderful place. You will be very comfortable here. Even the limited menu served in our room was excellent when we didn't venture out after a long day at the beaches. We enjoyed the roof top dining in the mornings and and stream room, a very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Special thanks to Juan, Ether and Francisco "pacho" our waiter. The value of this place offers was well worth the extra cost. Plan ahead if you wish to visit. We stayed in the upper floor room called "Sapan" beautiful wood detail and very nice linen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterlachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are elated that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time here. I am especially happy that you were so impressed with our staff - I will be sure to let them know. I always say the hotel can be as fancy as you want, but it means nothing without an amazing staff. We are so lucky to have such a dedicated team. Thanks again, and remember to book directly with us (phone, email, or on the website) for great discounts and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 72 in Santa Marta
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 72 in Santa Marta
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#4 of 72 in Santa Marta
254 reviews
7 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#10 of 72 in Santa Marta
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel

Address: Calle 18 No. 4-38 | El Centro Historico, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Leda Hotel & Spa)
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $85 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leda is the newest addition to Kali Hotels. Its luxurious and relaxing spa complements each room's unique and grand style. First owned by a wealthy family of Santa Marta's golden age, the original house where Casa de Leda sits dates back to the late 19th century. While most of that house no longer stands, we salvaged its original fluted columns, facade, and floor tiling. In this remodeling, as with Casa de Isabella, we consistently chose classical style, maintaining the building's original integrity whenever possible. With Casa de Leda, we proudly present a full service boutique hotel and spa. Spacious rooms under vaulted ceilings give way to open bathrooms with plenty of natural light. The open terrace, flanked by cascades of green vines and equipped with a cooling mist system, overlooks the Santa Marta Cathedral. Each room includes an aromatherapy kit, and some have in-room hot tubs. Flat screen TVs in every room have media players with music stations and video libraries. We also provide free WiFi, international calling, and breakfast cooked-to-order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing